Richard T. Couture Collection
LU-004

Information about the Collection
Richard T. Couture was born in San Pedro, California in 1935. He received his B.A. from William and Mary in 1958 and received his M.A. in history from the University of Virginia in 1959. In 1966 Couture began teaching history at Longwood College. He is the author of five books: Powhatan: A Bicentennial History, Charlie’s Letter: The Correspondence of Charles E. DeNoon, To Preserve and Protect: A History of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, The Gresham Papers: What Think You of That?, and The Jarman Legacy. Couture retired from the faculty at Longwood University in 1999 but continued to work as a researcher and writer in residence at the Greenwood Library until his death in February of 2003.

Provenance
The materials in this collection came into the Greenwood Library Archives in the early 2000s, during the time when Couture was doing research at the library.

Scope and Content

This collection consists of materials dating from the mid to late 19th century through the 20th century. The bulk of the collection is research materials collected by Couture during the writing of his several books. Boxes 1-8 contain research, draft manuscripts, and the final manuscript of Couture’s Powhatan: A Bicentennial History and are organized by chapter. Boxes 9-13 contain research, draft manuscripts, and the final manuscript of The Jarman Legacy and are organized by chapter. Boxes 14 and 15 contain research and drafts of To Preserve and Protect. Box 16 contains drafts of Charlies Letters and are organized by chapter. Boxes 17-19 contain draft manuscripts of Couture’s unpublished book The Bolling Diaries and are organized by year. Box 20-28 contain Couture’s footnotes and the corresponding research for The Bolling Diaries and are organized numerically. Box 29 contains manuscripts of The Gresham Papers and is organized chronologically. Box 30 contains Couture’s unpublished manuscript The History of Longwood and is organized by chapter. Box 31 the two oversize folders contain copies of Couture’s published works and various memorabilia he collected.

Size
This collection consists of 13 linear feet contained in 26 legal-sized Hollinger boxes, 5 banker’s boxes, and 2 oversize folders.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 31: Powhatan, Original Manuscript

Folder 1 – Preface

Folder 2 – Chapter 1, Indians

Folders 3-4 – Chapter 2, Huguenots

Folders 5-8 – Chapter 3, Pre-Powhatan

Folders 9-10 – Chapter 4, The Revolution

Folders 10 – Chapter 5, Post-Revolution

Folders 11-12 – Chapter 6, Five Powhatan Worthies   

Folder 13 – Chapter 7, Crime in the 19th Century

Folders 14-15 – Chapter 8, Jefferson

Folders 16-17 – Chapter 9, Black History, 1770-1970

Folders 18-19 – Chapter 10, Courthouse, Jail, and Treasurer’s Office

   Box 2 of 31: Powhatan, Original Manuscript (cont.)

Folders 1-2 – Chapter 11, Civil War

Folders 3-4 – Chapter 12, Reconstruction

Folder 5 – Chapter 13, Transportation: Ferries and Bridges

Folders 6-7 – Chapter 14, Transportation: Roads and Railroads

Folder 8 – Chapter 15, Business and Industry

Folders 9-10 – Chapter 16, Schools and Education

Folder 11 – Chapter 17, Pensions, Poor, and Programs

Folder 12 – Chapter 18, Crime (Part II)

Folder 13 – Chapter 19, Powhatan Politics

Folder 14 – Chapter 20, Since 1941

Folder 15 – Chapter 21, A Powhatan Miscellany: Taxes, Map, Weights, Music, and Animals

Folder 16 – Chapter 22, History of History

Folder 17 – Bibliography

Folder 18 – Appendix B

Folder 19 – Appendix C

Folder 20 – Appendix D

Folder 21 – Appendix F

Folders 22-28 – Index

   Box 3 of 31: Powhatan, Second Manuscript

Folder 1 – Preface/Forward

Folder 2 – Chapter 1, Monocan Indians

Folders 3-4 – Chapter 2, Huguenots

Folder 5 – Chapter 3, Powhatan 1700-1777

Folders 6-7 – Chapter 4, Revolution

Folder 8 – Chapter 5, After the War

Folders 9-12 – Chapter 6, Five Powhatan Worthies

Folder 13 – Chapter 7, Crime in the 19th Century

Folder 14 – Chapter 8, Jefferson

Folders 15-16 – Chapter 9, Black History 1770-1970

Folders 17-19 – Chapter 10, Courthouse, Jail Clerk’s Office

Folders 20-21 – Chapter 11, Civil War

Folder 22 – Chapter 12, Reconstruction

   Box 4 of 31: Powhatan, Second Manuscript (cont.)

Folder 1 – Chapter 12, Reconstruction

Folders 2-3 – Chapter 13, Transportation: Ferries and Bridges

Folders 4-5 – Chapter 14, Transportation: Road and Railroad

Folders 6-7 – Chapter 15, Business and Industry

Folders 8-10 – Chapter 16, Schools

Folders 11-12 – Chapter 17, Poor, Medicines, and Pensions

Folder 13 – Chapter 18, Crime (Part II)

Folders 14-15 – Chapter 19, Powhatan Politics

Folder 16 – Chapter 20, Since 1941

Folder 17 – Chapter 21, Miscellany

Folder 18 – Chapter 22, A History of History

Folder 19 – Appendix A

Folder 20 – Appendix B

Folder 21 – Appendix C

Folder 22 – Appendix D

Folder 23 – Appendix E

Folder 24 – Appendix F

Folder 25 – Bibliography

Folders 26-31 – Index 

   Box 5 of 31: Powhatan, Third Manuscript

Folder 1 – Forward

Folder 2 – Chapter 1, Monocan Indians

Folders 3-4 – Chapter 2, Huguenots

Folders 5-6 – Chapter 3, Powhatan 1770-1777

Folders 7-8 – Chapter 5, After the War

Folder 9 – Chapter 7, 19th Century Crime

Folder 10 – Chapter 8, Jefferson

Folder 11-12 – Chapter 9, Black History

Folders 13-15 – Chapter 10, Courthouse, Jail Clerk, and Treasurer

   Box 6 of 31: Powhatan, Third Manuscript (cont.)

Folders 1-2 – Chapter 11, Civil War

Folders 3-4 – Chapter 12, Reconstruction

Folders 5-6 – Chapter 15, Business

Folders 7-9 – Chapter 16, Schools

Folders 10-11 – Chapter 17, Poor, Pensions, Programs

Folder 12 – Chapter 18, Crime (Part II)

Folders 13-14 – Chapter 19, Powhatan Politics

Folder 15 – Chapter 20, Since 1941

Folder 16 – Chapter 21, Miscellany

Folder 17 – Chapter 22, A History of History

Folder 18 – Bibliography

Folder 19 – Uncorrected Proofs

   Box 7 of 31: Powhatan, Final Manuscript

Folder 1 – Chapter 1, The Monocan Indians

Folders 2-5 – Chapter 2, The Huguenots

Folders 6-10 – Chapter 3, Powhatan 1770-1777

Folder 11-15 – Chapter 6, Five Powhatan Worthies

   Box 8 of 31: Powhatan, Final Manuscript (cont.)

Folders 1-2 – Chapter 6, Five Powhatan Worthies

Folders 3-5 – Chapter 7, 19th Century Crime

Folder 6 – Chapter 8, Jefferson

Folders 7-14 – Chapter 9, Black History 1770-1970

Folders 15-16 – Bibliography

Folder 17 – Galley Proofs

   Box 9 of 31: The Jarman Legacy, manuscript

Folder 1 – Appendix A, edited

Folder 2 – Appendix B, edited

Folder 3 – Appendix C, edited

Folder 4 – Appendix D, edited

Folder 5 – Appendix E, edited

Folder 6 – Appendix F, edited

Folder 7 – Appendix G, edited

Folder 8 – Appendix H, edited

Folder 9 – Appendix I, edited

Folder 10 – Appendix J, edited

Folder 11 – Appendix K, edited

Folder 12 – Appendix L, edited

Folder 13 – Appendix M, edited

Folder 14 – Appendix N, edited

Folder 15 – Appendix O, edited

Folder 16 – Appendix P, edited

Folder 17 – Appendix Q, edited

Folder 18 – Appendix R, edited

Folder 19 – Appendix S, edited

Folder 20 – Appendix T, edited

Folder 21 – Bibliography

Folder 22 – Chapter 1, edited

Folder 23 – Chapter 2, edited

Folder 24 – Chapter 3, edited

Folder 25 – Chapter 4, edited

Folder 26 – Chapter 5, edited

Folder 27 – Chapter 5, unedited

Folder 28 – Chapter 6, edited

Folder 29 – Chapter 7, edited

Folder 30 – Chapter 8, edited

Folder 31 – Chapter 8, old edit

Folder 32 – Chapter 9, edited

Folder 33 – Chapter 9, unedited

Folder 34 – Chapter 10, edited

Folder 35 – Chapter 10, unedited

Folder 36 – Chapter 11, edited

Folder 37 – Chapter 11, unedited

Folder 38 – Chapter 12, edited

Folder 39 – Chapter 12, unedited

Folder 40 – Chapter 13, edited

Folder 41 – Chapter 13, unedited

Folder 42 – Chapter 14, edited

Folder 43 – Chapter 14, unedited

   Box 10 of 31: The Jarman Legacy, research materials

Folder 1 – 1915

Folder 2 – 1921

Folder 3 – 1922

Folder 4 – 1923

Folder 5 – 1924

Folder 6 – 1925

Folder 7 – 1926

Folder 8 – 1927

Folder 9 – 1928

Folder 10 – 1929

Folder 11 – 1930

Folder 12 – 1931

Folder 13 – 1932

Folder 14 – 1933

Folder 15 – 1934

Folder 16 – 1935

Folder 17 – 1936

Folder 18 – 1937

Folder 19 – 1938

Folder 20 – 1939

Folder 21 – 1940

Folder 22 – 1941

Folder 23 – 1942

Folder 24 – 1943

Folder 25 – 1944

Folder 26 – 1945

Folder 27 – 1946

Folder 28 – 1947

Folder 29 – 1948

Folder 30 – photographs, miscellaneous

Folder 31 – State Teacher’s College pictures

   Box 11 of 31: The Jarman Legacy, research notes

Folder 1 – Appendices

Folder 2 – Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities

Folder 3 – Bibliography

Folder 4 – Chapter 10, notes

Folder 5 – Chapter 11, notes

Folders 6-7 – Chapter 12, notes

Folder 8 – Chapter 13, notes

Folder 9 – Chapter 14, notes

Folder 10 – B.M. Cox

Folder 11 – Entertainment, 1920-1925

Folder 12 – Emory and Henry College, Board of Trustees, meeting minutes

Folder 13 – Emory and Henry College, course catalog, 1890

Folder 14 – Emory and Henry College, footnotes

Folder 15 – Emory and Henry College, letter from Jas. Miller, 1933

Folder 16 – Emory and Henry College, letter for parents, 1854

Folder 17 – Emory and Henry College, faculty meeting minutes

Folder 18 – Emory and Henry College, pictures

Folder 19 – Betty Hardy

Folder 20 – Fire, 1924

Folder 21 – Dr. and Mrs. Hardy

Folder 22 – Helen Wiley Hardy

Folder 23 – Sara Hardy

Folder 24 – Dr. T.G. Hardy

Folder 25 – Tom G. Hardy, Jr.

Folder 26 – Farmville Herald, 1904

Folder 27 – Farmville Herald, 1905

Folder 28 – Farmville Herald, 1906

Folder 29 – Farmville Herald, 1907

Folder 30 – Farmville Herald, 1908

Folder 31 – Farmville Herald, 1909

Folder 32 – Farmville Herald, 1910

Folder 33 – Farmville Herald, 1911

Folder 34 – Farmville Herald, 1912

Folder 35 – Farmville Herald, 1913

Folder 36 – Farmville Herald, 1914

Folder 37 – Farmville Herald, 1915

Folder 38 – Farmville Herald, 1916

Folder 39 – Farmville Herald, 1917

Folder 40 – Farmville Herald, 1918

Folder 41 – Farmville Herald, 1919

Folder 42 – Farmville Herald, 1920

Folder 43 – Farmville Herald, 1921

Folder 44 – Farmville Herald, 1922

Folder 45 – Farmville Herald, 1923

Folder 46 – Farmville Herald, 1924

Folder 47 – Farmville Herald, 1925

Folder 48 – Farmville Herald, 1926

Folder 49 – Farmville Herald, 1927

Folder 50 – Farmville Herald, 1928

Folder 51 – Farmville Herald, 1929

Folder 52 – Farmville Herald, 1930

Folder 53 – Farmville Herald, 1931

Folder 54 – Farmville Herald, 1932

Folder 55 – Farmville Herald, 1933

Folder 56 – Farmville Herald, 1934

Folder 57 – Farmville Herald, 1935

Folder 58 – Farmville Herald, 1936

Folder 59 – Farmville Herald, 1937

Folder 60 – Farmville Herald, 1938

Folder 61 – Farmville Herald, 1939

Folder 62 – Farmville Herald, 1940

Folder 63 – Farmville Herald, 1941

Folder 64 – Farmville Herald, 1942

Folder 65 – Farmville Herald, 1943

   Box 12 of 31: The Jarman Legacy, research notes (cont.)

            Folder 1 – Farmville Herald, 1944

            Folder 2 – Farmville Herald, 1945

            Folder 3 – Farmville Herald, 1946

            Folder 4 – Farmville Herald, 1947

            Folder 5 – re: hospital

            Folder 6 – re: Hotel Weyanoke, 1924-1925

            Folder 7 – Jarman, brief biographical sketch

            Folder 8 – re: Jarman leaving Emory and Henry

            Folder 9 – Jarman clippings, 1902

            Folder 10 – Jarman clippings, 1903

            Folder 11 – Jarman, 1914

            Folder 12 – Jarman, WWI

            Folder 13 – Jarman clippings, 1915

            Folder 14 – Jarman clippings, 1920-1925

            Folder 15 – Jarman, pictures, 1912-1922

            Folder 16 – Founders Day, 1927

            Folder 17 – correspondence re: VA Cooperative Education Committee, 1928

            Folder 18 – Jarman correspondence, 1929

            Folder 19 – Jarman, clippings and correspondence, 1930

            Folder 20 – Jarman, correspondence, 1931

            Folder 21 – Jarman, correspondence, 1932

            Folder 22 – Jarman, correspondence, 1934

            Folder 23 – Jarman, clippings, 1938

            Folder 24 – Jarman, clippings, 1939

            Folder 25 – Jarman, clippings, 1940

            Folder 26 – Jarman, clippings, 1942

            Folder 27 – Jarman, clippings, 1943

            Folder 28 – Jarman, clippings, 1947

            Folder 29 – The Jarman Legacy, discarded chapters

            Folder 30 – Jarman, political connections

            Folder 31 – Jarman, tribute from Virginia State Board of Education, 1944

            Folder 32 – Jarman, tribute from Public Schools, 1944

            Folder 33 – Jarman, retirement, 1944

            Folder 34 – Jarman, tribute from faculty, 1944

            Folder 35 – Jarman, tribute dinner, 1944

            Folder 36 – Jarman, tributes from other college presidents, 1944

            Folder 37 – Jarman, tributes from churches, 1944

            Folder 38 – Jarman, tributes from Alumnae, 1944

            Folder 39 – Jarman, clippings, 1945

            Folder 40 – remarks by William Neff, 1951

            Folder 41 – Farmville Methodist Church, bulletin, 1956

            Folder 42 – Jarman, clippings, 1967

            Folder 43 – Elizabeth Jarman, clippings

            Folder 44 – Emerson W. Jarman, clippings

            Folder 45 – Helen Jarman, clippings, 1919

            Folder 46 – Henry D. Jarman, clippings

            Folder 47 – James E. Jarman, clippings

            Folder 48 – Joe Jarman, Jr., clippings

            Folder 49 – William Dabney Jarman, clippings

            Folder 50 – transcript: Couture interview with William Dabney Jarman

            Folder 51 – research notes, miscellaneous

            Folder 52 – Mrs. J.L. Jarman

            Folder 53 – Mrs. William Dabney Jarman, 1955

            Folder 54 – Wiley Jarman, clippings, 1950s

            Folder 55 – Jarman family members buried in Farmville, VA

            Folder 56 – Dr. Jeffers (marriage announcement and obituary)

            Folder 57 – lectures, 1920-1925

            Folder 58 – Longwood House

            Folder 59 – Martha Washington College Catalog, 1907

            Folder 60 – John Powell

            Folder 61 – Jarman, Primer Inter Pares, 1946

            Folder 62 – Jarman, reasons for not leaving State Teachers College

            Folder 63 – miscellaneous, State Teachers College, clippings, 1920-1925

            Folder 64 – The Virginia Journal of Education

                                    October 1917

                                    December 1917

                                    March 1918

                                    October 1918

                                    November 1918

            Folder 65 – An Address by E.E. Wiley, 1845

            Folder 66 – Student Building, 1920-1924

            Folder 67 – E.E. Wiley, children

            Folder 68 – Elizabeth Hammond Wiley, photograph (copy)

            Folder 69 – Elizabeth Reeves Wiley

            Folder 70 – E.E. Wiley, correspondence

            Folder 71 – E.E. Wiley, miscellaneous

            Folder 72 – E.E. Wiley, picture and Alumni House, pictures

   Box 13 of 31: The Jarman Legacy and Longwood: A History

            Folder 1 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 1, unedited

            Folder 2 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 2, unedited

            Folder 3 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 3, unedited

            Folder 4 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 3, notes

            Folder 5 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 4, unedited

            Folder 6 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 4, notes

            Folder 7 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 5, unedited

            Folder 8 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 5, notes

            Folder 9 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 6, unedited

            Folder 10 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 7, unedited

            Folder 11 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 7, notes

            Folder 12 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 8, unedited

            Folder 13 – The Jarman Legacy, chapter 9, notes

            Folder 14 – Longwood: A History, manuscript

            Folder 15 – Longwood: A History, notes

            Folder 16 – Longwood: A History, research, Healy

            Folder 17 – Longwood: A History, research, Dorrill

            Folder 18 – Longwood: A History, research materials, miscellaneous

            Folder 19 – Longwood, inventory

            Folder 20 – Special Longwood History

            Folder 21 – Longwood: A History, research, Farmville Female College, 1875

            Folder 22 – Descriptive Study of the Teacher Education Curriculum at the State Normal School at Farmville, Virginia, 1884-1927

   Box 14 of 31: To Preserve and Protect – Manuscript and Research

            Folders 1-5 – Miscellaneous

            Folder 6 – Admissions-Receipt and Bank Building-Petersburg

            Folders 7-10 – Bibliography and Appendix

            Folders 11-13 – APVA, reports

            Folder 14 – Cape Henry Lighthouse

            Folder 15 – Introduction

            Folder 16-18 – Chapter 1

            Folders 19-20 – Chapter 2

            Folders 21-22 – Chapter 3

            Folders 23-24 – Chapter 4, John Marshall

            Folders 25-27 – Chapter 5, Houses Unoccupied

            Folders 28-30 – Chapter 6

            Folder 31 – Chapter 7

            Folders 32-33 – Chapter 8

            Folders 34-35 – Chapter 9

            Folders 36-38 – Chapter 10

   Box 15 of 31: To Preserve and Protect – Manuscript and Reses

            Folders 1-2 – Rolfe House

            Folder 3 – Shackelford Interview

            Folder 4 – Scotchtown, 1965

            Folder 5 – Shelton House, 1957 and Smithfield, 1960

            Folders 6-8 – Tablets and Markers

            Folder 9 – Tobacco Warehouse, 1938

            Folder 10 – Various APVA Projects and Projects Turned Down

            Folder 11 – William Byrd Branch and Properties, 1935

            Folder 12-15 – Williamsburg Properties

            Folder 16 – Wishart House, 1971

            Folder 17-21 – Year Books

            Folder 22 – Corrected Manuscript, Chapters 1-6

            Folder 23 – Corrected Manuscript, Chapters 7-12

            Folder 24 – Corrected Manuscript, Chapter 13-Appendix II

   Box 16 of 31: Charlie’s Letters – Manuscript

            Folder 1 – Forward, Introductions, and Bibliography

            Folder 2 – Title Page

            Folders 3-4 – Chapter 1, Family Business

            Folders 5-9 – Chapter 2, Charlies Joins the Fight

            Folders 10-16 – Chapter 3, A Round of Battle

            Folders 17-19 – Chapter 4, Departure from Home

            Folder 20 – Charlies Letters, complete manuscript

            Folder 21 – Charlie’s Letters: The Correspondence of Charles E. DeNoon

   Box 17 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Manuscript and Notes 1794-1828

            Folder 1 – 1794, manuscript and notes

            Folder 2 – 1795, manuscript and notes

            Folder 3 – 1809, manuscript and notes

            Folder 4 – 1827, manuscript and notes

            Folder 5 – 1828, manuscript and notes

   Box 18 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Manuscript and Notes 1836-1840

            Folder 1 – 1836, manuscript and notes

            Folder 2 – 1837, manuscript and notes

            Folder 3 – 1838, manuscript and notes

            Folder 4 – 1839, manuscript and notes

            Folder 5 – 1840, manuscript and notes

   Box 19 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Manuscript and Notes 1841-1842

            Folder 1 – 1841, manuscript and notes

            Folder 2 – 1842, manuscript and notes

            Folder 3 – manuscript, bibliography

            Folder 4 – Bolling Diaries, transcript

            Folder 5 – Bolling Diaries, 1794-1828 (unedited)

            Folder 6 – Bolling Diaries, 1794-1795 (edited)

            Folder 7 – Bolling Diaries, 1809 (edited)

            Folder 8 – Bolling Diaries, 1827 (edited)

            Folder 9 – Bolling Diaries, 1828 (edited)

            Folder 10 – Bolling Diaries, 1836 (edited)

   Box 20 of 31: Bolling Diaries – List of Notes and Footnotes with Research

            Folder 1 – List of Footnotes, #1-1306

            Folder 2 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1-70

            Folder 3 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #71-99

            Folder 4 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #100-115

            Folder 5 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #116-130

   Box 21 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Footnotes with Research, #131-250

            Folder 1 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #131-150

            Folder 2 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #151-175

            Folder 3 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #175-199

            Folder 4 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #200-235

            Folder 5 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #236-250

   Box 22 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Footnotes with Research, #251-425

            Folder 1 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #251-299

            Folder 2 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #300-350

            Folder 3 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #351-399

            Folder 4 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #400-425

   Box 23 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Footnotes with Research, #426-599

            Folder 1 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #426-470

            Folder 2 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #471-499

            Folder 3 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #500-550

            Folder 4 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #551-599

   Box 24 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Footnotes with Research, #600-899

            Folder 1 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #600-650

            Folder 2 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #651-699

            Folder 3 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #700-799

            Folder 4 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #800-899

   Box 25 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Footnotes with Research, #900-1200s

            Folder 1 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #900-999

            Folder 2 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1000-1099

            Folder 3 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1100-1199

            Folder 4 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1200s (multiple notes missing)

   Box 26 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Footnotes with Research, #1300-1599

            Folder 1 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1300-1399 (multiple notes missing)

            Folder 2 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1400-1450

            Folder 3 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1451-1499 (multiple notes missing)

            Folder 4 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1500-1599

   Box 27 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Footnotes with Research, #1600-1787

            Folder 1 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1600-1650

            Folder 2 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1651-1699

            Folder 3 – Footnotes with Corresponding Research, #1700-1787

            Folder 4 – unnumbered footnotes with corresponding research

   Box 28 of 31: Bolling Diaries – Research

            Folder 1 – research, miscellaneous

            Folder 2 – “Wise’s Digested Index and Genealogical Guide to Bishop Meade’s Old Churches, Ministers, and Families of Virginia”

            Folder 3 – Goochland County map, 1863

            Folder 4 – “Prince George County Records, 1733-1792”

            Folder 5 – “A Guide to Prince George and Hopewell”

            Folder 6 – Bolling Family Genealogy

            Folder 7 – “Index to Wills in Goochland County”

            Folder 8 – “Old Homes and Buildings of Amelia County”

            Folder 9 – Chesterfield County

            Folder 10 – “The Descendant Story of Matoaka Pocahantas Powhatan”

            Folder 11 – re: plantation homes

            Folder 12 – “Virginia Baptist Ministers, 3rd Series”

            Folder 13 – “History of James River and Kanawha County”

            Folder 14 – “Epitaphs of Gloucester and Mathews Counties”

            Folder 15 – “Colonial Families of the Southern States”

            Folder 16 – Thomas Bolling, last will and testament

   Box 29 of 31: The Gresham Papers, manuscripts and research

            Folder 1 – miscellaneous materials and letters (1/2)

            Folder 2 – miscellaneous materials and letters (2/2)

            Folder 3 – correspondence of Laura M. Jones-Gresham

            Folder 4 – correspondence, 1846 (copy)

            Folder 5 – correspondence, 1858 (transcription)

            Folder 6 – correspondence, 1860 (transcription)

            Folder 7 – correspondence, 1862 (copies and transcriptions)

            Folder 8 – correspondence, 1864 (transcriptions)

            Folder 9 – correspondence, 1865 (transcriptions)

            Folder 10 – correspondence, 1866 (transcriptions)

            Folder 11 – correspondence, 1871 (copy and transcription)

            Folder 12 – correspondence, 1874 (copy)

            Folder 13 – correspondence, 1890 (transcribed)

            Folder 14 – correspondence, 1891 (transcribed)

            Folder 15 – correspondence, 1892 (transcribed)

            Folder 16 – correspondence, 1898 (copies and transcriptions)

            Folder 17 – correspondence, 1900 (transcribed)

            Folder 18 – correspondence, 1902 (transcribed)

            Folder 19 – correspondence, 1905 (transcribed)

            Folder 20 – correspondence, 1910 (transcribed)

            Folder 21 – correspondence, 1912 and Laura Gresham, obituary

            Folder 22 – letters to “Pug”

            Folder 23 – copies of envelopes

            Folder 24 – Henry Gresham, contracts and deeds

            Folder 25 – Henry Gresham, Confederate Army reports (copies and transcriptions)

            Folder 26 – Henry Gresham, fire insurance policies

            Folder 27 – Gresham Family Genealogy, notes

            Folder 28 – Jones Road Dispute, arbitration

            Folder 29 – Essex County Maps and plat maps

            Folder 30 – “Reminiscences of Plantation Life in Virginia” Lalla Gresham Ball

            Folder 31 – re: Planter’s Hotel, Fredericksburg, Va.

            Folder 32 – Henry Gresham, poems and sermons

            Folder 33 – footnotes, original

            Folder 34 – footnotes, miscellaneous research

            Folder 35 – footnotes, “current copy”

            Folder 36 – The Gresham Papers, manuscript, working copy

            Folder 37 – The Gresham Papers, manuscript, copy

            Folder 38 – The Gresham Papers, manuscript, photo inserts

            Folder 39 – The Gresham Papers, original manuscript

            Folder 40 – The Gresham Papers, manuscript with editing marks

            Folder 41 – The Gresham Papers, rough proof

            Folder 42 – The Gresham Papers, final manuscript

   Box 30 of 31: The History of Longwood College, unpublished manuscript

            Folder 1 – Introduction/Preface

            Folder 2 – Chapter 1, “Somtime around 1839”

            Folder 3 – Chapter 2, “George LaMonte and Arnaud Preot, 1858-1869”

            Folder 4 – Chapter 3, “A Period of Praise”

            Folder 5 – Chapter 4, “Ruffner, Cunningham, and Frazer”

            Folder 6 – Chapter 5, “Jarman Part I, 1902-1931”

            Folder 7 – Chapter 6, “Longwood Estate”

            Folder 8 – Chapter 7, “Alma Mater, Social Life”

            Folder 9 – Chapter 8, “Jarman Part II, 1931-1946”

            Folder 10 – Chapter 9, “Brains and Heart”

            Folder 11 – Chapter 10, “Lancaster, First Things First”

            Folder 12 – Chapter 11, “Lankford, A House Without Stairs”

            Folder 13 – Chapter 12, “Visitors to Longwood”

            Folder 14 – Chapter 13, “The Willett Years”

            Folder 15 – Chapter 14, “Faculty/Staff”

            Folder 16 – Chapter 15, “Students and Alum”

            Folder 17 – Chapter 16, “Fine and Performing Arts”

            Folder 18 – Chapter 17, “Greenwood”

            Folder 19 – Chapter 18, “Since Then”

            Folder 20 – Chapter 19, “Some Interesting Things”

            Folder 21 – Bibliography

   Box 31 of 31: Published Works and Memorabilia

              The Gresham Papers

              Powhatan: A Bicentennial History

              Charlie’s Letters

To Preserve and Protect: A History of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities

Folder 1 – Election Ballots, 20th Century (multiple years)

Folder 2 – Election Ballots/Electoral Tickets, 19th Century

Folder 3 – County Election Ballots (dates unknown)

Folder 4 – Letter from Alexander Brown to P.S. Miller, Esq., 1895

Folder 5 – Correspondence between Woodrow Wilson and Rev. A.M. Frazer (1903-1922)

Folder 6 – Memorabilia, Presidential Campaign Buttons (Gas Station Promotion)

  Folder 7 – Memorabilia, Confederate Currency, 1861-1863 ($5, $10, $20, and $50)

  Folder 8 – Memorabilia, Douglas Southall Freeman, newspaper clippings

   Oversize Folders

Folder 1 of 2 – Election Ballots

November 3, 1896 (x3)

November 6, 1900

November 4, 1924 (x2)

November 3, 1925

November 8, 1927

June 19, 1928 (x2)

November 6, 1928 (x2)

November 8, 1932 (x3)

October 3, 1933 (x2)

November 5, 1940

August 5, 1941

November 2, 1943

November 2, 1948

November 5, 1968

Folder 2 of 2 – Richmond Times Dispatch

Article re: Battle of Manassas, 1961

Special Educational Edition re: Civil War

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives