Zilpah Tignor Collection
LU-222

Biographical Information

Zilpah Tignor graduated from [then] State Female Normal School in 1902. After graduation, Tignor spent many years teaching in the public schools in Hampton, Virginia.

Provenance
The items in this collection were donated to the Greenwood Library Archives by Anne Windler Inman, great-niece of Zilpah Tignor, in November 29, 2004.

Scope and Content

This collection dates from 1902 to 1913 and consists of an invitation to the graduation exercises for the January class of 1902 at State Female Normal School, letters of recommendation for Zilpah Tignor from her professors, a 1902 Virginian yearbook, and information regarding the Seaside Summer Normal School in Norfolk, Virginia.

Size
This collection consists of .75 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Digitized copies of the letters are available, as well as a transcription of the contents.

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1:

Invitation to graduation exercises, State Female Normal School, January 1902

Letter of recommendation from Dr. Robert Frazer, January 24, 1902 (transcript) (scan)

Letter of recommendation from E. Edith Cheatham, January 24, 1902 (transcript) (scan)

Letter of recommendation from Linus W. Kline, February 3, 1902 (transcript) (scan)

Correspondence from Dr. B.W. Arnold, February 24, 1902 (transcript) (scan)

Letter of recommendation from Dr. B.W. Arnold, February 24, 1902 (transcript) (scan)

Correspondence from Mary St. Clair Woodruff, April 15, 1902 (transcript) (scan)

Letter of recommendation from Mary St. Clair Woodruff, April 15, 1902 (transcript) (scan)

Seaside Summer Normal School, letter to faculty, April 25, 1913

Seaside Summer Normal School, list of faculty, 1913

1902 Virginian (yearbook)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives