Alumni Relations Collection
LU-032 

Information about the Collection
The materials in this collection originated with or were donated to the Longwood University Office of Alumni Relations. The majority of these materials were forwarded to the Greenwood Library Archives by Nancy Shelton, former director of Alumni Relations.

Provenance
This collection has been divided in 6 series. Each series represents the time at which its contents were transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.
Series I of this collection was received from the Alumni Relations office in the spring of 1999.
Series II of this collection was received from the Alumni Relations office in 2003.
Series III of this collection was received from the Alumni Relations office in 2005.
Series IV of this collection was received from the Alumni Relations office in 2006.
Series V of this collection was received from the Alumni Relations office in 2008.
Series VI of this collection was received from the Alumni Relations office in 2011.

Scope and Content

The materials in this collection consist of information, correspondence, and photographs from Longwood University Founders Day and Class Reunion Events, board meeting minutes, council meeting minutes, alumni files, photographs, photo negatives, ephemera, reports, publications, and memorabilia (textiles). These materials date from the late 19th century through the early 21st century.

Size
Series I consists of 5.9 linear feet contained in 11 legal-sized Hollinger boxes.
Series II consists of 2.6 linear feet contained in 3 legal-sized Hollinger boxes and 1 bankers box.
Series III consists of 4.1 linear feet contained in 6 legal-sized Hollinger boxes and 1 archival flat box.
Series IV consists of 9.65 linear feet contained in 1 legal-sized Hollinger box and 9 archival flat boxes.
Series V consists of 2.3 linear feet contained in 2 legal-sized Hollinger boxes and 1 bankers box.
Series VI is currently being processed.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes with the exception of Series VI which is currently being processed and is unavailable.

Contents of the Collection

   Series I

   Box 1 of 11: Founders Day

Folder 1 – Founders Day 1957

Folder 2 – Founders Day 1958

Folder 3 – Founders Day 1959

Folder 4 – Founders Day 1963

Folder 5 – Founders Day 1964

Folder 6 – Founders Day 1965

Folder 7 – Founders Day 1966

Folder 8 – Founders Day 1967

Folder 9 – Founders Day 1968

Folder 10 – Founders Day 1969

Folder 11 – Founders Day 1971

Folder 12 – Founders Day 1972

Folder 13 – Founders Day 1973

   Box 2 of 11: Misc. Meetings and Spring Board Meeting

Folder 1 – Misc. correspondence concerning meetings, business, and events (1924-1954)

Folder 2 – Draft of booklet about the Alumni Association by Mrs. Boyd Coyner (undated)

Folder 3 – Misc. newspaper clippings (1940s-1960s)

Folder 4 – Information related to the 1899 Alumni Room

Folder 5 – Minutes of Meetings (1887-1947)

Folder 6 – Spring Board Meeting 1958

Folder 7 – Spring Board Meeting 1959

Folder 8 – Spring Board Meeting 1960

Folder 9 – Spring Board Meeting 1961

Folder 10 – Spring Board Meeting 1962

Folder 11 – Spring Board Meeting 1963

Folder 12 – Spring Board Meeting 1964

Folder 13 – Spring Board Meeting 1965

Folder 14 – Spring Board Meeting 1966

Folder 15 – Spring Board Meeting 1967

Folder 16 – Spring Board Meeting 1968

Folder 17 – Spring Board Meeting 1969

Folder 18 – Spring Board Meeting 1970

Folder 19 – Spring Board Meeting 1971

Folder 20 – Spring Board Meeting 1972

Folder 21 – Spring Board Meeting 1973

   Box 3 of 11: Fall Council Meeting

Folder 1 – Fall Council Meeting 1957

Folder 2 – Fall Council Meeting 1958

Folder 3 – Fall Council Meeting 1959

Folder 4 – Fall Council Meeting 1960

Folder 5 – Fall Council Meeting 1961

Folder 6 – Fall Council Meeting 1962

Folder 7 – Fall Council Meeting 1963

Folder 8 – Fall Council Meeting 1964

Folder 9 – Fall Council Meeting 1965

Folder 10 – Fall Council Meeting 1966

Folder 11 – Fall Council Meeting 1967

Folder 12 – Fall Council Meeting 1968

Folder 13 – Fall Council Meeting 1969

Folder 14 – Fall Council Meeting 1970

Folder 15 – Fall Council Meeting 1971

Folder 16 – Fall Council Meeting 1972

Folder 17 – Fall Council Meeting 1973

   Box 4 of 11: Alumni Files, A-B

Folder 1- Adams, Sterling C.

Folder 2 – Alumni Association President, Elsie Stossel

Folder 3 – Alumni Association Vice President, Jean Riddenour Appich

Folder 4 – American Alumni Council

Folders 5-6 – Allen, John E. – Director of Public Relations

Folder 7 – Allen, Susie

Folder 8 – Andrews, Lula

Folder 9 – Anniversary, 50th

Folder 10 – Anniversary, 75th

Folder 11 – Armstrong, Irving (Miss) – photograph

Folder 12 – Asher, Mary Puckett

Folder 13 – Attix – music department 1953-1954 – photograph

Folder 14 – Badge, Blanche C.

Folder 15 – Baggs, Elizabeth Gilbert

Folder 16 – Bailey, Josephine

Folder 17 – Banton, Robert Lee

Folders 18-19 – Barksdale, Emily

Folder 20 – Barlow, Mary

Folder 21 – Barron, Richard W.

Folder 22 – Bass, Dr. Virginia C.

Folder 23 – Bedford, Virginia

Folder 24 – Bell, Leon E.

Folder 25 – Berkis, Dr. Alexander V.

Folder 26 – Bernard, Lora M.

Folder 27 – Bingner, Mrs. Janet L.

Folder 28 – Bittinger, M. Henry

Folder 29 – Blackwell, Dr. Herbert R.

Folder 30 – Blackwell, Houston

Folder 31 – Bland, Beatrice R.

Folder 32 – Blasch, Robert E.

Folder 33 – Board Members; correspondence 1947-1960

Folders 34-35 – Bobbitt, Eleanor

Folder 36 – Bowman, Warren D.

Folder 37 – Boggs, Earl

Folder 38 – Brockenbrough, Rebecca

Folders 39-40 – Brooks, Dr. Richard (Education 1957)

Folder 41 – Brown, Dr. Frances R.

Folder 42 – Browning, Alma

Folder 43 – Brumfield, Dr. Robert T.

Folder 44 – Bulletins, misc.

Folder 45 – Burger, Elizabeth

Folder 46 – Burke, Jack

Folder 47 – Bush, Celeste

Folder 48 – Bush, Sally

Folder 49 – Butler, Charles R.

Folder 50 – Byrnside, O.J.

   Box 5 of 11: Alumni Files, C-D

Folder 1 – Callcott, George

Folder 2 – Carter, Alice

Folder 3 – Charatel, George

Folder 4 – Clements, Clyde C.

Folder 5 – College Hostesses/Nurses

Folder 6 – College News, 1957

Folders 7-8 – College News, 1958

Folder 9 – College News, 1959

Folder 10 – College News, 1960

Folders 11-12 – College News, miscellaneous

Folders 13-17 – Commencement, 1930s-1960s

Folder 18 – Cooper, Fleeta (Mrs. A.T. Gray)

Folder 19 – Cooper, Mrs. W.B.

Folder 20 – Cover, Kathleen G.

Folder 21 – Coyner, M. Boyd

Folder 22 – Craddock, Ottie

Folder 23 – Crist, Harold

Folder 24 – Curnutt, Mary Joanne

Folder 25 – Dalton, Thomas Cullen

Folder 26 – Davis, Mildred D.

Folder 27 – Draper, Helen

Folder 28 – Dugger, Mrs. R.H.

Folder 29 – Dunn, Fannie Wyche

   Box 6 of 11: Alumni Files, E-G

Folder 1 – Earley, Dr. C.L.S.

Folder 2 – Eason, Dr. T.D.

Folder 3 – Ebersole, Joel

Folder 4 – Eggleston, Elizabeth

Folders 5-15 – Exchange Students

Folders 16-17 – Faculty and Staff (photographs)

Folder 18 – Foster, Nancy

Folder 19 – Founders Day 1956

Folder 20 – Founders Day 1960

Folder 21 – Founders Day 1961

Folder 22 – Founders Day 1962

Folder 23 – Founders Day 1966

Folder 24 – Fraser, Robert

Folder 25 – French, Raymond

Folder 26 – Gee, Frances W.

Folder 27 – Gaines, Elizabeth

Folder 28 – General Faculty

Folder 29 – Gibb, Carson

Folder 30 – Gleaves, Ruth

Folder 31 – Graber, Ottomar

Folder 32 – Graham, Malcolm

Folder 33 – Graham, Samuel Lyle

Folder 34 – Grainger, Mary

Folder 35 – Grainger, James

Folder 36 – Graziani, Dr. John

Folders 37-38 – Griffin, Nell

Folder 39 – Guffin, Enfield R.

   Box 7 of 11: Alumni Files, H-Ma

Folder 1- Hall, Margaret

Folder 2 – Haynes, Mary B.

Folder 3 – Harbaum, Darrell G.

Folder 4 – Harris, Phyllis W.

Folder 5 – Harvill, Alton M., Jr.

Folder 6 – Hathaway, Walter M.

Folder 7 – Heintz, Mary

Folder 8 – Helms, James M.

Folder 9 – Hesselink, Paul S.

Folder 10 – Hileman, Charles F.

Folder 11 – Holt, Dr. Jo

Folder 12 – Holton, S.M.

Folder 13 – Hooker, Dr. Charlotte S.

Folder 14 – Huffman, Ann

Folder 15 – Hull, Edward

Folder 16 – Jenkins, Mary Stuart (Mrs. R.J. Woodburn)

Folder 17 – Jeffers, George

Folder 18 – Jennings, Lucille

Folder 19 – Jesson, Roy

Folder 20 – Jeter, Bessie

Folders 21-22 – Johnson, Dr. Edgar M.

Folder 23 – Johnson, Worthy

Folder 24 – Jones, Elmer

Folder 25 – Jones, Mary P.

Folder 26 – Kelley, Mildred P.

Folder 27 – Kemble, Mary French

Folder 28 – Kennedy, Elizabeth F.

Folder 29 – Kennedy, Fronde

Folder 30 – Kennedy, John (1957)

Folder 31 – Kent, Linwood E.

Folder 32 – Kline, Dr. Linus W.

Folder 33 – Laing, Wesley N.

Folder 34 – Land, Lee E.

Folder 35 – Landrum, Emily K.

Folder 36 – Landrum, Dr. Merle L.

Folder 37 – Lankford (Longwood House Agreement)

Folder 38 – Lankford, Mrs. F.G.

Folder 39 – Lane, Dr. Charles F.

Folder 40 – Lawhorne, Ronald G.

Folder 41 – Lear, J.M.

Folder 42 – Leitch, Nancy

Folder 43 – Leeper, Willard Glenn

Folder 44 – Lemen, Janice

Folder 45 – Lockwood, Patton

Folder 46 – Lodewijks, Dr. Jacobus M.

Folder 47 – London, Lila

Folder 48 – Long, Raymond V.

Folder 49 – Maddox, Dr. Arthur

Folders 50-54 – Magazine

   Box 8 of 11: Ma-My

Folder 1 – Magnifico, Josephine

Folder 2 – Magnusson, Harold K.

Folder 3 – Malloy, Thomas A., Jr.

Folder 4 – March, Blanche (Mrs. Peter Gerhart)

Folder 5 – May Day

Folder 6 – McCombs, James H.

Folder 7 – McCorkle, T.A.

Folder 8 – McGinley, Patton H.

Folder 9 – McLester, Amelia

Folder 10 – Meeker, Richard K.

Folder 11 – Memos; President Lancaster

Folder 12 – Men of Longwood

Folder 13 – Merchant, Ray A.

Folder 14 – Merritt, Dr. Leroy C.

Folder 15 – Merritt, Richard E.

Folder 16 – Merritt, Richard F.

Folder 17 – Michel, Lyliane

Folder 18 – Milledge, Dr. F.A.

Folder 19 – Meeting Minutes 1945

Folder 20 – Meeting Minutes 1946

Folder 21 – Meeting Minutes 1947

Folder 22 – Meeting Minutes 1948

Folder 23 – Meeting Minutes 1949

Folder 24 – Meeting Minutes 1950

Folder 25 – Meeting Minutes 1951

Folder 26 – Meeting Minutes 1952

Folder 27 – Meeting Minutes 1953

Folder 28 – Miscellaneous

Folders 29-30 – Mix, Grace

Folder 31 – Moffett, Dr. Edna V.

Folder 32 – Molnar, Dr. John W.

Folder 33 – Moore, Anne

Folder 34 – Moore, Dr. Ray

Folder 35 – Moran, Grace

Folder 36 – Morrison, Portia Lee

Folders 37-38 – Moss, Dr. Charles Gordon

Folder 39 – Moyer, Josephine

Folder 40 – Music Festivals 1959-1962

Folder 41 – Music Department, College Choir

Folder 42 – Music Programs, miscellaneous

Folder 43 – Myers, Mr. Norman O.

   Box 9 of 11: N-R

Folder 1 – Neveu, Maurice C.

Folder 2 – Newman, Dr. James Heflin

Folder 3 – Nichols, Mary

Folder 4 – Normal League, Robert Frazer Memorial Fund

Folder 5 – Normal Record, (The) 1897

Folder 6 – Nunn, Lillian

Folder 7 – Nunn, Wayne K.

Folder 8 – “Our Alma Mater,” by: Jennie Tabb

Folder 9 – Olson, Ivan

Folder 10 – O’Neil, Dr. Shirley

Folder 11 – Overall, Lydia

Folder 12 – Organ; Jarman Hall

Folder 13 – Orientation; Freshmen

Folder 14 – Organizations

Folder 15 – Paintings, sculpture, and other artwork

Folder 16 – Parrish, Celeste S.

Folder 17 – Pastoor, Dr. Johannes

Folder 18 – Patrick, Alfred L.

Folder 19 – Patterson, Jesse A.

Folder 20 – Patterson, Charles H.

Folder 21 – Patterson, Sarah Gay

Folder 22 – Peterson, Dr. A. Viola

Folder 23 – Phillips, Josephine M.

Folder 24 – Penney, Ida

Folder 25 – Pierce, Mary D.

Folder 26 – Porter, Sue

Folder 27 – Powell, Nan (Mrs. William T. Hodges)

Folder 28 – Purdom, Lizabeth

Folder 29 – Publications

Folder 30-32 – Programs

Folder 33 – Presidents of the Institution; history by Minnie Vaughn Rice

Folder 34 – Presidents Memo; 1951 and 1952, Dr. Dabney Lancaster

Folder 35 – Ra, Pil-Yull

Folder 36 – Recreation

Folder 37 – Reilly, Patricia M.

Folder 38 – Rice, Minnie Vaughn

Folder 39 – Robertson, Louise (Mrs. W.C. Fitzpatrick)

Folder 40 – Rohr, Mamie

Folder 41 – Rouillard, Paul G.

Folder 42 – Rouse, Dr. Charles A.

Folder 43 – Rubley, Earl A.

Folder 44 – Ruffin, Dr. Beverly

Folder 45 – Ruffner, William Henry

Folder 46 – Russell, Dr. Olga W.

Folder 47 – Rutherford, Lewis R.

   Box 10 of 11: S-T

Folder 1 – Sardo, Pete

Folders 2-3 – Savage, Helen Barnes

Folder 4 – Savage, William W.

Folder 5 – Service to public schools

Folder 6 – Schlegel, Dr. Dorothy B.

Folder 7 – Schlegel, Dr. Marvin Wilson

Folder 8 – Scott, Miss Katherine

Folder 9 – Shackelford, Mrs. Meade L.

Folder 10 – Scolnick, Joseph M.

Folder 11 – Silveria, Maria

Folder 12 – Simkins, Francis Butler

Folder 13 – Slier, Freda

Folder 14 – Smith, Barbara Bramlette

Folder 15 – Smith, Clifford

Folder 16 – Smith, Martha

Folder 17 – Snead, Christy

Folder 18 – Sneller, Maurice P.

Folder 19 – Songs (school)

Folders 20-21 – Sororities

Folder 22 – Soto, Dr. Osvaldo

Folder 23 – Souder, Thelma

Folder 24 – Speakers on campus

Folder 25 – Spear, Jenelle R.

Folder 26 – Sprague, Dr. Rosemary

Folder 27 – Spicer, Dr. George W.

Folder 28 – Staggs, Fern

Folder 29 – Stephenson, Georgiana

Folder 30 – Stevens, Dr. Edith

Folder 31 – Stillwell, Edgar (Biology, 1957)

Folder 32 – Student Government

Folder 33 – Summer School

Folder 34 – Surface, Paul M.

Folder 35 – Sutherland, Dr. Ethel

Folder 36 – Swertfegen, Dr. Floyd F.

Folder 37 – Tabb, Katherine

Folder 38 – Taliaferro, Carrie Brown

Folder 39 – Talliaferro, Ruth S.

Folder 40 – Tablin, Dr. Gardner B.

Folder 41 – Taylor, Mrs. Stella Bosworth

Folder 42 – Thomas, F. Edgar, Jr.

Folder 43 – Thomas, Laymon

Folder 44 – Tidyman, Dr. W.F.

Folder 45 – Trent, Kate G.

Folder 46 – Tilman, Maud

Folder 47 – Tucker, Annetta D.

Folder 48 – Tucker, Sarah Boyd

Folder 49 – Tupper, Katherine

Folder 50 – Turner, Lewis O.

Folder 51 – Twins at Longwood

Folder 52 – Tyree, Virginia H.

   Box 11 of 11: U-Z and unknown

Folder 1 – Urban, Walter

Folder 2 – Vickers, R.C.

Folder 3 – Vickroy, Clare E.

Folder 4 – Views (State Normal School, booklet with photographs), ca. 1905

Folder 5 – Vieria, David G.

Folder 6 – Vincent, Sibyl

Folder 7 – Von Shilling, Ilma

Folder 8 – Wakefield, Ralph J.

Folders 9-10 – Wamsley, Jacob H.

Folder 11 – Walmsley, Dr. James E.

Folder 12 – Warrington, Clarence Jr.

Folder 13 – Waters, Miss Frances

Folder 14 – Watkins, Mary H.

Folder 15 – Wellard, Dr. James

Folder 16 – Well, Miss Bertha

Folder 17 – Wells, Carolyn

Folder 18 – Who’s Who

Folder 19 – White, J. Ellington, Jr.

Folder 20 – Wiles, Richard T.

Folder 21 – Wiley, David W.

Folders 22-23 – Willett, Dr. Henry I., Jr.

Folder 24 – Wilson, Dr. Ruth B.

Folder 25 – Wood, Gilbert N., Jr.

Folder 26 – Woodburn, Mary J.

Folder 27 – Woodburn, Robert J.

Folder 28 – Wu, Robert S.

Folder 29 – Wygal, Fred O.

Folder 30 – Wynne, Eloise

Folder 31 – Wynne, Dr. John P.

Folder 32 – Wynne, Mrs. J.P.

Folder 33 – YWCA

Folders 34-35 – unknown

   Series II

   Box 1 of 4:

Folder 1 – Pageants, Plays, Events-Programs: 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, and (3) undated

Folder 2 – Founders Day, 1958-program

Folder 3 – Founders Day/Reunion 1980-information

Folder 4 – Founders Day/Reunion 1982-information

Folder 5 – Founders Day/Reunion 1985-information and photographs

Folder 6 – Founders Day/Reunion 1986-information

Folder 7 – Founders Day/Reunion 1987-information and photographs

Folder 8 – Founders Day/Reunion 1987-correspondence

Folder 9 – Founders Day/Reunion 1988-information and correspondence

Folder 10 – Founders Day/Reunion 1989-information and correspondence

Folder 11 – Founders Day/Reunion 1990-information and photographs

Folder 12 – Founders Day/Reunion 1990-correspondence

Folder 13 – Founders Day/Reunion 1991-information and photographs

Folder 14 – Founders Day/Reunion 1991-correspondence

   Box 2 of 4:

Folder 1 – Founders Day/Reunion 1992-information and photographs

Folder 2 – Founders Day/Reunion 1992-photographs

Folder 3 – Founders Day/Reunion 1993-information and photographs

Folder 4 – Founders Day/Reunion 1993-correspondence

Folder 5 – Founders Day/Reunion 1994-information and correspondence

Folder 6 – Founders Day/Reunion 1995-information and photographs

Folder 7 – Founders Day/Reunion 1995-correspondence

Folder 8 – Founders Day/Reunion 1996-information and photographs

Folder 9 – Founders Day/Reunion 1997-information and correspondence

   Box 3 of 4:

Folder 1 – Founders Day/Reunion 1998-information and correspondence

Folder 2 – Founders Day/Reunion 1999-information and correspondence

Folder 3 – Founders Day/Milestone Reunion 2000-information and correspondence

Folder 4 – Founders Day/Milestone Reunion 2001-information and correspondence

Folder 5 – Founders Day/Milestone Reunion 2002-information and correspondence

Folder 6 – Founders Day/Reunion-unknown year (ca. 1980s)

   Box 4 of 4: Textiles

Item 1 – red knit skirt

Item 2 – red knit sweater with belt

Item 3 – plaid wool skirt

Item 4 – beige wool sweater

Item 5 – brown leather purse

Item 6 – brown leather high-heel shoes

Item 7 – white linen gloves

Item 8 – red corduroy collar

   Series III

   Box 1 of 9: Alumni Files, A-Con.

Folder 1 – Reunion 1915

Folder 2 – 48th Anniversary Program, 1932

Folder 3 – 49th Anniversary, 1933     

Folder 4 – 50th Anniversary, history booklet, 1934

Folder 5 – 50th Anniversary, invitation, 1934

Folder 6 – 50th Anniversary, Program and RSVP card, 1934

Folder 7 – 51st Anniversary, 1935

Folder 8 – 75 Years of Teacher Education, 1959

Folder 9 – Alma Mater, verses, 1981

Folder 10 – “Our Alma Mater,” 1929

Folder 11 – Alma Mater, variations

Folder 12 – Alumni Association, Chapters, Members, History

Folder 13 – Alumni Association, List of Presidents, 1887-1966

Folder 14 – Alumni Association, Projects and Activities

Folder 15 – Alumni Association, Publications, Gifts, Scholarships

Folders 16-17 – Alumnae Chapter, handbooks (4) undated, (1) 1952

Folder 18 – Alumni Association, Roanoke Chapter, Minute Book, 1958-1986

Folder 19 – Alumni House in early spring – poster (9”x12”)

Folder 20 – Alumni House, post card

Folder 21 – Alumni House, water color painting by Davis Gray (undated)

Folder 22 – Argus Literary Society, 1921

Folder 23 – Commencement Invitation, 1913

Folder 24 – Athenian Literary Society Program, 1921

Folder 25 – Baccalaureate Sermon Program, 1917

Folder 26 – Mr. Bristow article, Rotunda, undated

Folder 27 – Blue Horse Notebook, class notes, “Jac Venable”

Folder 28 – Bulletin, Longwood College, Vol. XXXVII, No. 4, 1951

Folder 29 – Bulletin, Longwood College, Vol. XLII, Supplement 2, No. 1, 1956

Folder 30 – Calendar, Farmville, 1948

Folder 31 – Calendar page, Nov. 1992, opposite side has picture of 1913 student teacher classroom

Folder 32 – Campus during winter, post card 1908

Folder 33 – Campus Map, 1962

Folder 34 – Canterbury Club, information, 1958

Folder 35 – Canterbury Club, program, The Feast of Lights

Folder 36 – Newspaper cartoon, Virginia Tech v. Longwood

Folder 37 – Certificate, Business Writing Method, Sue Roper, 1925

Folder 38 – Chamber of Commerce Banquet, Farmville, 1923

Folder 39 – Mildred Jane (Jennie) Chandler; biographical info and letter dated March 1922

Folder 40 – Christmas Banquet Program, 1971

Folder 41 – Christmas Concert, Wynne School, 1971

Folder 42 – Homespun Christmas Craftbook, 1974

Folder 43 – Citation, SGA, 1961

Folder 44 – Class of 1888 Reunion, Farmville Herald, article, 1950

Folder 45 – Class of 1950, History

Folder 46 – Class of 1961, Program, North Santa Claus Lane

Folder 47 – Class of 1977, Dates to Remember

Folder 48 – Class of 1978, Dates to Remember

Folder 49 – Class Day Exercises, program, undated

Folder 50 – Class Day Exercises, program, 1932

Folder 51 – Class Day, 1958, skit script

Folder 52 – Colleague Banquet Program, 1974

Folder 53 – The Colonnades (building), through the years

Folder 54 – Commencement Invitation, 1906

Folder 55 – Commencement Invitation, 1911

Folder 56 – Commencement Invitation, 1912

Folder 57 – Commencement Invitation, 1914

Folder 58 – Commencement Program, 1901

Folder 59 – Commencement Program, 1902

Folder 60 – Commencement Program, 1903

Folder 61 – Commencement Program, 1914

Folder 62 – Commencement Program, 1915

Folder 63 – Commencement Program, 1921

Folder 64 – Commencement Program, 1924

Folder 65 – Commencement Invitation and Program, Louise H. Forbes, 1927

Folder 66 – Commencement Program, 1938

Folder 67 – Commencement Program, 1941

Folder 68 – Commencement Program, 1943

Folder 69 – Commencement Program, 1948

Folder 70 – Commencement Program, 1952

Folder 71 – Commencement Program, 1953

Folder 72 – Commencement Program, 1962

Folder 73 – Commencement Program, 1973

Folder 74 – Commencement Program, 1998

Folder 75 – Conference, Rural Leadership

Folder 76 – Convocation Program, 1970 and 1971

Folder 77 – Convocation Program, 1973

Folder 78 – Convocation Program, 1976

   Box 2 of 9: Alumni Files, Cor.-L

Folder 1 – Correspondence; J.C. to Mr. E.M. Carpenter, 1904

Folder 2 – Cotillion Club, invitation (undated)

Folder 3 – Cunninghams, Main & North, drawing (8”x10 ½”)

Folder 4 – Cunningham Literary Society, invitation, 1921

Folder 5 – Dance Company, poster, 1996

Folder 6 – Dance Invitation, 1989

Folder 7 – Dance Program, spring 1972

Folder 8 – Dance Program, 1927

Folder 9 – Diary of V. Vaidere, 1917-1918

Folder 10 – Dance Recital Program, 1932

Folder 11 – Dining Room, post card, 1908

Folder 12 – Diploma, State Normal School for Women, Frances H. Mackan, 1921

Folder 13 – Door Hanger, quiet hours

Folder 14 – Dramatics Club, Yearbook photo (undated)(possibly 1910s)

Folder 15 – Longwood Expansion, Richmond Times, article, 1968

Folder 16 – Longwood Expansion, article, 1969

Folder 17 – Faculty News, article, 9-21-1954

Folder 18 – Fashion Show, program, 1960

Folder 19 – Festival of Fine Arts, program, 1959

Folder 20 – Festival of Fine Arts, program, 1960

Folder 21 – Festival of Fine Arts, program, 1961

Folder 22 – Field Day, program, 1915

Folder 23 – Fire, 1949, article, “Auditorium Destroyed by Flames”

Folder 24 – Folk Dance, program, 1915

Folder 25 – Founders Day, 1953

Folder 26 – Founders Day, 1924

Folder 27 – Founders Day, 1927

Folder 28 – Founders Day, 1939

Folder 29 – Founders Day, 1940

Folder 30 – Founders Day, 1944

Folder 31 – Founders Day, 1952

Folder 32 – Founders Day, 1956

Folder 33 – Founders Day, 1957

Folder 34 – Founders Day, 1960

Folder 35 – Founders Day, 1961

Folder 36 – Founders Day, 1965

Folder 37 – Founders Day, 1974

Folder 38 – Founders Day, 1978

Folder 39 – Founders Day, 2000

Folder 40 – French Hall, post card (3 ½” x 5 ½”)

Folder 41 – French pool, post card, 1924

Folder 42 – Freshman English booklet by Mary Shipman

Folder 43 – Information for accepted Freshmen, 1958

Folder 44 – Freshmen Information Scheduling

Folder 45 – Orientation schedule for freshmen

Folder 46 – Freshmen Orientation, 1960

Folder 47 – Freshmen Production, 1959

Folder 48 – Freshmen Registration Information

Folder 49 – Geist Open House

Folder 50 – Geist, president’s notebook, 1973

Folder 51 – Geist, scholarship information, 1977

Folder 52 – Governor Harrison, articles about speaking at Longwood, 1962

Folder 53 – Grade notes, 1914-1921

Folder 54 – Guidon, 1906

Folder 55 – Hatch, Margaret D.

Folder 56 – H2O Club, performance, Christmas

Folder 57 – H2O Club, performance, Confederacy

Folder 58 – H2O Club, performance, Mardi Gras

Folder 59 – Honor Roll Notices, 1910 & 1911

Folder 60 – Honor Roll Notice, 1921

Folder 61 – Hampden-Sydney Newspaper, letter, 1935

Folder 62 – Jarman Auditorium, dedication program 1951

Folder 63 – Jarman Auditorium, post card, 1949

Folder 64 – Jarman, dinner program, 1944

Folder 65 – Jarman Society, booklet

Folder 66 – Joanie on the Pony

Folder 67 – Jolly Junior Jamboree, program, 1932

Folder 68 – Judicial Procedure, 1971

Folder 69 – Junior Class, notebook, 1956-1957

Folder 70 – Junior Class Program, Parisian Square, 1961

Folder 71 – Kappa Delta Pi, invitation to convocation diner held at Michigan State University, 1952

Folder 72 – Letter, T. Matoomdo, Hiroshima Girls School to Lillian Stables, STC, 1947 (details include buildings destroyed and students killed by bomb)

Folders 73-74 – Dr. Lankford, inauguration as president, 1955

Folder 75 – Letters, Elisabeth Hancock, 1913-1914

Folder 76 – Longwood College Emblem

Folder 77 – Longwood College, a history of

Folder 78 – Longwood House, history

Folder 79 – Longwood House, restoration, booklet, 2002

Folder 80 – Lychnos Honor Society, information

   Box 3 of 9: Alumni Files, M-Ra.

Folder 1 – Main Building, 1898, cut from yearbook

Folder 2 – Main Building, 1900, page from yearbook

Folder 3 – Main Street, Farmville, post card, 1915

Folder 4 – Matriculation Notice, 1921

Folder 5 – May Day Program, 1915

Folder 6 – May Day Program, 1925

Folder 7 – May Day Program, 1934

Folder 8 – May Day Program, 1938

Folder 9 – May Day Program, 1957

Folder 10 – May Day Program, 1962

Folder 11 – May Day Programs, 1972 and 1973

Folder 12 – May Queens Court, photograph, 5” x 10”, black & white

Folder 13-14 – Miss Longwood Pageant, program, 1958

Folder 15 – Miss Longwood Pageant, program, 1974

Folder 16 – Monogram Club, homecoming dance, ticket, 1960

Folder 17 – Mu Omicron, invitation to join

Folder 18 – Music, annual Christmas Concert, 1959

Folder 19 – Music, annual Christmas Concert, 1960

Folder 20 – Music, Baritone Recital Program, 1933

Folder 21 – Musical Programs – Bonnie Brier Bush, Marguerita Sylva, Japanese Girl

Folder 22 – Music Department Recital – Girls Glee Club and Salavsky String Quartet

Folder 23 – Music, Junior Choral Club Concert, 1930s

Folder 24 – Music, Choral Concert, program, 1961

Folder 25 – Music, Folk Song Recital Program, 1932

Folder 26 – Music program, New York Artists Company, 1914

Folder 27 – Myers, Norman O., memo on this death

Folder 28 – Normal School, original building, cut from yearbook

Folder 29 – Normal School, article “What Normal Is”

Folder 30 – Oktoberfest, plans, 1970

Folder 31 – Oktoberfest, programs, 1970-1972

Folder 32 – Oktoberfest, 1973, Rotunda articles

Folder 33 – Oktoberfest, programs, 1974

Folder 34 – Oktoberfest, article, 1976

Folder 35 – Oktoberfest/Circus, songs (Freshmen)

Folder 36 – Oktoberfest, program, 1977

Folder 37 – Oktoberfest, program, 1979

Folder 38 - Orientation Leaders Guide, 1971

Folder 39 – Out of Town, permission slip

Folder 40 – Pamphlets, Home Economics and State Teachers College, 1935

Folder 41 – Pi Delta Epsilon, activities calendar

Folder 42 – Pi Gamma Mu, program, 1924

Folder 43 – Pi Kappa Omega, constitution, ca. 1914

Folder 44 – Pi Kappa Omega, banquet program, 1924

Folder 45 – Pi Kappa Omega, reunion article

Folder 46 – Play, “The Firebugs”

Folder 47 – Program, “A Historical Pageant in 8 Episodes,” 1916

Folder 48 – Play, programs, “The Man who Died Laughing,” “Arms and the Man,” “Antigone,” “The Admirable Crichton,” and “Easter”

Folder 49 – Play, program, Christmas, 1971

Folder 50 – Play, program, National Shakespeare Co., 1972

Folder 51 – Play, program, New York Artists

Folder 52 – Play, program and ticket, “A Night in August,” 1935

Folder 53 – Play, program, “The Prince Chap,” 1927

Folder 54 – Play, program, “Something Fishy’s Going On,” 1972

Folder 55 – Play, season ticket, 1923-1924

Folder 56 – Play, ticket, “Sleeping Beauty,” 1924

Folder 57 – Play/Recital Programs, 1913-1915

Folder 58 – Play, programs, “The Yellow Jacket,” and “The Virginia Heroine” 1915

Folder 59 – Play, program, “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” 1940

Folder 60 – Play, program, “The Cradle Song,” 1944

Folder 61 – Play, programs, “Taming of the Shrew,” “The King & I,” and “Arms and the Man”

Folder 62 – Poetry by Clara Nye Jones, Class of 1913 @ 50th Reunion

Folder 63 – “Pupils at the Practice School 1900,” page from yearbook

Folder 64 – Prayer Card

Folder 65 – Prospective Student Booklet, State Normal School, 1921

Folder 66 – Prospective Student Booklet, 1963-1964

Folder 67 – Prospective Student Booklet, 1970s

Folder 68 – Prospective Student Video, VHS, 1990

Folder 69 – Ray Day, door decoration, 1958

   Box 4 of 9: Alumni Files: Re.-Z

Folder 1 – Reasons for Attending a Teachers College, booklet, ca. 1930s

Folder 2 – Record of Training, Winnie F. Eubank, 1936

Folder 3 – Register of Students, 1948-1949

Folder 4 – Report Cards, Winnie F. Eubank, 1933-1935

Folder 5 – Residence Board Handbook (undated)

Folder 6 – Ring Dance, program, 1972

Folder 7 – Roper, Sue, scrapbook items, 1920s

Folder 8 – Rotunda, color post card, (“3 ½ x 5 ½”)(undated)

Folder 9 – Rotunda, poster, (9” x 12”)(undated)

Folder 10 – Rotunda, water color painting, (undated)

Folder 11 – West Ruffner, drawing,(8” x 10 ½”)

Folder 12 – Schedule of Classes, Elizabeth Armstrong (1913) and Elisabeth M. Hancock (1914)

Folder 13 – Senior Banquet, program, 1962

Folder 14 – Senior Banquet, program, 1978

Folder 15 – Senior Class Exercises, 1901

Folder 16 – Sewing Room/YWCA Social Room

Folder 17 – Sigma Phi Epsilon, Certificate of Membership, Francis G. Lankford, Jr. 1924

Folder 18 – Sign change to Longwood University, color post card, (6” x 8 ½”)

Folder 19 – Song Book 1970

Folder 20 – Songs, Christmas Carols

Folder 21 – Songs, Junior Class, 1921 & 1923

Folder 22 – Songs, Class of 1955

Folder 23 – Songs, Class of 1974

Folders 24-25 – Songs and Chants

Folder 26 – Songs, Sophomore Class

Folder 27 – Songs, Varsity and Yells

Folder 28 – Sophomore Class Production, program, 1960

Folder 29 – State Teachers College, emblem

Folder 30 – State Teachers College, overhead view, bookmark (ca. 1920s)

Folder 31 – Statue, Mother’s Milk, post card, 2005

Folder 32 – Student Directory, 1960-1961

Folder 33 – Student Handbook, State Teachers College, post-1930

Folder 34 – Student Handbook, 1949-1950

Folder 35 – Student Handbook, 1951-1952

Folder 36 – Student Handbook, 1963

Folder 37 – Student Handbook, 1968-1969

Folder 38 – Student Handbook, 1969

Folder 39 – Student Record book, Winnie F. Eubank

Folder 40 – Summer Session, brochure, 1971

Folder 41 – Teacher’s Handbook, Report of Committee (ca. 1920s-1940s)

Folder 42 – Teaching Certification, Christine Mackan (1919, 1920, 1935)

Folder 43 – Train Depot, Farmville, VA, 1915

Folder 44 – Training School, booklet, 1915-1916

Folder 45 – Transcript, official, Christine Mackan, 1929

Folder 46 – Wells, Dr. Carolyn, honorary Geist member

Folder 47 – Hotel Weyanoke, post card, (undated)

Folder 48 – White House Hall, in winter, poster (9”x12”) (undated)

Folder 49 – YWCA, handbook, 1919-1920

Folder 50 – YWCA, handbook, 1923-1924

Folder 51 – YWCA, leader, appointment, Elisabeth M. Hancock

Folder 52 – YWCA, letter to Sara L. Cananda, 1932

Folder 53 – YWCA, membership card, 1962

Folder 54 – YWCA Reception, program, 1908

Folder 55 – YWCA, religious emphasis week, 1959

   Box 5 of 9: Oversize items (prints, articles, photographs)

Photograph, Lions Club Members in front of HotelWeyanoke, 1927

Dr. Jarman seated in front, one seat away from Helen Keller

Article, The Voice, “Longwood Observes 150th Birthday,” March 18, 1989

Article, The Richmond News Leader, “Longwood continues to grow without neglecting roots,” “School takes pride in community work,” April 24, 1989

Alumni House, 1991, color photograph (10.75”x14”)

Lancaster Building, 1991, color photograph (10.75”x14”)

The Rotunda, drawing, (undated) (16 copies)

The Rotunda, interior, “Longwood Alumnae” (undated) (2 copies)

Alumnae House, drawing, (undated) (4 copies)

Longwood House, water color, matted but not framed, Davis Gray (undated)

Framed graduation invitation, 1936

Framed diploma, Winnie Eubank, 1936

Framed portrait photograph, Dr. Jarman, ca. 1906

   Box 6 of 9: Photographs, A-L

Folder 1 – AA Demonstration, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x5”)

Folder 2 – Alumni Board, 1993, 3 photographs, b&w (3”x5”) 2 x negatives strips

Folder 3 – Alumni House (rear of building), ca. 1950s, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x5”) Alumni House (front and sides), ca. 1950s, 4 photographs, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 4 – Alumni Event, Smurf Park, 1992, 9 photographs, color (3”x5”)

Folder 5 – Alumni Event, on Santa’s Lap, 1998, 1 photograph, color (4”x6”)

Folder 6 – Alumni House, spring, undated, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 7 – Alumni/President’s House, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 8 – Amelia Day, Rotunda Fund Booth, 2001, 4 photographs, color (4”x6”)

Folder 9 – ARC Fountain, undated, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 10 – Aerial view of Campus, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)  

Folder 11 – Awards, Dr. Jordan receives VA Professor of the Year, 1995, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 12 – Awards, Students Receiving an (unidentified) Award, undated, 1 photograph, color (3”x5”)

Folder 13 – Awards, Keep Virginia Beautiful, 1st Place group from Longwood, undated, 1 photograph, color (5”x7”)

Folder 14 – Awards, Special Teachers Award, 1993, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 15 – Mrs. Gerald Baliles, 1985, 2 photographs, b&w (5”x7” and 8”x10”)

Folder 16 – Band, Mason Roller Line, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x6”)

Folder 17 – The Bell, undated, 2 photographs, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 18 – Dr. Bittinger lecturing, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x5”)

Folder 19 – Bleedstop(?), 1965, 1 photograph, b&w (5½”x9”)

Folder 20 – Blackston, Miss Helen, pre-1924, 1 photograph, b&w (2½”x3½”)    

Folder 21 – Bookstore, 1967, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 22 – Cabin, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 23 – Camping Class, 1980, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 24 – Carr, Colonel John, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 25 – Christmas Gift Exchange, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x4½”)

Folder 26 – Christmas, Rotunda in Snow, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x6”)

Folder 27 – Christmas Tree, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 28 – Circus, 1961 (Class of 1964 Float), 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 29 – Class Reunion, 1950, 4 scrapbook pages

Folder 30 – Class of 1981, Pyramid, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 31 – Class of 1988, 5 scrapbook pages

Folder 32 – Colonnades in Spring, undated, 6 photographs, b&w (3½”x4½”)

Folder 33 – Colonnades with Pine Trees, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (2½”x2”)

Folder 34 – Colonnades walkway, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x4½”)

Folder 35 – Commencement, late 60s-early 70s, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 36 – Commencement, 1967, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 37 – Commencement, 1968, 2 photographs, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 38 – Commencement, 1970, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 39 – Commencement, 1973, 2 photographs, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 40 – Commencement, 2003, 3 photographs, color (4”x6”)

Folder 41 – Commencement Honorees, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x6¾”)

Folder 42 – Confederate Statue, 1958, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 43 – Convocation, 1990, 1 photograph, color (4”x6”)

Folder 44 – Convocation, TKEs, 1992, 1 photograph, color (2½”x4¼”)

Folder 45 – Dr. Corker, 1915, 1 photograph, b&w (2½”x4”)           

Folder 46 – Cox, Miss Mary White, undated, b&w (3½”x2½”)

Folder 47 – Cox, Miss Mary White, undated, b&w (2½”x4”)

Folder 48 – Cox, Miss Mary White, undated, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 49 – Cox Dormitory, Architectural Renduring, undated, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 50 – Curry and Fraser (buildings), undated, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 51 – Dance Company, 1937-1938, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 52 – Dancing Couples, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 53 – Dorm Room, toilet-papered, undated, 2 photographs, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 54 – Dowdie, Candy, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x4½”)

Folder 55 – Exercises, Girls on Field, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x4”)

Folder 56 – Faculty, Dr. Jordan in Dining Hall, undated, 1 photograph, color (4”x6”)

Folder 57 – Faculty, Newman, Lankford, and Bittinger, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x 3 ½”)

Folder 58 – Faculty, Rosemary Sprague and Dr. Dorrill, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (4¾”x3¾”)

Folder 59 – Fencing (unidentified student), undated, 1 photograph, b&w (4¼”x4¼”)

Folder 60 – Fire (Post-Office Building), 1948, 7 photographs, b&w (2½”x3½”)

Folder 61 – Foreign Language Lab, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 62 – Founders Day, 1925, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x4½”)

Folder 63 – French, Raymond, “Charlie Hop,” undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 63 – French Pool, swimming pool building, undated, 1 post card (3½”x5½”)

Folder 64 – Freshman Group, undated, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 65 – Founders Day, 1999, contact sheet and negatives

Folder 66 – Founders Day, Students in Black Face, undated, b&w (3½”x4½”)

Folder 67 – Freshmen in Room, undated, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 68 – Gamma Psi, 1938-1939, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 69 – Girls in Dorm, 1968, 7 photographs, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 70 – Girl getting haircut, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 71 – Girls in rain coats, undated, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 72 – Girls standing outside, 1968, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 73 – Girls talking in bed, 1968, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 74 – Girls tanning, 1968, 2 photographs, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 75 – Girls, late 60s-early 70s, 1 photograph, b&w (7½”x9¼”)

Folder 76 – Girls in white, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x2¼”)

Folder 77 – Gym seating, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 78 – Hancock, Elizabeth M., undated, 3 photographs, b&w (2½”x3½”) and 10 memory cards

Folder 79 – Handy, Dr. Thomas G., in uniform at Red Cross Headquarters, France, 1920-1922, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 80 – Hiner Building, construction, undated, 3 photographs, color (4”x6”)

Folder 81 – Hiner, Margaret, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (2¾”x3 ¼”)

Folder 82 – Hiner, Mary Clay, Cottage room, 1914, 1 photograph, b&w (2½”x4”)

Folder 83 – Hiner, Mary Clay, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (2¾”x3¼”)

Folder 84 – Hiner, Mary Clay, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x4½”)

Folder 85 – Hopkins, 1927

Folder 86 – Housekeeping Supervisors, 1967, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 87 – Dr. Jarman, undated, 1 photograph (7¼”x4¼”)

Folder 88 – Jarman, Elizabeth, Laura Brewer, and Betty Hopkins, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (2¼”x3¼”)

Folder 89 – Jarman, Elizabeth, undated, 4 photographs, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 90 – Dr. Jarman, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x6”)

Folder 91 – Dr. Jarman, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x12”)

Folder 92 – Jarman Building, undated, 1 post card (3½”x5½”)

Folder 93 – Jarman Building, 1958-59, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 94 – Dr. Jeffers, Charlie Hop, and Dr. Lankford, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 95 – Dr. Jeffers, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x5”)

Folder 96 – Dr. Jeffers and student dissecting a cat, 1962, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 97 – Joany on the Stony, undated, 4 photographs, color (4½”x3½”)

Folder 98 – Joany on the Pony, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x5”) and 1 slide

Folder 99 – Joany on the Pony, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x4½”)

Folder 100 – John’s Memorial Church, 1958, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 101 – Junior Group, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3x4½”)

Folder 102 – Jones, Rebecca Kirk, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 103 – Lancaster Library, 1958-59, 1 photograph, b&w (3¼”x3½”)

Folder 104 – Lancaster Building, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (2¾”x3¼”)

Folder 105 – Lancaster clock, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 106 – Lancaster lawn, 1971, 1 photograph, color (8”x10”)

Folder 107 – Lancaster Library, late 1940s, post card

Folder 108 – Lancaster Library, inside, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

                     Lancaster Library, front, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

                     Lancaster Library, clock tower, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 109 – Mrs. Lankford showing Pakistani artifacts, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x4”)

Folder 110 – Library staff under Dr. Butler, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

   Box 7 of 9: Photographs, M-Z

Folder 1 – March, Miss Mary Blanche, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (2¾”x3¼”)

Folder 2 – May Day, 1959, 24 photographs, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 3 – May Queen and Court, 1970, 1 photograph, b&w (4½”x8”)

Folder 4 – Meeting (faculty), undated, 1 photograph, b&w (4½”x6½”)

Folder 5 – Memory of African Culture Performing Group, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 6 – Men’s Soccer Team, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 7 – Monogram Club, 1937-38, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 8 – Music Students, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (6”x6”)

Folder 9 – Office Staff, 1967, 6 photographs, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 10 – Oktoberfest, Geistmaster, Dave Gates, 1979, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x6”)

Folder 11 – Oktoberfest Skit, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x5”)

Folder 12 – Oktoberfest, Honorary Spirit Leaders, 1992, 2 photographs, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 13 – Oktoberfest, 1993, 22 photographs, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 14 – Oktoberfest Skits, undated, 2 photographs, b&w (4”x6”)

Folder 15 – Oktoberfest Float, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x6”)

Folder 16 – Oktoberfest, 1987, digital prints

Folder 17 – Oktoberfest, Clowns in Parade, undated, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 18 – Oktoberfest, 1980, 5 negatives

Folder 19 – Packing car (girl and mother), 1972, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x6”)

Folder 20 – Parade, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 21 – Party in room, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (2½”x3½”)

Folder 22 – Phonathon, 1975, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 23 – Pi Kappa Omega, 1923-24, 1 photograph, b&w (2½”x1½”)

Folder 24 – Pi Gamma Mu, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 25 – Presidents House, 1920, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 26 – Retiring Faculty, 1968, 2 photographs, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 27 – Rat Day, undated, 2 photographs, b&w (3½”x5”)

Folder 28 – Rat Day, 1959, 10 photographs, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 29 – Ring Dance, Junior, 1980, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5”)

Folder 30 – ROTC, undated, 1 photograph, color (3½”x5½”)

Folder 31 – Rotunda and Joany on the Stony, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 32 – Rotunda, Dome Artwork, undated, 3 negatives

Folder 33 – Rotunda Lobby, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 34 – Rotunda and Ruffner, undated, 7 negatives strips

Folder 35 – Rotunda, 1958-59, 3 photographs, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 36 – Rudd, Virginia and Mary Deans (bell in background), 1938, 1 photograph, b&w (2½”x4½”)

Folder 37 – Ruffner Hall, undated, 8 negative strips

Folder 38 – Russian International Relations, undated, 3 photographs, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 39 – Science Building, 1958-59, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 40 – Scrapbook page with photographs, 1918

Folder 41 – Scrapbook pages with pictures, early 1900s

Folder 42 – Senior Quartet, 1934, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 43 – Senior Sneak Day, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x5”)

Folder 44 – Shelton, Nancy, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 45 – Schlagel, Marvin and Dorothy, undated, 4 photographs, b&w (3½”x2½”)

2 photographs, b&w (3½”x4½”)

Folder 46 – Southwest Virginia Club, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 47 – Sprague, Rosemary, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 48 – Spring Break trip to Daytona, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x4½”)

Folder 49 – Step Show, 1987, digital prints

Folder 50 – Strawberry Hill Race, 1996, 1 photograph, color (4”x6”)

Folder 51 – Students, 1968, 3 photographs, color (3½”x3½”)

Folder 52 – Students cheering, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 53 – Students at formal event, 1963, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x5”)

Folder 54 – Students in front of building, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 55 – Student life, early 1920s, 17 photographs, b&w (3”x4”)

Folder 56 – Students in lounge, 1968, 1 photograph, color (3½”x 3½”)

Folder 57 – Students at picnic dinner, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 58 – Student scholars, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 59 – Student skit, 1968, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 60 – Student Union, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x4½”)

Folder 61 – Students, sack race, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 62 – Swimming, water show, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x6”)

Folder 63 – Tanning on roof, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x4½”)

Folder 64 – Tennis, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8¾”x7”)

Folder 65 – Mrs. Terry, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 66 – Train Station, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (3”x5”)

Folder 67 – Uncle Robert, 1909 (reprint), 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 68 – Victoria Vaiden and Friends, ca. 1920, 4 photographs, b&w (2¼”x3½”)

Victoria Vaiden in Formal Dress, ca. 1920, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x6”)

Elizabeth and Mary Johnston, ca. 1920, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Folder 69 – Virginian Staff, 1967, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 70 – Water Pageant, 1961, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 71 – Dr. Webber, late 1960s-early 1970s, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 72 – Wesley Foundation, 1967, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 73 – Wheeler Dorm, quiet hours, late 1970s, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x6”)

Folder 74 – Dr. Willett in class, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 75 – Dr. Willett at commencement, 1968, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 76 – Dr. Willet, inaugural parade, 1 photograph, b&w (8”x10”)

Folder 77 – Writing Letter, undated, 1photograph, b&w (3”x4½”)

   Box 8 of 9: Textiles; Graduation Gown

Graduation gown (year unknown)

   Box 9 of 9: Textiles; Longwood College Flags

(5) Longwood College flags, black and white (3’x6’)

(1) Longwood College flag, blue and white (3’x5’)

(1) Longwood College flag (w/ seal), blue and white (5’x8’)

(1) Longwood College Seal flag, white with blue embroidery (3’x4½’)

(1) Longwood flag, “1839” “In the Heart of Virginia”, blue with white embroidery (2½’x3’)  

(1) Longwood College flag (w/ seal), blue with white embroidery (3’x5’)

   Series IV

   Box 1 of 10: Documents, Photographs, and Scrapbook Pages

Folder 1 – Alma Mater, State Teachers College, written by Jennie Tabb and Virginia Potts.

Folder 2 – State Normal School Calendar, 1910

Folder 3 – Diploma, Susie Trigg Campbell, August 1889

Folder 4 – Letter (copy), April 5, 1887, written by Ida Hubbard to her sister.

Folder 5 – “Memories of Farmville,” written by Elizabeth Jarratt, class of 1915, transcribed by Katherine Jarratt, July 3, 1987

Folder 6 – Article re: Founders Day 1962, featuring the class of 1912 reunion group Report card and slips belonging to Jean Boatwright

Folder 7 – Article, “Rotunda Reflections,” written by Spotswood Hunnicutt Jones, class of 1945

Folder 8 – Notebook of Patricia Finn, includes notes and a variety of print documents inserted among the pages

Folder 9 – Rose Lee Dexter, 1902, 1 photograph, b&w (4½”x6½”)

Lillian Hock, ca. 1902, 1 photograph, b&w (6”x7¾”)

Carrie Mason, ca. 1902, 1 photograph, b&w (6”x7”)

Carrie Martin, ca. 1902, 1 photograph, b&w (6”x7”)

Hattie Robertson, ca. 1902, 1 photograph, b&w (9½”x6½”)

Folder 10 – Photographs collected by Hallie Chrisman, class of 1909

Girl sitting in a chair, ca. 1909, 1 photograph, b&w (5½”x3¼”)

Group of three students, ca. 1909, 1 photograph, b&w (4”x2½”)

Group of 8 girls, ca. 1909, 1 photograph, b&w (3½”x3½”)

Five students posed in front of double doors, undated, 1 photo post card, b&w (3”x5½”)

Class in session, ca. 1905-1906, 1 photograph, b&w (7½”x6”)

Folder 11 – Louise Ford, class of 1911, 1 photographic negative

Folder 12 – Constance Rumbough, ca. 1915, 1 photograph, b&w (2½”x4½”)

Jane M. Richards, ca. 1915, 1 photograph, b&w (2¼”x3¼”)

Folder 13 – May Day 1927, (3) photographs

Anne Archer, b&w (2½”x4½”)

Rosalind Harrell, b&w (2½”x4½”)

3 girls in costumes, b&w (2½”x4½”)

Folder 14 – Margaret Lohr, page from 1947 yearbook

Folder 15 – Rotunda staff members, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)

Joan of Arc Symbol, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5”x7”)         

Folder 16 – Class of 1894, 1 photograph (taken during 1953 reunion and includes  Loulie Gayle Bland, Maude Pollard Turman, Janie Staples Chappell and Lola Belle Bland), b&w (5”x7”)

Folder 17 – President Janet Greenwood with Alumni Relations Staff (ca. 1979-82)

Folder 18 – Laura Ziegler Albizier, Mariska Weigel Dolislager, and Mary Lara Thornton, class of 1980, 1 photograph, color (3½”x4½”)

Folder 19 – Woman swimmer, undated, 1 photograph, b&w (5½”x7”)

Folder 20 – Merrie Luise Verser, class of 1896, scrapbook pages (1896-1956)

Folder 21 – Addie Walker, 1905-1906, scrapbook pages

Folder 22 – Mary Rumbough, 1915, scrapbook page with graduation photo

Folder 23 – Scrapbook pages, 1916-1920

Folders 24-25 – Edna Bryant, 1926-1927, scrapbook pages

Folder 26 – Scrapbook pages, class of 1934

Folder 27 – Becky Ann, class of 1942, scrapbook pages

Folder 28 – Mary Adeline McGlothlin, 1934-1935, scrapbook pages

Folder 29 – Nancy Pitts Jones, class of 1946, scrapbook pages

Folder 30 – Rotunda, random clippings, October 1948-May 1950, scrapbook pages

Folders 31-33 – Mary Harris Clodfelter, class of 1962, scrapbook pages

   Box 2 of 10: Scrapbook Pages

Mary Adeline McGlothlin, 1934-1935, (5) scrapbook pages

   Box 3 of 10: Scrapbook Pages

Sue Yeoman Britton, class of 1934, scrapbook materials

   Box 4 of 10: Scrapbook

Patty Kingsley, class of 1969, scrapbook

   Box 5 of 10: Scrapbook

“The Class of 1941, Down Memory Lane,” scrapbook

   Box 6 of 10: Photographs and Memorabilia

Front of State Female Normal School campus, 1 photograph mounted on board, b&w (6”x9¼”)

Graduating class, 1904, 1 photograph mounted on board (photo in poor condition), b&w (5”x12”)

Training School student and teachers in front of Grainger (inscribed “Hunt” on bottom right of photo), 1 photograph mounted on board, b&w (10”x12”)

Class photo in front of the Rotunda entrance (student in white blouses with black scarves), undated, 1 photograph glued into folder, b&w (10”x14”)

Class photo on yard of campus (Farmville Episcopal Church in background), undated,  1 photograph mounted on board, b&w (10”x14”)

Lula O. Andrews, Head of English Department (SFNS), undated, 1 photograph mounted on and framed with board, b&w (7”x4½”)

Mary Woodruff, Principal of the Training School, undated, 1 photograph mounted on and framed with board, b&w (8½”x5”)

“Rat Day” sign, made of cutout cardboard marked with crayon, (11”x14”), donated by Anne Orgain, class of 1948

   Box 7 of 10: Memorabilia

Small wooden magnet (2½”x2½”), inscribed “Longwood”  

Small bowl-shaped cup (3” diameter, 3¼” height) with Longwood College seal, “We Teach to Teach;” a gift from Frances Northern Ashburn, class of 1955

Polished brass plaque (6”x4”), engraved “In memory of Diane Jeanette Collet, Class of 1973”

Polished brass plaque (6”x4”), engraved “In memory of Sandra Kay Hagy 1946-1968 and Kathleen Posivach 1946-1968”

Photo in front of campus (ca. 1910) (photo is rolled and in poor condition)(donated by David Hoffman, Charlotte Court House)

Silver Phi Zeta Sigma Dish, given by Susan Durrett Salter, class of 1945

Golden Geist, 1989, framed photograph

Book of poems, Special Edition of Good Fellowship, printed in 1909, donated by Hallie Chrisman of Ashland, VA.

Hat that belonged to Mrs. Boyd Coyner, purchased in March 1977 by Mr. Owen Fields donated to Alumni Relations

   Box 8 of 10: Textiles

Longwood College, (2) red and white pendants

Pendant, green and white, 33” in length; 12” at widest end; note attached reads “worn by Thelma Blanton Rockwell to class day 1913”

Gym Suit, 2-piece, burgundy

   Box 9 of 10: Freshman Beanies

Freshman Beanie (owner unidentified), 1968

Beanie, Betsy (Becky Ann), class of 1942

Beanie, Gertrude Wright

Rat Cap, Margaret McIntyre Davis, class of 1942

   Box 10 of 10: White Linen Handkerchiefs

(5) handkerchiefs, owner unidentified 

   Map File, Drawer 1: Diplomas

Connie Vaughan, 1891, diploma signed by teachers and trustees

Virginia Paulette, Certificate of Proficiency, June 6, 1904

Sallie Jean Boatwright Goodman, 1912, diploma signed by Dr. Jarman, donated by her niece, Margaret McIntyre Davis, class of 1946

   Series V

   Box 1 of 3: Alumni Activities and Alumni Assoc. Chapters

Folder 1 – Jarman Dinner, 1988-1989

Folder 2 – Jarman Dinner, 1992

Folder 3 – Jarman Society Papers, 1990-1991

Folder 4 – Dr. Dorrill Collection (undated)

Folder 5 – Farmville Chapter, scholarships (undated)

Folder 6 – Memoirs of the Rotunda, 2002

Folder 7 – Alumni House Committee (undated)

Folder 8 – Alumni Association Constitution and Bylaws (undated)

Folder 9 – Chapter Reunion Coffee (undated)

Folder 10 – Suffolk and Richmond Chapter’s Papers

Folder 11 – Suffolk Chapter Payment Book (undated)

   Box 2 of 3: Alumni Association Chapters and Mortar Board

Folder 1 – Miscellaneous

Folder 2 – Alumni Activities, planning sheets, 1982-1987

Folder 3 – Charlotte Chapter, 1977-1992

Folder 4 – Raleigh Chapter, 1976-1997

Folder 5 – Appomattox Chapter, 1976

Folder 6 – Richmond Chapter, 1977-1991

Folder 7 – Chesapeake/Portsmouth Chapter, 1983-1991

Folder 8 – Dinwiddie Chapter, 1980-1990

Folder 9 – New River Valley Chapter, 1977-1995

Folder 10 – Isle of Wight Chapter, 1974-1995

Folder 11 – Roanoke Chapter, 1983-1993

Folder 12 – Virginia Beach Chapter, 1983-1993

Folder 13 – Rappahannock Chapter, 1976

Folder 14 – Peninsula Chapter, A983-1991

Folder 15 – Northern Virginia Chapter, 1983-1987

Folder 16 – Loudoun County Chapter, 1976-1992

Folder 17 – Suffolk Chapter, 1983-1993

Folder 18 – “Old Dominion Day,” 1983-1993

Folder 19 – “Commonwealth Day,” 1986-1994

Folder 20 – Sesquicentennial, 1986-1988

Folders 21-22 – Mortar Board, 1992-2002

Folder 23 – Geist, through 1992

   Box 3 of 3: Artifacts

Folder 1 – The Longwood Players Present: “The Electronic Triangle,” and “The Crucible” (undated)

Folder 2 – Newspaper Clippings

Folder 3 – Barbara L. Bishop Collection Show, February 17, 1991

Item 1 – Binder of Photos: Founder’s Day 1989, Construction of Greenwood Library, and Jarman Dinner Photos, Slides of Misc. Sports, and Misc. Photographs

Item 2 – Nettie Virginia Smith, diploma, 1922

Item 3 – Poetry Book owned by Joy Burch, State Teachers College

Item 4 – Rotunda Fund, donor notebook, 2001-2005

Item 5 – Rotunda Rededication, guestbook

Item 6 – “Sankofa Lecture with Marge Connelly,” March 2, 2006

Item 7 – Barbara L. Bishop, programs, September 9, 1938

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives