Ruth Meese, Photograph Collection
LU-131

Information about the Collection

Dr. Ruth Meese was on the faculty at Longwood University from 1988-2016 where she served as a Professor of Special Education. She received her B.S. from the University of Maryland, a Master’s in Education from Ohio University, and her Ph.D. from the University of Virginia. She developed the special education program at Longwood University and was instrumental in transitioning the four-year program into a five-year program in which students first earn a bachelor’s degree and then a master’s degree. She served as the Ranson Professor of Education from 2005-2008. During her tenure, she helped to develop the Speech, Hearing, and Learning Services program at Longwood University. Dr. Meese also launched the SPED Partnership with Prince Edward County Elementary School and in 2015 expanded the program to include Buckingham Primary and Buckingham Elementary schools. She is the author of five books and numerous articles in peer-reviewed journals and was the recipient of the Fuqua Excellence in Teaching Award (1999 and 2002) and the Maria Bristow Starke Faculty Excellence Award (1997).

Provenance

This collection was donated to the Greenwood Library Archives by Dr. Ruth Meese upon her retirement from the university in 2016.

Scope and Content

This collection consists of 31 photographs and 1 plaque each representing a graduating class (1988-2015) from the SPEF program at Longwood University. The majority of these are inscribed by the graduating students, with some including messages to Dr. Meese.

Size

This collection consists of .6 cubic feet and is contained in (1) legal-sized Hollinger box and (1) over-sized folder.

Notes

There are no restriction on access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1

   Folder 1: 1989

1989 – (2) color photographs, inscribed, “Class of ’89.”

   Folder 2: 1990

1990 – 9”x12” wooden plaque with color photograph. Plaque inscribed, “Presented to Dr. Ruth Meese in Appreciation For Your Love and Support, Longwood Special Ed. 1990.” Additionally, stuck under the border of plaque are: (1) handwritten note and (6) wallet-sized color photographs.

   Folder 3: 1991-1994

1991 – (1) color photograph (inscribed with student names along matting) and cross-stitching that states “Class of 1991.”

1992 – (2) color photographs, inscribed “We Did It, Finally! ’92.”

1993 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting with messages from students.

1994 – 7.5”x9.5” painted frame with color photographs, frame inscribed, “Class of 1994.” Back of frame includes student names.

   Folder 4: 1995-1998

1995 – (1) color photograph. Included is a laminated paper cut-out apple that states on one side, “Master’s Degree, Special Education, Longwood College, May 13, 1995;” opposite side states, “Class of ‘95” and lists student names alphabetically.

1996 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting with student names.

1997 – (1) color photograph.

1998 – 7.5” x 9” frame with color photograph. Attached on bottom, right-hand corner of frame is a painted wooden heart that says “’98.” Written on the back border of frame are student names.

Fall 1998 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting with student names.

   Folder 5: 1999-2008

Spring 1999 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting with student names.

2000 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along top margin of photograph is a list of student names.

2001 – (1) color photograph. 2002 – (1) color photograph.

Spring 2003 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting: “Special Education, Spring 2003.”

2005 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting, “Class of 2005” and lists student names.

2007 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting: “Partnership 2007” and lists student names.

2007-2008 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting: “SPED, Class of 2007-2008” and lists students names. On back of frame, listing of student names L to R.

   Folder 6: 2009-2012

2009 – (1) color photograph.

Fall 2009 – 7”x5” frame with color photograph, inscribed along top border of frame: “Partnership Fall ’09.”

2010 – 5.5”x7.5” frame with color photograph, inscribed along top and bottom border of frame: “Partnership Fall 2010.”

2012 – student-written, “You Know You’re in Grad School When…” rules, signed by three students on bottom margin of paper.

   Folder 7: 2014-2015

2014 – (1) color photograph, inscribed along matting with: “Dr. Meese, Class of 2014” and includes student names.

2015 – (1) color photograph.

   Folder 8: undated

Undated – unframed 5”x3.5” color photograph.

Undated – 3.5”x5” color photograph.

Undated – 5”x6.5” frame with color photograph.

Undated – 5.5”x7.5” frame with black and white photograph.

Undated – 5.5”x7.5” frame with color photograph.

Undated – 9.5”x11.5” frame with color photograph.

   Oversize Folder:

2011 – (1) 14”x18” frame with color photograph, inscribed along matting with “Class of 2011!” and includes messages from students.

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives