Virginia Bedford Collection
LU-005

Information about the Collection
Virginia Bedford was born in Columbia, Missouri in 1905. She earned a B.S. degree in Fine Arts from the University of Missouri in 1927 and her M.A. in Fine Arts from the Teachers College of Columbia, Missouri in 1931. Ms. Bedford joined the faculty at the State Teachers College at Farmville as an instructor in art in 1928. She was appointed chair of the department in 1942 and served in this position until her retirement in 1972.

Under Ms. Bedford’s leadership, the Art Department at the State Teachers College (Longwood) expanded dramatically, growing in both faculty and students. In 1971, the new art building, Bedford Hall, was dedicated in her honor. Consequently, she was the first person in the history of Longwood University to have a building named in their honor while still teaching.

Provenance
The materials in this collection were transferred from the Art Department to the archives in 2008.

Scope and Content
This collection includes newspaper articles about Ms. Bedford, information about the dedication of the Bedford Art Building, programs and posters related to her life and work, and a few photographs.

Size
The Virginia Bedford Collection consists of .65 linear feet contained in (1) archival box.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1: Articles, Biographical Information, Building Dedication

Folders 1&2 – Newspaper Articles, miscellaneous

Folder 3 – Press Releases (Longwood Public Relations)

Folder 4 – Correspondence (1970) – re: Bedford Dedication and Retirement as Chairperson of Art Department

Folders 5&6 – Bedford Building – information related to the dedication

Folder 7 – Longwood Programs – letters related to the dedication and Ms. Bedford’s status as Professor Emeritus

Folder 8 – Speech related to the naming and dedication of the art building

Folder 9 – Programs and posters related to her life and work

Folders 10&11 – miscellaneous

   Photographs

Located in Binder 1:

005.001 – Virginia Bedford in classroom.*

005.002 – Virginia Bedford in studio. *

005.003 – Bedford Hall, unknown year.*

005.004 – Bedford Hall, 1971.*

005.005 – slide, labeled “Home, Bedford Breakfast”

005.006 – slide, labeled “Founders Day, 1971, Clyde & Virginia Bedford”

005.007 – slide, labeled “Founders Day, 1971, Bedford Sisters, Clyde, & Ginny

005.008 – Barbara Bishop and Virginia Bedford*

005.009 – Barbara Bishop and Virginia Bedford*

005.010 – Art Department, 1970s*

005.011 – Nancy Leitch with sculpture.*

005.012 – Large group of people at Bedford Hall dedication.

005.013 – Virginia Bedford at Bedford Hall dedication.*

005.014 – Virginia Bedford and Helen Draper at Bedford Hall dedication.*

005.015 – Virginia Bedford, Charles Patterson, and Helen Savage at Bedford Hall dedication.*

005.016 – Virginia Bedford, Barbara Bishop, and Walter Hathaway at Bedford Hall dedication.*

005.017 – Virginia Bedford at Bedford Hall dedication.*

005.018 – Virginia Bedford at Bedford Hall dedication reception.*

005.019 – Virginia Bedford at Bedford Hall dedication reception.*

005.020 – Virginia Bedford at Bedford Hall dedication reception.*

005.021 – Virginia Bedford at Bedford Hall dedication reception.*

005.022 – Virginia Bedford and Helen Bedford.*

005.023 – Virginia Bedford and Clyde Rawls*.

005.024 – Helen Bedford and Mrs. Blanche Hanbury.*

005.025 – Clyde Rawls, Helen Bedford, and Ginny Rawls.*

005.026 – (L to R): Ginny Rawls, Anne Jeffers, Virginia Bedford, Blanche Hanbury, Helen Bedford, Clyde Rawls.*

005.027 – (L to R): Anne Jeffers, Blanche Hanbury, George Jeffers.*

005.028 – George Jeffers*

005.029 – Helen Bedford, Virginia Bedford, Blanche Hanbury, Grace Rawls, Ginny Rawls, Clyde Rawls at George Jeffers home.*

005.030 – Helen Bedford at Jeffers home.*

005.031 – Helen Bedford, Clyde Rawls, Virginia Bedford at Founders Day luncheon.*

005.032 – Virginia Bedford at Founders Day luncheon.*

005.033 – Enamels by Virginia Bedford, display 1966.

005.034 – Ruffner Hall.

005.035 – Ruffner Hall.

005.036 – Ruffner Hall, Confederate Memorial in foreground (ca. 1950s)*

005.037 - Wynne Campus School*

*Denotes photo has been digitized.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives