Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Special Collections & Archives: Home

Greenwood Library Special Collections and Archives

The Greenwood Library Special Collections and Archives contain unique materials significant to the history of Longwood University, Farmville, Virginia, and Prince Edward County Virginia.

The Greenwood Library Special Collections and Archives are made accessible to the public as historic records. Some materials within the collection contain images, language, and other elements that are offensive, hurtful, or racist in nature. These records are preserved and maintained to document a time and place in history, capture contemporary social attitudes and behaviors, and offer evidence of the need for constant vigilance in building a more inclusive future. They do not mirror the current views of Longwood University or Greenwood Library.

Requests for any materials from the Archives or Special Collections can be made by utilizing the Request Form.  Likewise, requests for access to any materials from the Special Collections and Archives can also be made by contacting Jamie Krogh or Benedict Chatelain or in-person at The Desk.

Schedule an Appointment

Need to access the archives or special collections? 

Please schedule an appointment with an Archivist and specify which collection or items you wish to review. If you have questions or wish to speak with an archivist prior to your appointment, please contact us.  

 

Special Collections Reading Room

Archives and Special Collections Reading Room/Library Room 202

Longwood University Yearbooks

Archival Storage

Archival Storage

Rotunda - Student Newspaper

Special Collections Storage

Special Collections Storage

Maquette of Civil Rights Monument in Richmond, VA

Digital Commons LogoThe Digital Commons is Longwood University’s Institutional Repository. Institutional Repositories (IRs) bring together all of a University’s research under one umbrella, with an aim to preserve and provide access to that research. Digital Commons @ Longwood also contains some digitized collections from Special Collections & Archives. 

IRs are an excellent vehicle for working papers or copies of published articles and conference papers. Included in the scope are presentations, senior theses, and other works. If you have work you would like to include, please contact either Mark Hamilton or Hope D. Alwine.

Work included in the Digital Commons is accessible via Google and major search engines, and becomes findable through the Digital Commons Network.

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh

Archives & Records Specialist
Library 104
434.395.2432

Archives Associate

Benedict Chatelain

Benedict Chatelain

Library Information & Archives Associate
Library 116A
434.395.2448