Rosemary Sprague Collection
LU-010

Information about the Collection
Rosemary Sprague (1922-1991) was a graduate of Bryn Mawr College and received her master’s degree and doctorate from Case Western Reserve University. She also studied at the Shakespeare Institute, Stratford-on-Avon, and at Oxford University and the University of London. She taught English at Longwood from 1962 until her retirement in 1990. She was promoted to full professorship in 1965, and two years later she became Longwood’s first Board of Visitors Distinguished Professor. She was the author of nine historical novels for young adults, biographies of Robert Browning and George Eliot, and a study of five American poets entitled “Imaginary Gardens.” Additionally she was the author of the Sesquicentennial History of Longwood College. Dr. Sprague was an accomplished actress who loved the theatre her entire life. Prior to teaching at Longwood, she was the Director of Dramatics at Notre Dame College. In 1971, Dr. Sprague established the Victorians Institute in collaboration with two colleagues from the University of North Carolina. The Institute has since developed into an international literary society. During her lifetime, she was involved in teaching, writing, acting, professional organizations, and community-based groups; but today, her legacy lives on in her writings that are still held in libraries throughout the world.

Provenance
‚ÄčDr. Sprague died in the fall of 1991 as the result of a fire in her Farmville, Virginia home. This archival collection contains materials from both her home and her office, and were transferred to the library by Alumni Relations in the winter of 1991.

Scope and Content

This collection consists of 41 archival boxes of materials related to the life and career of Dr. Rosemary Sprague.  Among the collection are correspondence, writings, personal and biographical materials, a collection of photographs, and a collection of miscellaneous materials. 

Size
This collection consists of 24.9 linear feet contained in 41 archival boxes and 4 archival photo binders.

Notes
No restrictions to access or use for research purposes with the exception of:

  • Box 38, which contains unprocessed materials including notes, research, and writings all related to the history of Longwood University.

Contents of the Collection

   Series 1: Correspondence

   Box 1 of 41

Folders 1-2 – Correspondence with J.B. Lankes, 1986

Folders 3-7 – Correspondence with J.B. Lankes, 1987

Folders 8-9 – Correspondence with J.B. Lankes, 1988

Folders 10-11 – Correspondence with J.B. Lankes, 1989

   Box 2 of 41

Folders 1-5 – Correspondence with J.B. Lankes, 1990

Folders 6-8 – Correspondence with J.B. Lankes, 1991

Folder 9 – Personal letters between Rosemary Sprague and J.B. Lankes

Folder 10 – Correspondence between J.B. Lankes and Minnesota Libraries

Folder 11 – Correspondence between J.B. Lankes and Longwood College about Lankes Art Collection, 1990-1994.

Folder 12-14 – Correspondence with Horace Abram Rigg Jr. – 1969

   Box 3 of 41

Folder 1 – Correspondence with Horace Abram Rigg Jr. – 1969

Folders 2-3 – Correspondence with Horace Abram Rigg Jr. 1970-1972

Folder 4-5 – Correspondence with Chilton Publishing – 1963-1968

Folders 6-11 – Correspondence with Crowell Publishing – 1964-1976

Folders 12-15 – Correspondence with Toni Strassman

Folders 16-18 – Correspondence with Walck Publishing – 1962-1971

Folder 19 – Correspondence with Every Woman’s Magazine – 1951

Folder 20 – miscellaneous correspondence – 1964-1976

   Box 4 of 41

Folders 1-4 – Correspondence related to the publication of “Imaginary Gardens”

Folder 5 – Assorted Coal Industry Papers

Folder 6 – Correspondence with actress Rosalind Ivan

Folder 7 – Correspondence with playwright Charles O’Brien Kennedy

Folder 8 – Correspondence with theater critic Burns Mantle

Folder 9 – Correspondence with Nada Prodauvovie

Folder 10 – Correspondence with the Society of Stoopnocracy

Folder 11 – Letter from members of the Virginia Daughters of the American Revolution

Folder 12 – Letters from Oscar Williams

Folder 13 – miscellaneous business correspondence

Folder 14 – Longwood contracts

Folder 15 – Longwood administration

Folder 16 – Correspondence related to The Victorian Institute

Folder 17 – Letters from students

   Box 5 of 41

Folder 1 – Letters from Neville Coghill of Merton College, Oxford (1964-1967)

Folder 2 – Correspondence with Nivvy Erwin (1944)

Folders 3-4 – Letters related to school, scholarships, death of her father, New York (1934-1959)

Folder 5 – Correspondence with immediate family (1940s)

Folders 6-7 – Letters from friends and acquaintances (1960s & 1970s)

Folder 8-9 – Letters from friends and colleagues (1980s & 1990s)

Folder 10 – Correspondence with family and friends (undated)

Folder 11 – Letters of condolence written to Eleanor Sprague after the death of Percy Sprague (1943)

Folder 12 – Letters to Eleanor Sprague from Rosemary Sprague (1940s – 1970s)

Folder 13 – Letters to Eleanor Sprague from other family members (1930s – 1950s)

Folder 14 – Letters to both Eleanor and Rosemary Sprague (1930s – 1950s)

Folder 15 – Collection of cards and printed items from friends.

Folder 16 – Collection of miscellaneous invitations, brochures, and notes

Folder 17 – miscellaneous correspondence

   Series 2: Manuscripts

   Box 6 of 41

Folders 1-38 – draft, Conquerors of Time

Folders 39-41 – draft #1, Fife and Fandango

   Box 7 of 41

Folders 1-2 – draft #1, Fife and Fandango

Folders 3-8 – draft #2, Fife and Fandango

Folders 9-22 – handwritten draft, Forever in Joy

   Box 8 of 41

Folders 1-12 – handwritten draft, Forever in Joy

Folders 13-25 – typed draft (with corrections), Forever in Joy

Folders 26-28 – early draft, George Eliot: A Biography

   Box 9 of 41

Folders 1-3 – early draft, George Eliot: A Biography

Folders 4-10 – typed draft (with corrections), George Eliot: A Biography

   Box 10 of 41

Folders 1-43 – typed draft, Golden Keys

   Box 11 of 41

Folders 1-2 – typed draft, Golden Keys

Folders 3-9 – typed draft, Heir of Kiloran

Folders 10-18 – typed draft, Heroes of the White Shield

Folders 19-20 – typed draft, Imaginary Gardens

   Box 12 of 41

Folders 1-10 – typed draft, Imaginary Gardens

Folders 11-23 – preliminary research, Imaginary Gardens; Dickinson

   Box 13 of 41

Folders 1-17 – preliminary research, Imaginary Gardens; Lowell

Folders 18-49 – preliminary research, Imaginary Gardens; Teasdale

Folders 50-51 – handwritten draft, The Jade Pagoda

   Box 14 of 41

Folders 1-8 – handwritten draft, The Jade Pagoda

Folders 9-23 – typed draft (with corrections), The Jade Pagoda

   Box 15 of 41

Folders 1-6 – typed draft (with corrections), The Jade Pagoda

Folders 7-16 – handwritten draft, A Kingdom to Win

Folders 17-25 – typed draft #1, Longwood College: A History

   Box 16 of 41

Folders 1-10 – typed draft #1, Longwood College: A History

Folders 11-17 – typed draft #2, Longwood College: A History

Folders 18-45 – typed draft #3, Longwood College: A History

Folders 46-55 – typed draft #4, Longwood College: A History

   Box 17 of 41

Folders 1-18 – typed draft #4, Longwood College: A History

Folders 19-44 – galley proof, Longwood College: A History

Folder 45-47 – notes and research, Longwood College: A History

   Box 18 of 41

Folders 1-5 – notes and research, Longwood College: A History

Folders 6-37 – typed draft, Red Lion and Gold Dragon

   Box 19 of 41

Folders 1-31 – typed draft, Red Lion and Gold Dragon

Folders 32-26 – typed draft, Witch of Windsor

   Box 20 of 41

Folders 1-19 – typed draft, Witch of Windsor

   Box 21 of 41

Folders 1-13 – typed draft, Witch of Windsor

   Box 22 of 41

Folder 1 – published short story, One Enchanted Visit, Everywoman’s Magazine, Dec. 1951

Folders 2-10 – play, The Satin Slipper, adaptation performed at Notre Dame.

Folders 11-13 – “A Beau for Aunt Mathilde”

Folder 14-17 – “From Ancient Britain to Tudor England”

   Box 23 of 41

Folder 1 – unpublished short story, “The Ballade”

Folders 2-4 – unpublished short story, “The Descendant”

Folder 5 – unpublished short story, “Giving a Tea”

Folder 6 – unpublished short story, “The Door”

Folder 7 – unpublished short story, “The Light”

Folder 8 – unpublished short story, “A History of Thanksgiving”

Folders 9-15 – notes re: Robert Browning

Folders 16-17 – notes re: Robert Burns

Folders 18-22 – Rosemary Sprague, notes and fragments of writings

   Box 24 of 41

Folders 1-3 – Notes and research re: Emily Dickinson

Folder 4-11 – Notes and research re: Ellen Glasgow

Folder 12-14 – Notes and research re: Edna St. Vincent Millay

   Box 25 of 41

Folders 1-6 – Notes and research re: Edna St. Vincent Millay

Folders 7-8 – Notes and research re: Marianne Moore

Folder 9 – Notebooks containing research for Conquerors of Time

Folders 10-14 – “Andrew Lang” Lecture Series (1954-1955)

   Box 26 of 41

Folders 1-13 – “Andrew Lang” Lecture Series (1954-1955)

Folder 14 – autobiographical lecture

Folder 15 – lecture - “Biography, the Other Face of the Coin”

Folder 16 – lecture - “Blush of Shame… or Art is a Beautiful Thing”

Folder 17 – lecture re: Robert Browning

Folder 18 – lecture re: “Camelot”

Folder 19 – lecture re: “Darkness at Noon”

Folder 20 – “The Dean’s Watch” (lecture given for Waterwork Players)

Folder 21 – lecture re: Education in Early America

Folder 22 – lecture re: George Eliot

   Box 27 of 41

Folders 1-2 – lecture re: “Golden Key” 1953

Folder 3 – Lecture on Shakespeare’s Hamlet

Folder 4 – lecture re: “Ladies of the Club,” by Helen Santmeyer

Folder 5 – Longwood Commencement Speech, May 1979

Folder 6 – Longwood – writing the history of Longwood College

Folder 7 – Ode to Presentation of Cake for Longwood Celebration

Folders 8-9 – lecture - “The Saint – Sinners” revised and edited

Folder 10 – lecture re: Revolutionary War entitled “Through Rose Colored Glasses”

Folders 11-12 – Shady Ladies Speech

Folder 13 – lecture - “Swinburne: After a Century”

Folder 14 – lecture re: thriller novels/fiction of the 20th century

Folder 15 – lecture - “Two Hundred Years of Commercial Conspiracy”

Folder 16 – lecture re: Tuckman’s “Guns of August”

Folder 17 – lecture re: Victorian Poetic Drama

Folder 18 – lecture - “Vocation of the Theatre”

Folder 19 – lecture on Chaucer entitled “What Women Most Desire”

Folder 20 – Art Institute Lecture, 2/17/1954

Folder 21 – Cleveland Book Fair lecture, November 1953

Folder 22 – Farmville Waterworks lecture (undated)

Folder 23 – Geist Tapping Ceremony, 1/19/1978

Folder 24 – VEA Conference lecture (undated)

Folder 25 – Virginia Federation of Women’s Clubs, lecture, 4/25/1972

Folders 26-29 – unidentified/miscellaneous lectures

   Box 28 of 41

Folder 1 – Marriage & Ibsen

Folder 2 – Paradise Lost

Folder 3 – story about Christmas

Folder 4 – Senior Latin final

Folder 5 – notes on Virgil’s Aeneid, 1936-1937

Folder 6 – In Honor of a Lady, 1937

Folder 7 – “O Tempora!” 1937

Folder 8 – Observations on the Idea of the Comic as Appleseed to Drama

Folder 9 – Analysis and Interpretation of The White Devil, 1941

Folder 10 – History of Theater, 1948

Folder 11 – Writings for English 201, 1948

Folder 12 – Notes for English 206, 1948

Folder 13 – Writings for English 206, 1948

Folder 14 – Drama of the Mystic Way, 1948

Folder 15 – Writings for English 401

Folder 16 – Fanny Farmer, 15th Century, 1949

Folders 17-18 – miscellaneous class writings

Folder 19 – miscellaneous class notes

Folder 20 – miscellaneous book jackets

Folder 21 – galley proof, Forever in Joy

Folder 22 – galley proof, Poems of Robert Browning

   Box 29 of 41

Folder 1 – galley proof, Poems of Robert Browning

Folders 2-3 – galley proof, Dance for a Diamond Star

Folder 4 – galley proof, George Eliot

Folder 5 – galley proof, Imaginary Gardens

Folder 6 – galley proof, A Kingdom to Win

Folder 7 – galley proof, Red Lion & Gold Dragon

Folder 8 – galley proof, Jade Pagoda

   Series 3: Personal and Biographical

   Box 30 of 41

Folder 1 – Life after Hathaway Brown

Folder 2 – Certificate of Baptism and related documents

Folder 3 – College acceptance letters

Folder 4 – Academic transcripts and related documents

Folder 5 – Commencement program, June 1941

Folders 6-7 – Playbills and scripts

Folder 8 – special awards – CHI recognition and AAUW award

Folder 9 – BOV Distinguished Professor Award, 1967

Folder 10 – Miller & Rhoades Book Author Dinner, 1973

Folder 11 – BOV Distinguished Professor Award Dinner

Folder 12 – Parlour Entertainment Information, 1990

Folders 13-14 – “Rosemary’s Christmas Story” by Eleanor Sprague

Folder 15 – Information pertaining to Eleanor Sprague’s funeral service

Folders 16-17 – Information pertaining to Percy Sprague’s death and funeral service

Folders 18-23 – Information related to the Sprague family

   Box 31 of 41

Folders 1-2 – newspaper articles about Rosemary Sprague (1935-1986)

Folders 3-13 – reviews of Dr. Sprague’s publications

Folder 14 – reviews written by Rosemary Sprague

Folder 15 – newspaper clippings regarding lectures given by Dr. Sprague

Folder 16 – miscellaneous contracts

Folder 17 – Author’s Guild Agreements

Folder 18 – author published agreements

Folders 19-21 – royalty statements

Folder 22 – bank statements from Walck Royalty

Folder 23 – bank statements from Crowell Royalty

   Box 32 of 41

Folder 1 – bank statements on book sales from Chilton Books

Folder 2 – stamp collection

Folder 3 – business cards

Folder 4 – papers written by Dr. Sprague’s students

Folder 5 – paperwork regarding Oscar Williams anthology

Folder 6 – playbills and scripts

Folder 7 – professional stills of Shakespearean plays

Folder 8 – programs of church services

Folder 9 – Manhattan Theatre Colony brochure

Folder 10 – miscellaneous handwritten poetry by Rosemary Sprague, Percy Sprague, Eleanor Sprague

Folder 11 – items given to Dr. Sprague regarding literature and art

Folder 12 – miscellaneous bulletins regarding literature and theater festivals

Folder 13 – notebooks (author unknown)

Folder 14 – Golden Keys book list

Folder 15 – editorial written by Percy Sprague

   Box 33 of 41

Folder 1 – English 120, notes

Folder 2 – “Fun with Hamlet”

Folder 3 – “Three Little Pigs”

Folder 4 – Shakespearean definitions

Folders 5-23 – miscellaneous class notes

   Box 34 of 41

Folders 1-9 – miscellaneous class notes

Folder 10 – Final exams

Folder 11 – French class notes

Folder 12 – random class notes and writings

   Box 35 of 41

Folder 1 – Richmond Shakespeare Lecture notes

Folder 2 – notes on religion

Folder 3 – notes & writing

Folder 4 – notes on Middle Ages

Folder 5 – notes on history

Folders 6-7 – copy of “To Christ I Look”

Folder 8 – copy of paper entitled “16th Century Book of Common Prayers”

Folders 9-10 – poetry clippings

Folder 11 – museum guidebooks

   Box 36 of 41

Folder 1 – travel guides

Folder 2 – miscellaneous newspaper clippings

Folder 3 – books on calligraphy

Folder 4 – history magazines

Folder 5 – newspaper clippings regarding theater

Folder 6 – newspaper clippings regarding Farmville, Virginia

Folder 7 – newspaper and magazine clippings regarding art and literature

Folder 8 – miscellaneous maps

Folder 9 – Shakespearean character genealogy table

   Box 37 of 41

The Metropolitan Museum of Art: Calendar for 1960 – “A Cloister’s Bestiary”

The Metropolitan Museum of Art: Calendar for 1966 – “A Medieval Treasury”

(2) address books

(2) small Bibles

(1) Book of Common Prayers

(1) handkerchief

(1) embroidered handkerchief that reads “A Soft Answer Turneth Away Wrath”

Longwood College Faculty Colloquium “Distinguished Professor Award” 1984

Longwood College Faculty Colloquium “Distinguished Professor Award” 1989

Miscellaneous note cards

Wooden box with “Tempe Date Gardens” pictured on lid

framed article on retirement of Dr. Stephen Joseph Herben

tin box from England

   Box 38 of 41

Unsorted and unprocessed materials mostly related to Rosemary Sprague’s research for her History of Longwood College.

   Box 39 of 41

(2) framed photographs of Rosemary Sprague.

(1) framed biography of Rosemary Sprague.

Poem written for Dr. Sprague. Attached to wooden plaque.

(1) wooden key that reads “Dr. Rosemary Sprague, Wynne 105”

(1) wooden box with enclosed medallion. Student Faculty Award, 1977

(1) wooden box that reads “Dr. Rosemary Sprague, For your generous support of Sesquicentennial activities, Longwood College, 1989

   Box 40 of 41

010.852 – Rosemary Sprague in evening gown.

010.853 – Rosemary Sprague ~early to mid 40s.

010.854 – Rosemary Sprague’s father, Percy.

010.855 – Rosemary Sprague’s father, Percy.

010.856 – Rosemary Sprague in evening gown.

010.857 – Unknown family photograph.

010.858 – Rosemary Sprague in evening gown, holding bouquet of flowers.

010.859 – Rosemary Sprague in evening gown.

010.860 – Rosemary Sprague’s father, Percy.

010.861 – Rosemary Sprague’s father, Percy.

010.862 – Unknown group of men at banquet.

010.863 – Unknown group of young men.

010.864 – Baseball team. Sewickley High, circa early-1900s.

010.865 – Football team. Sewickley High, 1902.

010.866 – Luise Rainer. Signed.

010.867 – Unknown couple.

010.868 – Irene Tedrow. Signed.

   Box 41 of 41

Letter from Tom Wolfe, dated 05/29/1991

Letter from Robert Browning to William Wetmore Story, dated 04/28/1862

   Photo Binder 1

Rosemary Sprague childhood photos.

For a detailed inventory of photographs please see the finding aid for this collection.

   Photo Binder 2

Rosemary Sprague young adult and adult photos.

Sprague family photos.

Rosemary Sprague travel photos

For a detailed inventory of photographs please see the finding aid for this collection.

   Photo Binder 3

Rosemary Sprague travel photos.

Rosemary Sprague postcards

Signed photos from miscellaneous actors and actresses.

For a detailed inventory of photographs please see the finding aid for this collection.

   Photo Binder 4

Rosemary Sprague postcards from travels.

For a detailed inventory of photographs please see the finding aid for this collection.

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives