LibGuides: Anthropology &amp; Archaeology: Start Here

Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Greenwood Library - 130

434-395-2437

Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Graphic and Animation Design, Chemistry, Criminal Justice, Library Tips and Tools, Mathematics and Computer Science, Music, Newspapers, Physics, Reference and Research, Religion and Spirituality, Sociology, Theatre

Docuseek This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Exclusive academic streaming video from renowned documentary film distributors. The Essential Collection and Complete Collection contain more than 1600 titles.
Films on Demand (Coverage varies) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming videos from the Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational and many others and includes a comprehensive coverage of major fields of knowledge.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive video database covering more than 70,000 titles on anthropology, business, counseling, film health, history, music, and more curated for the educational experience of all types of library patrons.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database for the backfiles of hundreds of full text journals across a wide variety of disciplines. (Backfiles start in the 1800s and end 3-5 years prior to current date.)
Project MUSE - Standard Collection (Coverage varies by journal) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from of nearly 200 journal titles in the humanities and social sciences, with full searching capabilities. Project Muse is provided by Johns Hopkins University Press.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition to nearly 900 full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,500 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
In addition, it also provides data mined from nearly 420 "priority" coverage journals and over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and others.