Edith Stevens Manuscript Collection
LU-011

Biographical Information

Edith Stevens (1897-1945) grew up in West Virginia where she earned her Bachelor’s Degree from Fairmont State College. In 1924, she earned an A.M. degree in biology from the University of West Virginia. After teaching school in her home state of West Virginia for several years, she went on to earn her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago in 1928. After earning her doctorate, she began teaching biology at the State Teachers College in Farmville in 1928. In 1945, during the last day of summer school classes, Dr. Stevens was seriously burned as a result of a laboratory explosion. She never recovered and died in the fall of 1945 due to complications resulting from her burns. Stevens, who never married, devoted her life to teaching. According to one of her colleagues, Dr. George Jeffers, teaching and biology were her avocation as well as vocation.

Provenance‚Äč

These materials were a part of the unprocessed collection of materials housed in the Lancaster Library and moved to the Greenwood Library which opened in 1991. There is no written record related to the acquisition of the materials in this collection.

Scope and Content

The collection consists of Edith Stevens’ manuscripts and a fifth box filled with index cards containing bibliographic references. Boxes 1 and 2 contain manuscripts that were created in the traditional style and format with the text in typescript on letter-size paper. Boxes 3 and 4 contain sets of intricate ink drawings with handwritten annotations on sheets of paper sized 4.2” x 5.5”. The manuscripts all relate to the study and teaching of plant sciences. Each of Dr. Stevens’ drawings and annotations are neat, detailed, and precise.

Size

This collection consists of 2.7 linear feet contained in 5 archival boxes.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 5

   Botany 23: Systematic Botany to Ascomycetes

“Botany 23: Systematic Botany to Ascomycetes” – this manuscript contains detailed pencil and ink drawings originally housed in a spiral notebook.  This item, of approximately 120 leaves, is contained in 10 folders.

   Box 2 of 5

   Zoology 23: Anatomy

“Zoology 23: Anatomy” – this manuscript of detailed ink drawing consists of 43 leaves.  The item was originally housed in a notebook with a cover that reads “Department of Biology, State Techers College, Farmville, Virginia.  “Edith Stevens and Zoology 23 – Anatomy” are written under the printed heading.  Most pages are stamped with the date April 5, 1924.  This manuscript is not contained in 3 folders.

   Lab Outline for Bacteriology

“Lab Outline for Bacteriology” – written for the Department of Biology at the Farmville State Teachers College.  This manuscript is in typescript.  It was originally contained in a hole-punched report cover and is now contained in 3 folders.  The items consists of 43 leaves divided into two series of numberings.

   Cytological Features of the Life History of Gymnosproangium Juniperi-Virginianae

“Cytological Features of the Life History of Gymnosproangium Juniperi-Virginianae.”  Three copies of this 12 page reprint are housed in one folder.  The following is printed on the cover page – “Reprinted for private circulation from The Botanical Gazette, Vol. LXXXIX, No. 4, June 1930.”  A noted on the item reads, “Contributions from the Hull Botanical Laboratory 404.” 

   Box 3 of 5

   Plant Cytology

“Plant Cytology” – This collection of detailed ink drawings consists of approximately 150 leaves and measures 13 cm. x 20 cm.  The leaves are held together at the top margin by yarn.  Drawings are accompanied by brief annotations.  Author and title information are written on the first page which serves as the cover page.

   Mosses

“Mosses” – This collection of detailed ink drawings of mosses includes approximately 55 leaves.  The drawing are accompanied by brief annotations.  The leaves are held together at the top margin by yarn.  The drawings are accompanied by 4 leaves of handwritten text.  Dimensions are 13 cm. x 20 cm.  Author and title information are written on the first page which serves and the cover page.

   Fungus Diseases

“Fungus Diseases” – This collection of detailed ink drawings consists of approximately 200 leaves.  Drawings are annotated.  Dimensions are 13 cm. x 20 cm.  The leaves are held together at the top margin by yarn.  Author and title information are written on the first page which serves as the cover page.

   Box 4 of 5

   Systematic Botany

“Systematic Botany” – this collection of detailed ink drawings consists of approximately 150 leaves.  Drawings are annotated.  Dimensions are 13 cm. x 20 cm.  The leaves are held together at the top margin by yarn.  Author and title information are written on the first page which serves as the cover page.

   Plant Anatomy or Ecology – Drawings – University of Chicago

“Plant Anatomy or Ecology – Drawings – University of Chicago” – This collection of detailed ink drawings consists of approximately 45 pages.  The drawings are annotated.  Dimensions are 13 cm. x 20 cm.  Author and title information are written on the first pages which serves as the cover page. 

   1. Major, Edith Stevens

The front cover is bare except for a brief annotation in the lower right which reads, “1. Major, Edith Stevens.”  The collection contains detailed ink drawings with brief annotations.  The item consists of approximately 50 pages and is bound at the top with yarn.  The dimensions are 13 cm. x 20 cm. 

   Sketches of Miscellaneous Forms Found in the Vicinity of Farmville, VA

“Sketches of Miscellaneous Forms Found in the Vicinity of Farmville, VA” – This collection of detailed pencil and ink drawings with annotations are on card stock.  Dimensions are 13 cm. x 20 cm.  Author and title information are written on the first card.

   Box 5 of 5

This box contains index cards with bibliographic resources inscribed on each one.  The cards are arranged according to the parts of the plant, and the cards are numbered up to ~632.

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives