Leola Wheeler Collection
LU-012

Information about the Collection
Leola Wheeler came to Farmville in 1911, having received her A.B. degree from Smith College. Later she earned her M.A. from Columbia University. She taught at Longwood from 1911 until her retirement in 1949. She left the school briefly from 1917-1918 to work with the Red Cross in France and in 1921 to serve with the YWCA in Panama and China. In 1962 a newly constructed dormitory was name in her honor.

Provenance
This collection of materials was mailed to Alumni Relations Director Nancy Shelton by a nephew of Leola Wheeler, Mr. David L. Peebles of Gloucester, Virginia, in August of 1996. This small box of materials was passed on to Dr. Calvin Boyer, Director of Greenwood Library, to be added to the archival collections. A letter of thanks to Mr. Peebles from Nancy Shelton is included with this collection.

Scope and Content
This collection consists of six personal notebooks and one textbook that belonged to Ms. Wheeler. Five notebooks contain handwritten notes taken by Ms. Wheeler during classes in which she was enrolled. One notebook includes information about her overseas travels including an itinerary and some addresses of those she met during her travels. The notebooks do not include the years in which they were written.

Size
This collection consists of .75 linear feet and is contained in (1) archival box.

Notes
No restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1: Notebooks and Textbook

Book #1 – Notebook containing handwritten notes taken by Miss Wheeler in English 16, taught by Professor Abbott.

Book #2 – Notebook containing handwritten notes taken by Miss Wheeler in a literature class (possibly Children’s Literature).

Book #3 – Notebook containing handwritten notes related to classes in literature and creative writing.

Book #4 – Notebook containing handwritten notes related to literature and several other disciplines.

Book #5 – Notebook containing handwritten notes related to the class, “History of Drama.”

Book #6 – Notebook containing handwritten notes related to overseas travels.

Book #7 – Textbook entitled Camp Dramatics by Nina Lamkin and published by Samuel French in 1935.

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives