James Elliott Walmsley Collection
LU-084

Information about the Collection

Dr. James Elliott Walmsley was born in Mingo, Virginia in 1872.  In 1893 he graduated from Randolph-Macon College with both a bachelor and Master of Arts degree.  He went on to earn his doctorate in Philosophy while attending Illinois Wesleyan, The University of Chicago, and the University of Michigan.  Dr. Walmsley first taught at Randolph-Macon Academy in Bedford, Virginia from 1896-1903.  He later became a professor of History and Political Science at Kentucky Wesleyan College and was professor of History at Winthrop College in South Carolina from 1912-1925.  He came to State Teachers College at Farmville (Longwood College) in 1925 and remained here as professor of History and Political Science until his retirement as professor emeritus in 1948.  He was a member of a number of fraternities and societies, including Kappa Alpha, Pi Kappa Delta, Sigma Pi Rho, and Pi Gamma Mu (of which he at one point served as national chairman).  He also served on the Historical Commission of South Carolina and was a past president of the Virginia Society of History Teachers.  Additionally, he was the author of a number of historical books and articles.  Dr. Walmsley passed away on February 2, 1958.

Provenance

The materials in this collection came into the Greenwood Library Archives from the Longwood University History Department in the mid-1990s.

Scope and Content

The bulk of the materials in this collection consist of ephemera, books, and pamphlets collected by Dr. Walmsley.  Also included in the collection are (3) lectures given by Dr. Walmsley and (1) piece of correspondence concerning the legacy of Woodrow Wilson.  These materials date from the early 19th century to the mid-20th century.

Size

This collection consists of .6 linear feet contained in (1) legal-sized archival box and (1) oversize archival folder.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1

Lecture re: Robert E. Lee

Lecture re: The Seal of the Confederacy

Lecture re: The Civil War

Correspondence re: Woodrow Wilson, 1921

Charles Francis Adams, correspondence, 1913 and 1913 (copies)

Signed invitation to Luncheon with Theodore Roosevelt, 1911, Jackson, MS

Emigrant Road Directory and Guide Map (ca. 1850s-1860s)

State of Mississippi, $50 bond certificate, 1872

Wallpaper backed with newspaper, 1863

Campaign flyer, Jackson County, MS, 1868 Union Republican Ticket

Bank of Lexington, NC, banknotes, $5 (1859) and $10 (1861)

Postcard, “Room Where the Last Confederacy Met, Washington, GA”

Gen. Robert E. Lee advertisement card from Clinton Pharmacy, SC (ca. 1909)                              

Pennsylvania Gazette, Dec. 24, 1728 (reprint)

“Iron Works at Tuball,” 1739, Alexander Spotswood

“Man in the Democracy,” 1904, Charles W. Dabney, President, University of Cincinnati, Inaugural Address

“A Forgotten Phase of the New England Opposition to the War of 1812,” by Frank Maloy Anderson

“Woodrow Wilson, Memorial Address,” 1924, by Dr. Edwin Anderson Alderman

“The Course of Louisiana Politics, 1862-1866,” by Frederick W. Moore, Ph. D.

“The Monroe Doctrine, the Vital Necessity of its Continued Maintenance,” by Thomas Mahoney

“President McKinley’s Last Speech,” 1901

“Dunmore’s Proclamation of Independence,” “Thomas Jefferson and his unknown brother Randolph,” and “A Proclamation for Setling[sic] the plantation of Virginia,” from the Tracy McGregor Library

“The Railroad, The Conqueror,” 1913 and “Charleston During the Civil War,” 1915 by Theodore Jervey

“Thomas Jefferson and the University of Virginia,” 1888 by Herbert B. Adams, Ph. D.

“A Discourse on the Constitution of the United States, 1848, John Quincy Adams

“Speech, John Bell, of Tennessee, on the Tariff,” 1832 (fragile)

“The Ancestry of Chaucer,” 1906, by Alfred Allan Kern, Millsaps College

“Some Account of the Life and Services of William Blount,” 1884, by Gen. Marcus J. Wright

“Four Addresses by Miss Mildred Lewis Rutherford,” 1912 (historian general of the Daughters of the Confederacy)

The Minutes of the Mississippi Bar Association at its Fourth Annual Meeting, 1889

“The Natchez Country,” by Richard F. Reed (x2)

“Jefferson Davis: A Sketch of the Life and Character…” by the New Orleans Times-Democrat

“Jefferson Davis, A Judicial Estimate,” by Bishop Charles Galloway, and “Jefferson Davis at West Point,” by Walter L. Fleming

“Shall Cromwell have a Statue” 1902, by Charles Francis Adams

“Remarks on the Report of the Legislature on our Foreign Relations,” 1810, by Sully (extremely fragile)

“Documents: The Change of Secession Sentiment in Virginia in 1861”

The Colonnade, December 1939, Vol. 1, no. 1

Oversize Folder: Newspapers

The Daily Rebel, Chattanooga, TN, August 9, 1862

Christian Observer, Richmond, VA, January 8, 1863

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives