The Lychnos Society Collection
LU-118

Information about the Collection
Established in 1958, the Lychnos Society was a local honorary mathematics and science organization.  The purpose of the organization was to promote interest in mathematics and science and to recognize those who made academic achievements in these fields.

Provenance
These materials were transferred to the archives by the Department of Mathematics in the early 1990s.

Scope and Content
This collections consists of materials that cover the history and activities of the Lychnos Society from 1957/58 – 1986/87.  Also included are scrapbook materials related to the organization and its members.

Size
The Lychnos Society Collection consists of 1.75 linear feet contained in 3 archival boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collections

    Box 1 of 3: Society Information, Correspondence, and Membership

            Ceremonial Speeches

            Certificates

            Constitution of the society (Fall 1957, 1967, 1976, and 1984)

            Correspondence

            Documents stating the need for a math/science club (1957-58) and approval letter

            Fall and Spring Initiation Programs

            History “The Organization and Conducting”

            Invitations from the Society to meeting with special guests

            Letters inviting students to join the society

            Letters to or from the society (1957-58)

            Longwood Organization List and Calendar of Events (1974-1979)

            Longwood Organization List and Calendar of Events (1981-1986)

            Member List (1957-1974)

            Member List (1975-1989) and (undated)

            Meeting Minutes

            Newspaper Articles about the Society (1958)

            Student Questionnaires (1926-1927)

    Box 2 of 3: Bylaws, Financial Information, and Meeting Minutes

            Bylaws

            Manuals, member pin, symbol, and photos

            Minutes notebook

            Miscellaneous papers related to the Lychnos Society

            Notes and Papers related to scholarly lectures

            Papers relating to the majors of students at Longwood (1926-1961)

            Permanent Role Sheets (1957-1983)

            President’s Notes (early 1970s)

            Bank statements, checks, and other financial information

            Permanent Minute Book (1957-December 3, 1985)

            Permanent Minute Book (February 1986 – January 1987)

    Box 3 of 3: Society Scrapbook

            Lychnos Society Scrapbook (1958-1984)

    Photographs

Located in Binder 5:

118.001 - Unknown woman receiving award.

118.002 - Unknown woman receiving award.

118.003 - Unknown woman at buffet table.

118.004 - Lychnos Society Initiates, Spring 1985. From top of stairs, L to R: Joe Parker, Linda Connor, John Kennen, Ginny Woltz, Karen Garrett,

     Mark Hogge, Katherine Varner, James Boggess, Linda Long, Kathy Armentrout, Donna Hoag.

118.005 - Jim Gussett (new sponsor) is sworn in as honorary member of Lychnos Society.

118.006 - New Lychnos Society President Barbara Watts and outgoing president Angie Smith talk with new sponsor Jim Gussett.

118.007 - Outgoing president Angie Smith gives Dr. Leta Holman 25 year service plaque.

118.008 - Dr. Leta Holman speaks.

118.009 - Reception following Lychnos Society Initiation.

118.110 - Lychnos Society, members, early 1980s.

118.111 - Lychnos Society, members, early 1980s.

118.112 - Lychnos Society, members, early 1980s.

118.113 - Lychnos Society, members, early 1980s.

118.114 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1980.

118.115 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1980.

118.116 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1980.

118.117 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1980.

118.118 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Fall 1980.

118.119 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Fall 1980.

118.120 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Fall 1980.

118.121 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Fall 1980.

118.122 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Fall 1980.

118.123 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1981.

118.124 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1981.

118.125 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1984.

118.126 - Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1984.

118.127 - Contact sheet with photos from Lychnos Society Initiation, Spring 1984.

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives