Elizabeth Burger Jackson Collection
LU-009

Information about the Collection
Elizabeth Burger Jackson was a graduate of William and Mary, where she earned both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees. Dr. Jackson also studied at Columbia University and received her doctorate from the University of Virginia. She taught natural sciences at Longwood from 1938 until her retirement in 1976. She was promoted to full professorship in 1960 and was named Distinguished Professor of Natural Sciences prior to her retirement. A member of the State Study Commission on Elementary Science Instruction, Dr. Jackson was also noted for her accomplishments in the sport of field hockey. As a friend of field hockey pioneer Constance M.K. Applebee, Dr. Jackson participated in several international tournaments as a passionate member of the U.S. Women’s Field Hockey team from 1939 to 1954, including the World Hockey Conference in South Africa in 1950. In 1982, she was inducted into the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame. Dr. Jackson, a Farmville native, was an integral part of her community for decades and an active member of the Farmville United Methodist Church. Dr. Elizabeth Burger Jackson passed away in the summer of 1998 at a Farmville-area retirement home.

Provenance
This collection of materials related to Dr. Jackson’s life and career was donated to the Greenwood Library Archives by Nancy Joel in the fall of 2008.

Scope and Content
This collection contains materials related to the life and accomplishments of Dr. Elizabeth Burger Jackson and consists of personal and biographical materials, correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, and miscellaneous print materials..

Size
This collection consists of 4.2 linear feet contained in (1) legal-sized Hollinger box, (1) legal-sized half Hollinger box, (2) large archival flat boxes, (1) small archival flat box, and (1) oversize bankers box.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 6: Print Items, Memorabilia, and Biographical Information

            Personal and Biographical Information

            Miss Constance Applebee Memorabilia 1873-1981 (1 of 2)

            Miss Constance Applebee Memorabilia 1873-1981 (2 of 2)

            Correspondence (Columbia Alumni, Ceremony Honoring Constance Applebee)

            World Field Hockey Tour 1953

            Awards and Recognitions

            Print Items collected by Nancy Joel for Public Relations awards dinner honoring Jackson

            Mary Belle Barlow and Miss Olive Iler Recognitions

            Photographs

            Field Hockey and Lacrosse Profiles, 1985-2001 (1 of 2)

            Field Hockey and Lacrosse Profiles, 1985-2001 (2 of 2)

   Box 2 of 6: Posterboard/Framed Memorabilia

            Eastern College Athletic Conference Championship Photo with Trophy, 1998

            Team Photograph (unknown year)(Elizabeth Burger Jackson, center)

            Team Photograph, USTTS Africa World Tour, 1950

            Black and White photograph (unidentified), 1998

            Longwood Field Hockey Informal Team Photograph, 1998

            Longwood College Field Hockey poster, 1998

            Eastern College Athletic Conference Championship Certificate poster, 1998

            Longwood University Field Hockey, poster, 2003

            Longwood University Field Hockey, team photograph, 2003

            Longwood University Field Hockey, team roster poster, 2006

   Box 3 of 6: Artifacts

            Virginia Sports Hall of Fame Plaque, 1983

            Badges

            (2) mini field hockey sticks

   Box 4 of 6: Jewelry and other Souvenirs

            Honorary SEFHA pin

            Tidewater Field Hockey Association (FHA) pin

            South American Women’s Hockey Association pin

            Federation of Women’s Hockey International Association pin

            Water Safety Instructor pin

            First Aid Instructor pin

            Silver, USFHA pin

            Blue, USFHA pin

            Blue, glossy pin with crossing hockey sticks

            Palm tree-shaped hockey stick pin (wooden)

            Hockey stick and flower pin

            Hockey stick pin (metal)

            IFWHA, New Zealand pin

            USFHA, IFWHA 1963 Conference Necklace

            New Zealand-shaped pendant

            Africa-shaped pendant

            South America-shaped pendant

            Australia-shaped pendant

            “Bundle for Britain” pin

            Ashburton, New Zealand pendant

            Walrus-shaped pin

            New Zealand, leaf-shaped pin

            Boomerang-shaped pin (wooden)

            Charm bracelet with giraffe and warrior on horseback

            Clover bracelet

            North, South, East, West Breastplate pin

            USTT, 1956 LB Breastplate pin

            Silver, shamrock pin

            Green, shamrock pin (x2)

            Silver, flower-shaped pin

            Red, rectangular pin – red, white, and blue with one star

            Red, rectangular pin – red, white, and blue with two stars

            Leaf-shaped pin with fruit

            Smiley-face pin, “Hockey is Fun”

            Metal coin “City of Centennial 1871-1971”

            Jumping deer pin

            AEWHA, flower pin

            Crossed hockey sticks pin with lion

            Megaphone pin

            Coach’s whistle (x3)

   Box 5 of 6: Commemorative Plate

            Commemorative plate with photo of Dr. Jackson leading the U.S. Field Hockey Team, England, 1953

   Box 6 of 6: Field Hockey Sticks

            Elizabeth Burger Jackson’s field hockey sticks (x2)

   Photographs

Located in Binder 1:

009.001 - USFHA (United State Field Hockey Association) World Tour, Team Photograph, Africa, 1950*

009.002 – USFHA (United States Field Hockey Association), team photograph, unknown year, unknown location*

009.003 – Constance Applebee at a party. Unknown year, unknown location.

009.004 – Constance Applebee on the deck of the Queen Mary, 1954*

009.005 – Constance Applebee at U.S. vs. England (field hockey match), 1961, Rye, N.Y.*

009.006 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson in science lab.*

009.007 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson, portrait photo

009.008 – Two unidentified women.

009.009 – Four unidentified women.

009.010 – Longwood Field Hockey team. Unknown year.

009.011 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson at Commemorative Ceremony honoring Miss Constance M.K. Applebee

009.012 – Alumnae Field Hockey game, 1997

009.013 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson holding a koala, World Hockey Tour, 1934, Brisbane, Australia.*

009.014 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson and unidentified women at event honoring Constance Applebee.

009.015 – Unidentified women at event honoring Constance Applebee, 1982

009.016 – Unidentified women at event honoring Constance Applebee, 1982

009.017 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson standing next to portrait of Constance Applebee. At event honoring Constance Applebee, 1982.

009.018 – Photo of portrait of Constance Applebee.

009.019 – Display of photos and artifacts concerning Constance Applebee and field hockey.

009.020 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson speaking at event honoring Constance Applebee, 1982 (1 of 2)

009.021 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson speaking at event honoring Constance Applebee, 1982 (2 of 2)

009.022 – Unidentified women at event honoring Constance Applebee, 1982.

009.023 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson and others standing next to portrait of Constance Applebee, 1982

009.024 – Unidentified women at event honoring Constance Applebee, 1982

009.025 – Close-up photograph of portrait of Constance Applebee.

009.026 - 009.060 – Unidentified field hockey player.

009.061 – (L to R) Nancy Joel, Emily Stone, Mellissa ___, Janet Grubbs, Kelly Callan, Teresa Burr

009.062 – Field Hockey Team at 1998 Longwood Athletic Banquet

009.063 – Longwood Field Hockey Team, unknown year

009.064 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, 2000 ECAC Champions*

009.065 – Longwood Field Hockey Team on field, unknown year

009.066 – Field Hockey Team at 1998 Longwood Athletic Banquet

009.067 – Longwood Field Hockey Team, unknown year

009.068 – Longwood Alumnae Game, 1997

009.069 – Longwood Field Hockey Team, 1997

009.070 – Longwood Field Hockey Team, unknown year

009.071 – Unknown women standing on field holding trophy

009.072 – Longwood Field Hockey Team, unknown year

009.073 – Longwood Field Hockey Team on field, 1994

009.074 – Elizabeth Burger Jackson and two LU Field Hockey Players 1996

009.075 – Longwood Field Hockey Team, unknown year

009.076 – Child in field hockey goalie pads

009.077 – Longwood Field Hockey Team, unknown year

009.078 – Two field hockey players in woods

009.079 – Longwood University Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.080 – Four Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.081 – Longwood University Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.082 – Longwood alumnae game, 1996

009.083 – Four Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.084 – Longwood Field Hockey player listening to music on sidelines

009.085 – Longwood alumnae game, 1995

009.086 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, 2003

009.087 – Women with small child holding a field hockey stick

009.088 – Alumnae event, unknown year

009.089 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.090 – Two Longwood Field Hockey players, one holding flowers

009.091 – Longwood Alumnae game, 1998

009.092 – Three Longwood Field Hockey players posing behind lamppost

009.093 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, 1996

009.094 – Eight Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.095 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, 1997

009.096 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, 1997

009.097 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, 1981

009.098 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, 1989

009.099 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.100 – Longwood alumnae game, 1996

009.101 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.102 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.103 – Longwood Field Hockey clinic, 1996

009.104 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.105 – Three Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.106 – Three Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.107 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.108 – Four Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.109 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.110 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, 2001

009.111 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.112 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.113 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.114 – Four Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.115 – Two Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.116 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.117 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.118 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.119 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.120 – Longwood Field Hockey, team photo, unknown year

009.121 – Four Longwood Field Hockey players, unknown year

009.122 – Five Longwood Field Hockey players on golf cart, unknown year

*denotes photo has been digitized

Download/Print Finding AId

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives