Alumni and Former Student Vertical Files
ref-333

Information about the Collection
The materials in this collection consist of newspaper clippings, biographical information, correspondence, and photographs related to past Longwood students.

Provenance
‚ÄčThese materials were, and continue to be, collected by Greenwood Library as well as other offices and departments at Longwood University.

Scope and Content
The materials in this collection range in date from 1862 through 2008 and are arranged alphabetically by last name. The photographs in this collection can be located in photograph binder #19, are arranged numerically, and can be identified by the photograph id# included in the description of each image in the finding aid.

Size
This collection consists of 1.0 linear foot contained in (1) archival bankers box.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1

   A - L

Ancey, Yvette

        Fulbright Scholar, correspondence and news clippings, 1948-49

Baker, Pamela Faye

        obituary, 2008

Bass, Anna

        certificates in proficiency and distinction cards, 1874 and 1875

        valedictory essay and address, 1875

Bean, Virginia

        salutatory address, 1935

Bigot, Madeleine

        Fulbright scholar, correspondence and news clippings, 1950

Bishop, Nannie R.

        distinction card, Logic, 1878

Bland, Laura C.

        copy of letter written to mother, 1862

Blanton, Mary Alice

        salutatory address, 1926

Bodo, Michelle

        correspondence (in French), 1954

Boone, Donna

        history of the class of 1959

Breckinridge, Beverley

        The History of Longwood, 1911-1912

Britton, Susan Yeaman

        Distinguished Alumni Service Award, news clipping, 1987

Brown, Julia Davis

        info re: Blackstone College for Girls

Bugg, Emma E.

        distinction card, 1876

Capp, Helene

        correspondence, 1948

Chappell, Mary

        report card, 1868 (fragile)

Dalby, Sarah W.

        salutatory essay, 1875

Daniel, Valerie Rives

        memories of Farmville Female Seminary

d’Anjou, Lisa

        correspondence, 1944

Dessaix, Catherine

        Fulbright scholar, news clippings, 1953

Ducousso, Jacqueline

        Fulbright scholar, application packet, 1958

        photograph (333.001), portrait, 2”x2.5”, b&w

Eagle, Jacqueline

        re: graduate assistantship at LSU, 1950

Eike, Elizabeth “Betty” Andrews

        grade report, 1962

Evans, June Banks

        list of published books and articles, 1985

Foster, Elmer Willis

        50th Anniversary Program, 1934

Greenberg, Jo Price

        Distinguished Alumni Service Award, news clipping, 1987

Greenland, Fay

        Fulbright scholar, correspondence and news clippings, 1954

Hancock, Elizabeth

        correspondence, 1913-14

Hanes, Mary

        news clipping re: 1877 diploma, 1977

Hargrett, Sally Barksdale

        biographical information

Harrison, Minnie

        regarding experiences at Farmville Female College during Civil War, ca. 1865

Heard, Elizabeth

        correspondence to Dr. Jarman, 1928

Hines, Edith Eloyse

        State Teachers College promotional brochure, 1934

Horton, Frances

        Founders Day speech, 1955

Hudson, John

        sheet music, “The Klowns of Oktoberfest,” 1980

Irvine, Lucy

        commencement address, 1891

Jackson, Maria

        Fulbright scholar, grant application, news clippings, and testimonial, 1952

James, Lucy Wright

        “Life at State Female Normal School,” 1896-1899

Joatton, Genevieve

        Fulbright scholar, application for admission, correspondence, and news clippings, 1955-56

        photograph (333.002), portrait, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w

        photograph (333.003), portrait, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w

        photograph (333.004), Genevieve Joatton standing in unidentified city plaza, surrounded by pigeons, 3.5”x5.5”, b&w

Johnson, Julia

        distinction cards, 1881

Julliard, Annick

        Fulbright scholar, correspondence, and news clippings, 1961-62

        photograph (333.005), Annick Julliard and others decorating stage, 3.25”x3.25”, b&w

        photograph (333.006), Annick Julliard standing in front of painting, 3.25”x3.25”, b&w

Kern, L.M.

       poem, 1861

Kersey, Jerome

       news clippings, 1983-1984

Kevan, Eleanor Randolph

       news clipping re: publication of poetry, 1966

Kutz, Esther

       commencement address, 1933

Lallement, Anne-Marie

       Fulbright scholar, application for admission, 1961

Laloux, Genevieve

       Fulbright scholar, correspondence and news clippings, 1956-57

       photograph (333.007), portrait, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w

       photograph (333.008), presentation on the provinces of Brittany, 3.5”x3.5”, b&w

LaRue, Mary S.

       teacher’s certificate, 1887

       teacher’s certificate, 1896

Lehembre, Elisabeth

       Fulbright scholar, news clippings, and application for admission, 1960

       photograph (333.009), portrait, 2”x2.5”, b&w

Luck, Josephine E.

       note re: Alumnae Association, 1927

   M - Y

Marsh, Lottie

       commencement address, 1934

Matute, Argentina

       Fulbright scholar, correspondence and news clippings, 1952

McCorkle, Mary Moore

       valedictory address, 1944

McLemore, Patricia

       Fulbright scholar, application, 1954

Nickels, Claire Eastman

       Distinguished Alumni Service Award, news clipping, 1987

Ollivary, Catherine

       Fulbright scholar, correspondence and news clippings, 1951-52

Osborne, Stella

       news clipping re: graduation, 1991

Perrotte, Chantal

       Fulbright scholar, application for admission and news clippings, 1958

       photograph (333.010), Chantal Perrotte seated on unidentified ancient wall, 2.5”x2.5”, b&w

       photograph (333.011), Chantal Perrotte skiing, 3.25”x3.25”, b&w

       photograph (333.012), Chantal Perrotte (r) and Elena Vinos (l) seated at table, two people in background, dancing next to jukebox,

              4”x6”, b&w

Putney, Edna E.

       valedictory address, 1919

       valedictory address, 1933

Remar, Joe

       news clipping re: Longwood College player of the week, undated

Ridgway-Hull, Duvahl

       re: financial gift, 1997

Rush, Mary Alston

       commencement speech, summer 1933

Simms, Audrey Elizabeth

       news clipping re: Freshman Commission, 1974

Singleton, Jacqulyn

       news clipping re: theatre, 1975

Smithy, Sarah

       news clipping re: Apple Blossom pageant, 1975

Stables, Lillian

       correspondence with Hiroshima Christian College, 1947

Stanley, Pamela

       news clipping re: flute recital, 1983

Stockton, Rhonda Ree

       news clipping re: Lychnos Society, 1974

Stratton, Jane

       attendance certificate, 1910

       course schedule, 1907

Sutton, Feda Gail

       news clipping re: Geist, 1975

Tanner, Helen

       Fulbright scholar, testimonial and news clippings, 1951-52

Tassa, Anthony

       news clipping re: acting award, 1992

Tharrington, Lois

       salutatory address, 1933

Tralan, Ida

       correspondence to Dr. Jarman, 1928

Trent, Katherine Gannaway

       record book, 1920-1926

Turner, Shirley

       Western Union Telegram, April 1941

Vaden, Dorothy Christine

       Founders Day speech, 1955

       Veza, Laurette

       correspondence, 1947

Vincent-Viry, Annette

       Fulbright scholar, correspondence and news clippings, 1946

Walton, Ruby

       receipt for board, 1923

Weems, Dorothy

       commencement speech, 1933

White, Rebecca “Becky”

       news clipping re: Czechoslovakia, 1968

Wier, Dana

       news clipping re: author series, 1990

Willard, Julie

       news clipping re: Princess Soya pageant, 1974

Williams, Sandy

       news clipping re: Miss Longwood, 1975

Williamson, Mary Lynn

       “The Chivalric Side of General Grant,” Harper Weekly, 53:16, 1909 (re: the evacuation of Farmville Female College students via

               the Union Army wagon train after the surrender at Appomattox Courthouse)

Yeaman, Maude Chernault

        transcripts and correspondence, 1924-1927

   Photographs

Located in Binder 19:

333.001 – Jacqueline Ducousso – portrait

333.002 –Genevieve Joatton – portrait

333.003 – Genevieve Joatton – portrait

333.004 – Genevieve Joaaton – standing in unidentified city plaza, surrounded by pigeons.

333.005 – Annick Julliard – decorating stage

333.006 – Annick Julliard – standing in front of painting

333.007 – Genevieve Laloux – portrait

333.008 – Genevieve Laloux – presentation on the provinces of Brittany

333.009 – Elizabeth Lehembre – portrait

333.010 – Chantal Perrotte – seated on unidentified ancient wall

333.011 – Chantal Perrotte – skiing

333.012 – Chantal Perrotte – and Elena Vinos seated at table, two people in background, dancing next to jukebox.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives