Victoria Vaiden Collection
LU-206

Information about the Collection
Victoria Vaiden was born in 1901 in Cumberland, Virginia. While her family later moved to Baltimore, Maryland, Vaiden returned to Southside Virginia to attend [then] State Female Normal School. While at the school from 1916-1920, she was a member of the Cunningham Literary Society, YWCA, the Ellen Richards Club, the Raqueteers, D.I.R.K., and the Athletic Association. Additionally, Vaiden served as Business Manager of the Focus (literary magazine), and was Senior Class President.

Provenance
It is unknown when or by what means this collection was acquired by Longwood University or the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content
This collection dates from 1917 to 1920 and consists of (7) photographic images and a personal diary.

Size
This collection consists of 1.0 linear foot, contained in (1) archival flat box and an archival photograph binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1:

Victoria Vaiden diary, 1917-1919.

   Photographs

Located in Binder 14:

206.001 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated, Victoria Vaiden standing outdoors, on stairs.

206.002 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, 1919-20, inscribed on reverse, “Victoria Vaiden (with guitar) and friends, c. 1919-20.

206.003 – photograph, 3.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated, inscribed on reverse, “Elizabeth & Mary Johnston, Farmville.”

206.004 – photograph, 4.25”x2.5”, b&w, undated, unidentified woman standing on campus lawn, High Street and Methodist Church in background.

206.005 – photograph, 4”x2.5”, b&w, undated, inscribed on reverse, “Victoria Vaiden (coat) & friend.”

206.006 – photograph, 4”x3”, b&w, undated, inscribed on reverse, “Victoria Vaiden (front) & friend.

206.007 – photograph, 6”x4”, b&w, undated, unidentified woman (likely Victoria Vaiden) wearing wedding gown.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives