Bonnie Ramey Mullikin Slide Collection
LU-175

Information about the Collection

Bonnie Ramey Mullikin attended Longwood College from 1960-1965. During this time she earned undergraduate degrees in both Biology and Mathematics as well as her Masters of Education degree in General Science. She was involved in numerous organizations and activities on campus and was a member of CHI, the Student Education Association, and the Lychnos Society. Additionally, she served as the president of Kappa Delta Pi, vice president of Alpha Kappa Gamma, and was on both the Honor Council and the Legislative Board. Finally, she was the Senior Representative of the Class of 1965 and was the stage manager for the Longwood Players.

Provenance

It is unknown when, or under what circumstances, this collection of photographic slides came into the possession of the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content

The photographic slides in this collection date from 1960-1966. The majority of the images are of Longwood College students and organizations as well as buildings on campus. Additionally there are images of churches and businesses in the Farmville area.

Size

This collection of 110 photographic slides are contained in polypropylene sleeves and are housed in Binder #8.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for archival purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Photographs

Located in Binder 8:

175.001 – Farmville United Methodist Church, July 1960*

175.002 – Johns Memorial Episcopal Church, Farmville, VA, July 1960*

175.003-175.004 – Colonnades and Ruffner Hall, exterior, July 1960*

175.005 – Lancaster Hall, exterior, July 1960*

175.006 – Ruffner Hall, exterior, January 1962*

175.007 – Rotunda, interior, with Christmas Tree, January 1962*

175.008-175.009 – dorm room, January 1962*

175.010 – Rotunda, 2nd floor balcony, January 1962*

175.011 – Rotunda, dome with paintings, January 1962*

175.012 – Joan of Arc (Joanie on the Stoney), Ruffner Hall Rotunda, January 1962*

175.013 – Snowy sidewalk, January 1962*

175.014 – South Ruffner and Tabb Hall, exterior, January 1962*

175.015 – Wheeler Hall, exterior, January 1962*

175.016 – Lancaster Hall, exterior, January 1962*

175.017 – Ruffner Hall, exterior and front lawn, January 1962*

175.018 – Johns Memorial Episcopal Church, Farmville, VA, January 1962*

175.019 – Glenn’s Tastee Freez, Farmville, VA, August 1962*

175.020 – Ruffner Hall Rotunda, interior, October 1962*

175.021 – Chi Walk, October 1962*

175.022 – Field Hockey, November 1962*

175.023-175.029 – Circus Parade, November 1962*

175.030-175.034 – Circus Skit, November 1962*

175.035 – French Hall gym, November 1962*

175.036-175.037 – Circus Parade floats, November 1962*

175.038 – Unidentified student, Class of 1965, November 1962*

175.039 – Unidentified student sweeping dorm room floor, November 1962*

175.040 – Unidentified student shining shoes, November 1962*

175.041-175.043 – Rat Day activities, November 1962*

175.044-175.048 – Unidentified play, November 1962*

175.049 – Unknown ceremony, November 1962*

175.050 – Unknown ceremony, students with candles gathered at Rotunda balcony, November 1962*

175.051-175.052 – Students gathered around Christmas Tree in Ruffner Hall Rotunda, February 1963 (likely taken Christmas 1962)*

175.053-175.054 – Dorm room doors decorated for Christmas, February 1963 (likely taken Christmas 1962)*

175.055 – Students seated around dinner table, February 1963*

175.056-175.057 – Chi Walk, February 1963*

175.058-175.059 – Wedding shower, February 1963*

175.060-175.061 – Unknown gathering/skit, October 1963*

175.062-175.064 – Hampden-Sydney College campus, November 1963*

175.065 – Student decorated Chi banner, September 1964*

175.066 – (5) Chi members, at cabin, September 1964*

175.067 – (4) unidentified students (likely Chi) at cabin, September 1964*

175.068 – Field hockey game, October 1964*

175.069-175.070 – Three-legged race (dressed as clowns) on sidelines of field hockey game, October 1964*

175.071-175.077 – Circus skits, October 1964*

175.078 – Chi walk, October 1964*

175.079 – Dorm room door decorated for Christmas, January 1965 (likely taken Christmas 1964)*

175.080-175.083 – May Day, May 1965*

175.084 – Farmville Train Station, June 1965*

175.085 – Longwood College campus (multiple buildings), June 1965*

175.086-175.087 – Commencement, June 1965*

175.088-175.089 – Commencement Procession, June 1965*

175.090 – Ruffner Hall, exterior, at night, June 1965*

175.091 – Class of 1965, June 1965*

175.092-175.093 – Class of 1965 gathered around Rotunda balcony, June 1965*

175.094-175.095 – People gathered around Joan of Arc statue in Rotunda, June 1965*

175.096 – Lancaster Hall, exterior, at night, June 1965*

175.097 – Glenn’s Tastee Freez, June 1965*

175.098-175.099 – Procession gathered outside Lancaster Hall, June 1965*

175.100 – Unknown group on stage, June 1965*

175.101-175.102 – students at graduation, June 1965*

175.103 – Home, corner of High St. and Watkins St., Farmville, VA, June 1965*

175.104 – Longwood House, Farmville, VA, June 1965*

175.105 – James Madison Motor Court, June 1965*

175.106-175.109 – May Day, July 1966*

175.110 – Jarman Auditorium, unknown date*

 

*Denotes photograph has been digitized.

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives