Francis Butler Simkins Collection LU-003
Information about the Collection
Francis Butler Simkins was a professor of history at Longwood from 1928 to 1966. During his years at Longwood, he was also an energetic researcher and prolific author. He wrote two books on Ben Tillman, The Tillman Movement in South Carolina (1926) and Pitchfork Ben Tillman (1944). He also wrote two books with co-authors, South Carolina during Reconstruction (1932) with Robert H. Woody, and The Women of the Confederacy (1936) with James W. Patton. Additionally, with other historians and authors he wrote a successful school history of Virginia. His college text, A History of the South (3rd ed., 1963) was widely used. Some of his essays were collected in The Everlasting South (1963). Dr. Simkins, who passed away in 1966, is still remembered today as a southern historian of great renown.
This collection of papers was given to the History Department at Longwood by Simkins’ wife, Margaret Simkins, in the late 1970s. The papers were housed in the History Department until the summer of 1994 when under the direction of history professor Richard Couture they were transferred to the library.
Scope and Content
This collection consists of 23 boxes of materials related to the life and career of Dr. Francis Butler Simkins. Included in the collection are correspondence, writings, personal and biographical materials and a collection of miscellaneous materials. The collection is divided into the following series:
This collection consists of 12.45 linear feet contained in 23 archival boxes.
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.
Contents of the Collection
American Jewish Congress
Beele, Mr. & Mrs. Howard Kennedy
Barfield, Jr., Claude E.
Berkis, Alexander V.
Bethea, Mrs. C.E. (W. Louisiana Historical Society)
Bettersworth, John K.
Bonner, James C.
Brooke, Estelle (Richmond Women’s Club)
Burnette, Jr., Laurence
Carnathan, Wiley J.
Carter, Franklin I.
Charley (from New York)
Cheney, Jr., O. (Otto) Preston
Childs, Mrs. Arney
Clark, Jr., Ross L.
Clark, Thomas D.
Congdon, Richard T. (see Putnams)
Censtable, John (see Southern Regional Cousin)
Craushore, James H.
Crenshaw, Ollinger (Washington and Lee University)
Davis, Lambert (see University of N.C. Press)
Dougherty, D.B. (see Appalachian State Teachers College)
Ellegood, Donald R. (see Louisiana State University Press)
Ellis, Herbert A.
Encyclopedia Americana and Britannica
Fischer, LeRoy H.
Fishwick, Marshall W.
Haurk, Gordon B.
Goode, Kenneth (Richmond Commonwealth Magazine)
Gossett, Mrs. Thomas F.
Govan, Thomas P. (see University of the South)
Healy, Jr., George W.
Hendricks, James E.
Hennings, (U.S. Carol.)
Highsmith, William E.
Hill, Louse Biles
Hoffman, Donald B. (Phi Alpha Theta)
Hoole, W. Stanley
Holles, Daniel W.
Hubbard, John R.
Jackson, W. Turrantine (University of California)
James, Edward T. (Radcliffe College at Cambridge)
Jones, Lewis P.
Kirwin, A.D. (University of Kentucky)
Kohler, Charlotte (VA Quarterly Review)
Knopf, Alfred A.
Lancaster, Dabney S.
Land, Robert Hunt
Lanford, Jr., Francis G.
Lewis, A.R. (University of Texas)
Lewis, B.M. (Lewis Historical Publishing Co.)
Long, Robert K. (World Book Encyclopedia)
W. Louisiana Historical Society
Martin, Sarah Ann
Miles, Edwin A.
Milleth, Donald J.
Noppen, Iva Van
Osterweis, Rollin G.
Patton, James W.
Prear, Mary (see S. Carolina Historical Commission)
Quint, Howard H.
Roberts, Mrs. W.E.
Robertson, Jr., James I.
Rubin, Louis (The Hopkins Review)
Savage, Jr., Henry
Simkins, Mrs. Francis
Shugg, Roger W. (see A.A. Knopf)
Skipper, Ottis C.
Smith, Laurence L.
Stanford, Peter (see A.A. Knopf)
Stoney, David (see S.C. Educational Television Center)
Tabb, Mary P.
Taylor, Henry P.
Thomas, David N.
Thorp, Willard and Margaret
Trimble, Lee S.
Vieira, David G.
Wall, Bennett H.
Wall, J.B. (Farmville Herald)
Walters, John B.
Wade, John D.
Wardlaw, Frank H.
Warren, Harris G.
Weaver, Richard M.
Webb, Jr., John W.
Wevv, Jr., Thompson
Wiley, Bell I.
Young, James Harvey
Correspondence – unsigned
Virginia History Textbook (draft in typescript)
Virginia: History, Government, Geography [by] Francis Butler Simkins, Spotswood Hunnicutt Jones [and] Sidman P. Poole. Published by Scribner in 1963.
Bibliography PPI – 18 (not complete)
Chapter XXI, pgs. 445-474
Chapter XXII, pgs. 475-496
Chapter XX!!, pgs. 543-562
Chapters XXI-XXII, pgs. 504-535
Chapter XXIII, pgs. 497-518
Chapter XXIII, pgs. 564-586
Chapter XXV, pgs. 543-575
Chapters XXV-XXVI, pgs. 612-645
Chapter XXVI, pgs. 584-594
Chapter XXVI, pgs. 598-606
Chapters XXVI-XXVII, pgs. 647-664
Chapter XXVII, pgs. 664-666
Seaboard South (drafts of random chapters)
Title and Table of Contents
Chapter II, “Spanish Groupings”
Chapter III, “The English Come”
Random chapters related to segregation and reconstruction.
Random chapters/sections of unidentified manuscripts.
Book reviews, articles, essays, and lectures by Simkins.
Unpublished autobiography of Simkins (original document).
Unpublished autobiography of Simkins (photocopy from which copies can be made).
Miscellaneous notes (arranged by topic).
Materials on notable women.
Notes about the Quakers.
European influences on religion.
Religion in Mississippi.
Religion in Georgia.
Religion in Maryland.
Religion in the Carolinas.
Religion in Virginia and other notes on Virginia.
Excerpts from Richard Henry Watkins.
Miscellaneous notes related to writings and publications.
Miscellaneous personal papers.
Papers related to family history.
Contracts (1 of 2)
Contracts (2 of 2)
Royalty statements and related information.
Reviews of Pitchfork Ben Tillman by Simkins.
John H. Dunning Prize
Guggenheim Fellowship awarded to Simkins for book about Jefferson Davis.
Guggenheim Fellowship, general information
Proposal for book about Ben Tillman.
Proposal for book about Jefferson Davis.
Arkansas Historical Association Conference Program, 1949
Social Science Research Council
Southern Historical Society (1 of 3)
Southern Historical Society (2 of 3)
Southern Historical Society (3 of 3)
Virginia Historical Society – membership certificate
Reviews of Simkins’ publications (1 of 3)
Reviews of Simkins’ publications (2 of 3)
Reviews of Simkins’ publications (3 of 3)
Miscellaneous personal papers including notes and correspondence with missing information and/or pages.
Grady McWhiney’s essay about Francis Butler Simkins.
Carter, W.K. – the Farmville House
Financial Records (receipts, insurance forms, taxes, etc.)
Chip Simkins’ college applications.
Draft of Margaret Simkins’ children’s story.
History test given by Dr. Simkins.
Class papers and notes.
Materials of interest to Dr. Simkins.
Text of paper and lecture, “William Tatham: A Unique Little Known Southern Personality.”
Text of paper and lecture, “Geography of the Upland South” given by Gene Wilhelm.
Text of paper and lecture, “Subcultures of the Southern Appalachians” by Helen Matthews Lewis.
Miscellaneous correspondence and information.
Miscellaneous papers including financial records and student papers.
Located in Binder 1:
003.001 - Francis Butler Simkins, passport photo, 1918*
*Denotes photo has been digitized.