Special Collections and Archives Buttons

 

Delta Psi Kappa
LU-083

Information about the Collection
Delta Psi Kappa, a women’s physical education honorary society, was founded in 1916 at the Normal College of the American Gymnastic Union.  Its original purpose was to further the aims and ideals of the profession of physical education.  Included in the ranks of the organization is Gertrude Ederle, the first woman to swim the English Channel.

Turnverein, Longwood’s local honorary physical education society, became a chapter of Delta Psi Kappa in March of 1968.  

Provenance
‚ÄčThis collection was transferred from the Athletics Department to the Greenwood Library Archives in the summer of 2008.

Scope and Content
The Delta Psi Kappa Collection includes a variety of print materials, scrapbook materials related to sporting events, seven photograph albums with photographs and slides of sporting events, physical education classes, and social gatherings. 

Size
This collection consists of 3.15 linear feet contained in 1 legal-sized Hollinger box, 1 bankers box, and 1 flat box.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Items not included in boxes; shelved with oversize items:

A bronze-toned plaque embossed with “In Appreciation of Delta Psi Kappa, Beta Lambda Chapter, Class of 1977” shelved with oversize photos.

Soccer flag on flag pole, attached to a stand with no plaque or engraving, shelved in drawer with soccer trophies.

Digitized content from this collection is available on the Longwood University Digital Commons.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 3:

Olive Iler memorabilia.

Membership Records

Chi Commendation, 1991

Financial Transactions (2 folders)

Chapter Manual and Constitution

Volleyball Tournament

   Box 2 of 3:

Plaque for Longwood’s Recognition into the NCATE

Plaque for Longwood, recognizing the service given from the American Heart Association for “Jump Rope for the Heart” (x2)

Shield containing pins collected by Dr. Elizabeth Burger Jackson

Framed newspaper clipping with story on shield

Flag from soccer team

Banner for the Longwood Physical Education Department

   Box 3 of 3:

Gold cords for graduation robes (2)

Sashes with lettering for Delta Psi Kappa (2)

Video tape labeled “Rites of Passage”

Audio cassettes “Delta Psi Kappa” (2)

2002 Sand Volleyball Champions trophy (2)

Pledge ribbons (3)

Golden candle sticks (2)

Candles

Bible of Beta Lambda Chapter of Delta Psi Kappa

   Photograph Binder 5:

   083.001-083.144 – Olive Iler’s Photograph Collection

083.001 – Olive Iler standing on campus lawn. High Street in background. 1933* View Photograph

083.002-083.006 – Unidentified home.

083.007-083.013 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.014 – Two women standing in garden.

083.015-083.018 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.019 – Unidentified man and two women standing in yard.

083.020 – Three unidentified women standing in yard. Possibly Olive Iler, far right.

083.021 – Unidentified couple with baby.

083.022 – Unidentified man and two women standing in yard. Possibly Olive Iler, far left.

083.023 – Unidentified couple with baby. On back of photo is written “Deedie, Bill, & Gumdrop (Edith), July 1965.

083.024 – Unidentified home.

083.025 – Unidentified child.

083.026 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.027 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.028 – Longwood Field Hockey Team. October 1965.

083.029 – Unidentified room/office with desk.

083.030 – View from unidentified window.

083.031 – Unidentified room.

083.032 – Unidentified home in snow.

083.033 – Olive Iler standing in yard next to birdbath. June 1966.

083.034-083.036 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.037 – Olive Iler standing in garden. June 1966.

083.038 – Unidentified home in snow.

083.039-083.041 – Olive Iler and unidentified woman.

083.042 – Two unidentified women in garden. Possibly Olive Iler, far left.

083.043 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.044 – Unidentified home/yard.

083.045 – Unidentified garden.

083.046 – Two unidentified women in garden. Possibly Olive Iler, far left.

083.047-083.053 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.054-083.055 – Potted amaryllis (flower).

083.056-083.060 – Unidentified landscape.

083.061-083.070 – Flower arrangement.

083.071-083.096 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.097-083.098 – Unidentified beach/waterfront.

083.099-083.105 – Unidentified small child.

083.106 – Unidentified yard/garden.

083.107-083.109 – Flower arrangement.

083.110 – Unidentified home.

083.111-083.112 – Unidentified home/garden.

083.113 – Olive Iler standing on porch.

083.114-083.116 – Olive Iler and unidentified woman.

083.117-083.118 – Unidentified woman.

083.119 – Women at unknown gathering.

083.120 – Unidentified woman, portrait photo.

083.121 – Unidentified woman.

083.122 – Portrait photo of small child. Marie Fairfax Toll, 6 years.

083.123 – Portrait photo of small child. Tommie.

083.124 – Portrait photo of small child. Robbie Switt.

083.125 – Three unidentified women.

083.126 – Olive Iler (center) and two unidentified women.

083.127 – Group of unidentified women.

083.128 – Olive Iler.

083.129 – Unidentified group of women looking at scrapbook.

083.130 – Unidentified woman sitting in rocking chair.

083.131 – Olive Iler.

083.132 – Unidentified woman sitting on couch.

083.133 – Olive Iler and unidentified woman.

083.134-083.141 – Unidentified home in snow.

083.142 – Christmas card from Mac, Barbara, and Audra Edwards.

083.143 – Christmas card from Mary Ann, Parks, Kim, Kelly, and Kirstin Deaton.

083.144 – Photo postcard from John, Sue, Michael, Chip, and Susan.

   083.145-083.166 – H2O Club Scrapbook 1978-1979

083.145 – swimmers in pool.

083.146 – swimmers in pool.

083.147 – swimmers standing at pool’s edge.

083.148 – swimmers in pool.

083.149 – swimmer doing handstand next to pool.

083.150 – swimmers in pool.

083.151 – swimmers in pool.

083.152 – swimmers in pool.

083.153 – woman holding prop gun next to pool.

083.154 – swimmers diving into pool during performance.

083.155 – swimmers in pool.

083.156 – swimmers in pool.

083.157 – Spring Show 1978.

083.158 – Spring Show 1978.

083.159 – Spring Show 1978.

083.160 – Country Western Show.

083.161 – Unidentified woman.

083.162 – Two unidentified women.

083.163 – Two unidentified women.

083.164 – Three unidentified women.

083.165 – Unidentified woman.

083.166 – Five unidentified women.

   083.167-083.207 – Catalinas Scrapbook 1979-1980

083.167 – Initiation.

083.168 – Initiation.

083.169 – Dr. Nancy Andrews, Catalinas coach/sponsor.

083.170 – Catalinas officers seated behind table.

083.171 – 5 unidentified Catalinas looking at photo album.

083.172 – swimmer in pool.

083.173 – team meeting.

083.174 – 12 unidentified Catalinas team members.

083.175 – swimmers in pool.

083.176 – swimmers in pool.

083.177 – swimmers in pool.

083.178 – 7 unidentified Catalinas in bleachers.

083.179 – 3 unidentified Catalinas in cars.

083.180 – 3 unidentified Catalinas in cars.

083.181 – swimmers in pool with spectators watching from bleachers.

083.182 – unidentified Catalinas members.

083.183 – swimmers in pool with spectators watching from bleachers.

083.184 – swimmers at edge of pool.

083.185 – Catalinas members in bleachers next to pool.

083.186 – unidentified Catalinas members.

083.187 – swimmers in pool.

083.188 – Dr. Nancy Andrews, Catalinas coach/sponsor.

083.189-083.207 – Longwood Catalinas performance. Swimmers in pool and spectators watching from bleachers.

   083.208-083.281 – Catalinas Scrapbook 1980-1981

083.208 – Dr. Nancy Andrews, Catalinas coach/sponsor.

083.209 – Longwood Catalinas, team photo.

083.210 – Cake, “Welcome New Catalinas.”

083.211 – team meeting and initiation.

083.212 – team meeting and initiation.

083.213 – Catalinas members at initiation.

083.214 – team meeting and initiation.

083.215 – swimmers in pool.

083.216 – swimmers in pool.

083.217 – swimmers at edge of pool.

083.218 – swimmers in pool.

083.219 – team meeting and initiation.

083.220 – swimmers in pool.

083.221 – swimmers in pool.

083.222 – swimmers at edge of pool.

083.223 – swimmers in pool.

083.224 – unidentified Catalinas member.

083.225 – unidentified Catalinas member in bleachers next to pool.

083.226 – Longwood Catalinas in bleachers next to pool.

083.227 – Longwood Catalinas in car.

083.228 – 2 unidentified Catalinas drinking beer.

083.229 – Longwood Catalinas in bleachers next to pool.

083.230 – Longwood Catalinas making sandwiches next to pool.

083.231 – Longwood Catalinas making sandwiches next to pool.

083.232 – Longwood Catalinas at party.

083.233 – Longwood Catalinas at party.

083.234 – Longwood Catalinas preparing for performance.

083.235 – team photo with Dr. Nancy Andrews.

083.236 – unidentified Catalinas members lying down on bleachers next to pool.

083.237 – Cake, “Good Luck Catalinas.”

083.238 – Longwood Catalinas and coach/sponsor Dr. Nancy Andrews in bleachers next to pool.

083.239 – Longwood Catalinas in bleachers next to pool.

083.240 – Longwood Catalinas at party.

083.241 – Longwood Catalinas at party.

083.242 – swimmers in pool.

083.243 – 3 unidentified Catalinas in car.

083.244 – unidentified Catalinas member in car.

083.245 – 3 unidentified Catalinas at Colonial Williamsburg.

083.246 – 4 unidentified Catalinas at Colonial Williamsburg posing on bench.

083.247 – 4 unidentified Catalinas at Colonial Williamsburg posing in front of cannon.

083.248 – 5 unidentified Catalinas at Colonial Williamsburg.

083.249 – 5 unidentified Catalinas in pool.

083.250 – Cake, “Welcome New Catalinas.”

083.251 – Catalinas, team meeting.

083.252 – Catalinas, team meeting. Dr. Nancy Andrews in foreground.

083.253 – Catalinas, team meeting.

083.254 – Catalinas in swim gear at pool.

083.255 – Catalinas, poolside, meeting.

083.256 – Catalinas, team meeting.

083.257 – unidentified Catalinas member preparing for performance.

083.258 – Longwood Catalinas preparing for performance.

083.259 – Longwood Catalinas preparing for performance.

083.260 – unidentified Catalinas members and Dr. Nancy Andrews.

083.261-083.263 – Longwood Catalinas preparing for performance.

083.264 – Catalinas coach/sponsor Dr. Nancy Andrews.

083.265 – unidentified Catalinas member drinking Tab.

083.266 – Catalinas coach/sponsor Dr. Nancy Andrews.

083.267 – Unidentified Catalinas member preparing for performance.

083.268 – Four Longwood Catalinas in pool.

083.269 – Longwood Catalinas, poolside.

083.270 – Longwood Catalinas, poolside.

083.271 – Longwood Catalinas, setting up beer keg.

083.272 – Longwood pool, decorated for Catalinas performance.

083.273 – Longwood Catalinas, at party.

083.274 – Longwood Catalinas, at party.

083.275 – Longwood Catalinas, dancing at party.

083.276 – Cake, “Merry Christmas Catalinas.”

083.277 – Longwood Catalinas, at party.

083.278 – Longwood Catalinas, dancing at party.

083.279 – Longwood Catalinas, at party.

083.280 – Longwood Catalinas in costume in locker room.

083.281 – Longwood Catalinas, at party.

   083.282-083.388

083.282 – Athletic Association, 1937* View Photograph

083.283 – Athletic Association, 1937* View Photograph

083.284 – 2 unidentified women behind sundial.* View Photograph

083.285(a) – Athletic Association, 1937* View Photograph

083.285(b) – Athletic Association, 1937* View Photograph

083.286 – Athletic Association Council, 1938-1939* View Photograph

083.287 – Athletic Association/Delta Psi Kappa, Class of 1937*

083.288 – Athletic Association/Delta Psi Kappa, posing on front porch of cabin.* View Photograph

083.289 – Athletic Association (Olive Iler in center) posing in front of campus gates. Doyne-Burger Funeral Home in background.* View Photograph

083.290 – Athletic Association/Delta Psi Kappa Officers, 1949* View Photograph

083.291 – Athletic Association posing on stairs.* View Photograph

083.292 – Olive Iler and Athletic Association Officers.

083.293 – Olive Iler and Athletic Association Officers.

083.294 – Athletic Association Officers.

083.295 – Unknown group of women (likely Delta Psi Kappa or Athletic Association).

083.296 – Unknown group of women (likely Delta Psi Kappa or Athletic Association).

083.297 – Physical Education Majors, 1952* View Photograph

083.298 – Unknown group of women (likely Delta Psi Kappa or Athletic Association).

083.299-083.301 – Physical Education Majors, 1966.

083.302 – Varsity Basketball Team, 1954-1955* View Photograph

083.303 – Olive Iler and basketball team.* View Photograph

083.304 – Women playing basketball (unknown year).* View Photograph

083.305 – Basketball team (unknown year).* View Photograph

083.306 – Basketball team, 1948

083.307-083.312 – Longwood Company of Dancers on stage, 1982.

083.313 – Longwood Company of Dancers rehearsing on basketball court.

083.314 – Longwood Company of Dancers. Dancer on stage.

083.315 – Longwood Company of Dancers rehearsing.

083.316 – Longwood Equestrian Team performing jump.

083.317 – Longwood Equestrian Team on horseback.

083.318 – Four unidentified women in blazers, 1957

083.319 – Hockey Camp, 1953* View Photograph

083.320 – Field Hockey Team (unknown year).

083.321 – Field Hockey Team (unknown year).

083.322 – Longwood Gymnastics, Kelly Strayer.

083.323-083.326 – Longwood Gymnastics.

083.327-083.329 – Swimmers in pool. Likely Catalinas.

083.330 – Longwood Tennis Team (unknown year).

083.331 – Simmers in pool. Likely Catalinas.

083.332 – Longwood Catalinas members posing with Catalinas banner.

083.333 – Longwood Catalinas preparing for performance.

083.334 – Longwood College Catalinas banner.

083.335 – Longwood Catalinas members in locker room.

083.336 – Longwood Catalinas member posing with Catalinas banner.

083.337 – Longwood Catalinas member in locker room.

083.338 – Swimmer in pool. Likely Catalinas.

083.339 – Swimmers poolside. Likely Catalinas.

083.340 – Longwood Catalinas member applying makeup in hotel room.

083.341 – Desk in hotel room.

083.342 – Longwood Catalinas in locker room.

083.343 – Desk in hotel room.

083.344 – Longwood Catalinas members preparing for performance.

083.345 – Longwood Catalinas members preparing for performance.

083.346 – Hotel room.

083.347 – Longwood Catalinas in bleachers poolside.

083.348 – Longwood Catalinas member preparing for performance.

083.349 – Swimmer in pool. Likely Catalinas.

083.350 – Unidentified person on exercise bicycle.

083.351 – Students in classroom.

083.352 – Unidentified group on basketball court.

083.353 – Perry Blalock and Tim Lowery seated outside office.

083.354 – Students in weight room.

083.355 – Swimming pool at University of Jyvaaskyla, Finland.

083.356 – Students playing volleyball.

083.357 – Ruth Budd and Nancy Andrews pose in front of statue in Finland.

083.358 – 2 unidentified people in weight room.

083.359 – 2 unidentified people in physical therapy room.

083.360 – unidentified office.

083.361 – Students in weight room.

083.362 – 3 unidentified people in physical therapy room.

083.363 – Students in classroom.

083.364 – Willett Hall, exterior.* View Photograph

083.365 – Lankford Hall, tennis court in foreground.* View Photograph

083.366-083.369 – Willett Hall, Pine Street in foreground.

083.370 – Gym in Willett Hall.

083.371 – Lancer Hall, exterior.

083.372 – unidentified person running on treadmill.

083.373 – trophy case in Lancer Hall.

083.374 – Lancer Hall, exterior.

083.375 – Lancer Hall, exterior. Pine Street in foreground.

083.376 – Lancer Hall, exterior. Pine Street in foreground.

083.377 – Nancy Andrews (left), Mary Heintz (center), and Barbara Smith (right), seated around table.

083.378 – Lancer Hall, welcome mat at entrance.

083.379 – Student lounge in Lancer Hall.

083.380 – unidentified office.

083.381 – Trophy case in Lancer Hall.

083.382 – Lancer Hall, exterior. Pine Street in foreground.

083.383 – Student lounge in Lancer Hall.

083.384 – Students using physical therapy equipment.

083.385 – Students using physical therapy equipment.

083.386 – Hydrotherapy tank.

083.387 – Students in Finland playing basketball.

083.388 – Baseball clinic.

 

*Denotes photograph has been digitized.

   Photograph Binder 6:

   083.389-083.514

083.389 – 2 unidentified people lifting weights.

083.390-083.393 – Students in classroom.

083.394 – Students on Fit Trail.

083.395 – Students stretching in gym.

083.396 – Students in classroom.

083.397-083.399 – Students stretching in gym.

083.400-083.401 – Students exercising in pool.

083.402-083.405 – Students on Fit Trail.

083.406-083.407 – Students and unidentified professor seated around table.

083.408-083.409 – Students playing golf.

083.410 – Dr. Nancy Andrews and students playing golf.

083.411 – Unidentified women doing aerobics.

083.412-083.413 – Dr. Nancy Andrews and student playing golf.

083.414 – Student playing tennis.

083.415 – Students playing tennis.

083.416 – Bette Harris and student playing tennis.

083.417 – Unidentified student playing tennis.

083.418 – Bette Harris and students playing tennis.

083.419-083.420 – Children playing tennis.

083.421 – Dr. Nancy Andrews and students playing tennis.

083.422 – Students diving into swimming pool.

083.423 – Students hiking.

083.424 – Students on boat, preparing to dive.

083.425 – “Diver Below” flag and buoy.

083.426-083.427 – 2 unidentified people in pool.

083.428 – Unidentified woman showing child how to play floor/field hockey.

083.429 – Unidentified woman diving.

083.430 – Unidentified woman and blindfolded child.

083.431 – Children playing.

083.432 – Child playing.

083.433 – Unidentified woman and children playing.

083.434-083.436 – Children playing.

083.437-083.438 – Unidentified man and children playing.

083.439-083.440 – Unidentified woman and children playing.

083.441 – Unidentified woman and child playing basketball.

083.442-083.444 – Unidentified man, woman, and children playing basketball.

083.445 – Students in weight room.

083.446 – Unidentified person in pool.

083.447-083.448 – Marching band on field.

083.449 – Unidentified hillside/mountain.

083.450-083.452 – Unidentified student rappelling.

083.453 – Students hiking.

083.454 – Unidentified people doing calisthenics.

083.455 – Students preparing ropes for rappelling/climbing.

083.456 – People doing aerobics.

083.457-083.458 – Person doing aerobics.

083.459 – Unidentified people reading programs.

083.460-083.465 – People doing aerobics.

083.466 – Students preparing ropes for rappelling/climbing.

083.467 – Unidentified student in hallway.

083.468 – Student using mimeograph machine.

083.469 – Students preparing camping gear.

083.470 – Students in classroom.

083.471 – Anne Huffman, office door.

083.472-083.473 – Students in parking lot.

083.474-083.475 – People playing tennis (across from Lankford Hall).

083.476 – Students playing basketball.

083.477 – Unidentified woman on basketball court.

083.478 – Unidentified man and woman (in hydrotherapy tank).

083.479 – Unidentified person scuba diving.

083.480-084.481 – Photo of fish taken underwater (scuba diving).

083.482-083.485 – Unidentified person scuba diving.

083.486 – People playing basketball.

083.487 – Woman passing basketball to child.

083.488 – Man passing basketball to child.

083.489 – Children playing basketball.

083.490 – Man showing children how to pass a basketball.

083.491-083.492 – Woman showing child how to pass a basketball.

083.493-083.496 – People kicking soccer balls.

083.497 – Man showing children how to pass a basketball.

083.498 – Man and woman on exercise bicycles.

083.499 – People kicking soccer balls.

083.500 – People doing stretches.

083.501 – Man showing children how to pass a basketball.

083.502 – Children playing basketball.

083.503 – People in weight room.

083.504 – People doing stretches.

083.505 – Woman showing child how to pass a basketball.

083.506 – Man showing children how to pass a basketball.

083.507 – People playing basketball with children.

083.508 – People in physical therapy room.

083.509 – People hiking across stream.

083.510 – Women showing children how to play floor/field hockey.

083.511 – People in pool, scuba diving class.

083.512 – People in pool, scuba diving class.

083.513 – People in pool, snorkeling.

083.514 – Unidentified person scuba diving.

   083.515-083.1231

083.515 – Child diving into pool.

083.516 – Children in swimming pool.

083.517-083.518 – Child playing tennis.

083.519 – Man diving into pool.

083.520 – Man with children at edge of pool.

083.521 – Unidentified person rappelling.

083.522 – Children playing tennis.

083.523-083.529 – Two women playing golf.

083.530 – Child in swimming pool.

083.531-083.535 – Wrestling match.

083.536-083.553 – Longwood Field Hockey Game.

083.554-083.561 – Longwood Soccer.

083.562-083.569 – Golf.

083.570-083.594 – Tennis.

083.595-083.600 – Baseball.

083.601-083.602 – Baseball clinic.

083.603-083.640 – Gymnastics.

083.641-083.642 – Model planes?

083.643 – Unidentified hillside/mountain.

083.644 – Ducks in pond/lake.

083.645 – Longwood Equestrian team member performing jump.

083.646 – Unidentified softball team member.

083.647 – Tournament scoreboard.

083.648 – Willet Hall, exterior.

083.649 – Unidentified trophy.

083.650-083.684 – Health & Physical Education Department picnic.

083.685-083.712 – H2O Club/Catalinas Water Show, 1965

083.713-083.716 – H2O Club/Catalinas Water Show, 1973

083.717-083.725 – H2O Club/Catalinas Water Show, 1974

083.726-083.745 – H2O Club/Catalinas Water Show, 1976

083.746-083.752 – H2O Club/Catalinas Water Show, 1978

083.753-083.754 – H2O Club/Catalinas Water Show, 1980

083.755-083.766 – H2O Club/Catalinas Water Show, 1984

083.767-083.773 – Baseball.

083.774-083.775 – Softball.

083.776-083.778 – Basketball, women’s, 1974

083.779-083.783 – Basketball, women’s, 1984

083.784-083.788 – Basketball, women’s, 1987

083.789-083.798 – Basketball, women’s, 1988

083.799-083.810 – Basketball, men’s, 1978

083.811-083.821 – Basketball, men’s, 1980

083.822-083.823 – Basketball, men’s, undated

083.824-083.827 – Chi, 1967

083.828 – Not discernible. Possibly taken at night?

083.829-083.831 – Unidentified women at party.

083.832-083.844 – Field Hockey, 1974

083.845-083.860 – Field Hockey, 1978

083.861-083.868 – Field Hockey, 1987

083.869 – Field Hockey, undated.

083.870-083.887 – Golf, 1978

083.888 – Golf, undated.

083.889-083.900 – H2O Club/Catalinas, water show, 1973.

083.901-083.911 – Gymnastics, 1974

083.912-083.930 – Gymnastics, 1978

083.931 – Gymnastics, 1977

083.932-083.937 – Gymnastics, 1988

083.937 – Gymnastics, 1990

083.938-083.948 – Gymnastics, undated.

083.949-083.1004 – Lacrosse, undated.

083.1005 – Soccer, 1977

083.1006-083.1020 – Soccer, 1978

083.1021-083.1028 – Soccer, 1987

083.1029-083.1034 – Soccer, undated

083.1035-083.1049 – Tennis, 1978

083.1050 – Tennis, 1984

083.1051-083.1054 – Volleyball, 1974

083.1055-083.1061 – Volleyball, 1978

083.1062-083.1064 – Volleyball, 1984

083.1065-083.1068 – Volleyball, undated.

083.1069-083.1089 – Wrestling, 1978

083.1090 – Wrestling, undated.

083.1091 – Longwood Company of Dancers, 1967

083.1092-083.1104 – Longwood Company of Dancers, 1973

083.1105-083.1120 – Longwood Company of Dancers, 1974

083.1121-083.1123 – Longwood Company of Dancers, 1977

083.1124-083.1130 – Longwood Company of Dancers, 1980

083.1131-083.1154 – Longwood Company of Dancers, 1984

083.1155-083.1157 – Longwood Company of Dancers, 1992

083.1158-083.1163 – Longwood Company of Dancers, undated

083.1164-083.1231 – Anatomy Diagrams

   Photograph Binder 7:

   083.1232-083.1486

083.1232-083.1246 – Children at play.

083.1247-083.1298 – Educating for the Future. Presentation by Nancy Vick and Kathy Charleston.

083.1299-083.1371 – Physical Education Department, slide show. 1984.

083.1372-083.1405 – HPER, slide show. 1984 and 1991.

083.1406-083.1429 – Physical Education, History of Dress, slide show, 1988.

083.1430 – Longwood House with rainbow in background, 1965.

083.1431-083.1432 – Weight room, 1968-1969.

083.1433 – Rotunda/Ruffner Hall, 1972.

083.1434 – Lankford Hall; tennis courts in foreground, 1974.

083.1435 – Jarman Hall; Longwood College campus sign in foreground, 1974.

083.1436-083.1437 – Archery, 1975.

083.1438 – The Colonnades, 1975.

083.1439-083.1440 – Golf, putting, 1976.

083.1441-083.1442 – Equestrian team, 1976.

083.1443 – Fencing, 1976.

083.1444 – Joan of Arc, The Colonnades, 1976.

083.1445 – Frazier and Curry Halls, 1976.

083.1446-083.1447 – Volleyball, 1976.

083.1448-083.1449 – Volleyball, Frazier and Curry Halls in background, 1976.

083.1450-083.1451 – Soccer, 1976.

083.1452-083.1454 – People running/jogging on track, 1978.

083.1455 – Softball, 1978.

083.1456 – Fencing, 1978.

083.1457-083.1458 – Equestrian team, 1978.

083.1459 – Willett Hall construction. Frazier & Curry Halls in background, 1978.

083.1460-083.1461 – Field Hockey, 1978.

083.1462-083.1463 – Spectators, 1978.

083.1464 – Lankford Hall, 1980.

083.1465 – Back side of Ruffner and Grainger Halls, 1980.

083.1466 – Archery, 1980.

083.1467 – Ruffner Hall, 1980.

083.1468 – Gym, 1980.

083.1469 – Dance studio, barre, 1980.

083.1470-083.1471 – Children seated around fire outside cabin, 1980.

083.1472 – Leapfrog, 1980

083.1473 – Unknown person addressing group seated on floor of basketball court, 1980.

083.1474 – Pine Street. Willett Hall, Curry and Frazier Halls in background, 1980.

083.1475 – Aerobics class, 1980.

083.1476-083.1477 – Weight room, 1980.

083.1478-083-1479 – Entrance, Willet Hall. Interior, 1980.

083.1480 – 2 people on exercise bicycles, 1980.

083.1481 – Hallway. Likely Willett Hall, 1980.

083.1482 – Classroom, 1980.

083.1483 – Willett Hall, exterior. Pine Street in foreground, 1980.

083.1484 – Willett Hall, exterior. Frazier Hall in background, 1980.

083.1485 – Willett Hall, exterior. Pine Street in foreground, 1980.

083.1486 – Hallway. Likely Willett Hall, 1980.

   083.1487-083.1593

083.1487 – Unidentified man on treadmill, 1980.

083.1488-083.1491 – Archery, 1984.

083.1492-083.1497 – Bowling lanes in Lankford Hall, 1984.

083.1498-083.1504 – Classroom, 1984.

083.1505-083.1506 – Woman using computer, 1984.

083.1507-083.1510 – First Aid, 1984.

083.1511-083.1514 – Students using video camera, 1984.

083.1515 – 2 people using scale in swimming pool, 1984.

083.1516 – 2 men in hallway.

083.1517 – 3 people in hallway.

083.1518 – 2 people in hallway.

083.1519 – 2 people seated at table reading.

083.1520 – Child dribbling basketball.

083.1521-083.1522 – Group of people line-dancing, 1984.

083.1523 – Person doing pushups.

083.1524 – Tennis courts, aerial view, 1984.

083.1525-083.1526 – Tennis, 1984.

083.1527 – Woman posing with skeleton.

083.1528 – Woman using body fat caliper.

083.1529 – Woman lifting weights.

083.1530-083.1531 – Man on treadmill.

083.1532 – Man in weight room.

083.1533 – People in weight room.

083.1534 – Man doing sit-ups.

083.1535 – Weight room.

083.1536-083.1537 – Bagpiper and Scottish dancer, 1984.

083.1538-083.1539 – Scottish dancer, 1984.

083.1540 – Pine Street. Willett Hall in background.

083.1541 – Willett Hall, exterior.

083.1542-083.1543 – Swimming pool.

083.1544 – Swimmers in pool.

083.1545-083.1546 – Man on treadmill.

083.1547 – Students in hallway.

083.1548-083.1549 – Classroom.

083.1550-083.1551 – Physical therapy room.

083.1552 – Weight room.

083.1553 – Dance studio.

083.1554 – Willett Hall, lounge area.

083.1555-083.1556 – Tennis courts, aerial view, 1984.

083.1557 – Longwood campus, aerial view, 1984.

083.1558-083.1559 – Golf course?

083.1560 – Stethoscope and textbooks.

083.1561 – Longwood Campus, aerial view, 1984.

083.1562 – Lancer Hall, welcome mat.

083.1563 – Unknown woman seated behind office desk.

083.1564 – Unknown woman. Slide labeled: Big Mary.

083.1565-083.1566 – Parachute classroom activity.

083.1567 – Gymnastics, child on uneven bars.

083.1568 – Children on tennis courts.

083.1569-083.1570 – People doing Tai Chi.

083.1571 – Willett Hall, exterior. Frazier Hall in background, 1990.

083.1572 – Ruffner Hall/Rotunda, 1990.

083.1573-083.1575 – Picnic.

083.1576-183.1577 – Students in Greenwood Library, 1992.

083.1578 – Students in computer lab.

083.1579 – 2 women in classroom.

083.1580 – Woman standing in front of classroom.

083.1581 – Group of people standing around table with soft drinks.

083.1582 – Unidentified large home.

083.1583 – Group of people at outdoor presentation.

083.1584 – Group of people waiting to get on Longwood College bus.

083.1585-083.1589 – Classroom.

083.1590 – Students in computer lab.

083.1591 – People lined up on basketball court.

083.1592 – Woman standing at chalkboard.

083.1593 – Child crawling through large culvert.

   083.1594-083.1777

083.1594 – Campsite.

083.1595 – Cabin.

083.1596-083.1611 – Canoeing.

083.1612-083.1616 – Billiards in Lankford Hall Student Union.

083.1617-083.1618 – Ping Pong/Table Tennis in Lankford Hall Student Union.

083.1619-083.1623 – Camping.

083.1624 – Hillside/lake.

083.1625 – Child walking balance beam.

083.1626 – Parachute classroom activity.

083.1627-083.1628 – Fencing.

083.1629 – Tumbling.

083.1630 – Woman and child.

083.1631 – Women with children in cabin kitchen.

083.1632 – People in weight room.

083.1633 – Aerial view of campus. Circa late 1970s, early 1980s.

083.1634-083.1644 – Canoeing Trip.

083.1645-083.1652 – Chi, 1967.

083.1653-083.1658 – Chi, 1968.

083.1659-083.1673 – University of Tennessee, staff Christmas party, 1965.

083.1674-083.1682 – Olive Iler’s birthday party, 1966.

083.1683-083.1684 – Two dogs. Sitka (Siberian Husky) and Kilts (Scottish Terrier).

083.1685-083.1686 – Home at Fontaine Rd., Knoxville, Tennessee.

083.1687-083.1691 – Unknown gathering of women, 1966.

083.1692-083.1693 – Unknown woman and two dogs.

083.1694 – Unknown woman and dog.

083.1695-083.1702 – Unknown women.

083.1703-083.1704 – 2 unknown women dressing.

083.1705-083.1707 – Unknown large home/farm.

083.1708-083.1722 – Unknown women.

083.1723-083.1728 – Dance performance/recital, 1966.

083.1729 – Unknown family standing in front of home.

083.1730-083.1731 – 2 unknown women posing with scarecrow.

083.1732-083.1734 – Unknown couple.

083.1735-083.1738 – May Queen Court, 1973.

083.1739-083.1740 – May Day, May Pole, 1973.

083.1741 – Woman gardening, roses.

083.1742-083.1743 – Dog.

083.1744 – Unknown woman.

083.1745 – Dance rehearsal.

083.1746 – Dance studio, rehearsal.

083.1747 – Photo Scrapbook. N.H.N.S.G., 1901. Man seated at desk.* View Photograph

083.1748 – Photo Scrapbook. Unknown man seated in chair in front of blackboard. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1749 – Photo Scrapbook. Unknown man standing outside. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1750 – Photo Scrapbook. Man with moustache behind podium, next to skeleton. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1751 – Photo Scrapbook. Man with beard, next to skeleton. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1752 – Photo Scrapbook. Man with large moustache, in gymnasium. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1753 – Photo Scrapbook. Unknown group of men and women seated on doorstep. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1754 – Photo Scrapbook. Unknown group of men and women posing outside building. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1755 – Photo Scrapbook. Unknown woman standing outside. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1756 – Photo Scrapbook. Unknown group of men and women seated on doorstep. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1757 – Photo Scrapbook. Unknown man and women’s basketball team. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1758 – Photo Scrapbook. Unknown woman sitting on top of fence. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1759-083.1761 – Photo Scrapbook. Scranton Falls in winter, 1902.* View Photograph 1, View Photograph 2, View Photograph 3

083.1762-083.1766 – Photo Scrapbook. May Day, State Female Normal School. Farmville. 1903*
View Photograph 1, View Photograph 2, View Photograph 3, View Photograph 4, View Photograph 5

 

083.1767 – Photo Scrapbook. Crowning the May Queen, State Female Normal School. Farmville. 1903* View Photograph

083.1768 – Photo Scrapbook. Photo of two small children. Captioned: “Shadow and Light, Farmville, 1904.”* View Photograph

083.1769 – Photo Scrapbook. Two unidentified women holding banners that read “Walton” & “Champion.” 1904. View Photograph

083.1770 – Photo Scrapbook. Group of children (likely from Training School) on stage (likely May Day). 1904* View Photograph

083.1771 – Photo Scrapbook. May Day, May Pole. 1904* View Photograph

083.1772 – Photo Scrapbook. Women in costume with their backs to the camera. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1773 – Photo Scrapbook. Two women in costume on porch. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1774 – Photo Scrapbook. Group of women in costume facing camera. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1775 – Photo Scrapbook. May Pole. SFNS students and others in background. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1776 – Group of women. Likely at Willis Mountain. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

083.1777 – May Pole. Circa early 1900s.* View Photograph

 

* Denotes that photograph has been digitized.

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.359.2432
Subjects:Archives