Skip to main content

Greenwood Library Blog

Black History Month

by Mark Hamilton on 2020-02-17T11:24:00-05:00 in Databases | Comments

In Honor of Black History Month, Greenwood Library is featuring some of our databases and collections that focus on African American history and culture.

Our newest resource

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law 


This link opens in a new window

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

Other resources

 
Access to approximately 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
 
Provides over one million pages of original historical documents pertaining to the African American experience over several centuries, and is richly-detailed with narratives and quantitative data alike.
Contains full-text of approximately 2,500 poems by African-American poets.
New
The Library of Virginia houses local court records, state records, personal papers, business records, newspapers, special collections, books, journals, etc., that date back to the 1600's. Collectively, these records contain the names of millions of African Americans both enslaved and free. These names are access points to the individual stories of African Americans who lived in Virginia from the establishment of slavery in the 1600s until its demise in 1865. Taken as a whole, these individual stories help to shed light on the narrative of a people that has not been fully told.
 
Prince Edward County Histories
These magazines in Digital Commons detail stories of the school closings in Prince Edward County.  

10 Voices 50 Years Later

Their Voices: Our History

All Eyes on Prince Edward County

 
 
 

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...