Barbara L. Bishop Collection
LU-006

Information about the Collection
Barbara Lee Bishop (1932-1991) was a Professor of Art at Longwood College form 1965-1990. Ms. Bishop was the first Executive Director of the Longwood Fine Arts Center. A Longwood alumna (1960), she received her Master of Fine Arts degree from the University of North Carolina-Greensboro and studied printmaking in Paris. Additionally, she studied printmaking and painting at the Teachers College, Columbia University. In 1970 she was appointed Chairman of the Art Department at Longwood College and held that position until 1984.

Her professional contributions and responsibilities have included serving as president of the Virginia Art Education Association, secretary of the Virginia Alliance for Arts Education, vice president and art editor of the New Virginia Review, and member of various committees for the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. Her work has been exhibited in more than 80 juried and invitational shows on regional and national levels, in 29 one-woman shows, and is represented in public and private collections throughout the United States. Ms. Bishop conducted workshops in printmaking, photography, and papermaking for colleges, universities, and school in Virginia, North Carolina, and Pennsylvania.

Provenance
This collection was received from the Longwood Center for Visual Arts (LCVA) via Janet Lundy on August 24, 2006.

Scope and Content
This collection consists of personal and biographical items from the life and professorship of Barbara L. Bishop. These items are categorized under the following headings:

         • Biographical Documents

         • Framed Certificates, Diplomas, and Pictures

         • Longwood Commemorative Pewter and Boxes

Size
This collections consists of 1.25 linear feet contained in 1 bankers-sized archival box.

Notes
There are no restriction to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1

Biographical Documents

            Letter from Longwood College Employee Relations to Mrs. Mary H. Bishop; May 22, 1991 (originally located in retirement gift box)

            Framed Certificates, Diplomas

                        Certificate of Alpha Kappa Gamma Initiation (Leadership in Womanly Service); November 3, 1958

                        Certificate of Pi Delta Epsilon Initiation (Journalism Fraternity); April 6, 1959

                        Certificate of Alpha Gamma Delta Fraternity Initiation (Circus); October 10, 1959

                        Certificate of Who’s Who among Students; 1959-1960 Edition

                        Certificate of Longwood College Faculty Colloquium; “The Print Revolution: Freedom from Past Tradition,” September 1976

                        Diploma from Jefferson Senior High School in Roanoke, VA; 1956

                        Master of Fine Arts Diploma from the University of North Carolina; 1962

                        Crest of Alpha Gamma Delta Fraternity

            Longwood Commemorative Pewter and Boxes

                        Pewter

                        Longwood College commemorative dish (engraved: Barbara Bishop, Longwood College, 1965-1990

                        Longwood College Virginia Cup (engraved: Rotunda Emblem and Endowment Society)

                        Candlestick Holder (engraved: AΓΔ)

                        Mug (engraved: Faculty ’64; verso: Barbara)

                        Chalice (engraved: Barbara L. Bishop; verso: Many Many Thanks For Everything, Your Advisees; 1973

                        Boxes

         Student Faculty Award wooden box and medallion

a. Engraving on plaque on box:

i. Student Faculty Award presented to Barbara L. Bishop in recognition of professional excellence and devoted service to students 1972

b. Engraving on Rotunda medallion (with blue and white striped ribbon):

i. Longwood College; Farmville; 1839; Virginia

ii. verso: Student Faculty Award presented to Barbara L. Bishop in recognition of professional excellence and devoted service to students 1972

Jarman Society Faculty Award wooden box

a. Inscription on plaque on box:

i. The Jarman Society of Longwood College honors Barbara L. Bishop for her beneficence as a member of The President's Society 1985

   Photographs

        Located in Binder 1:

               006.001 – Jefferson Senior High School Girls Varsity Volleyball Team, 1955-1956*

               006.002 – Circus Court, 1959*

               006.003 – Theta Sigma Upsilon Officers, 1959*

               006.004 – Dorothy Boswell, Virginian (yearbook) Business Manager, 1959*

               006.005 – 1959 Virginian Staff*

           *Denotes photo has been digitized.

 

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives