Jane Crute Sowards Collection
LU-351

Information about the Collection

Jane Elizabeth Crute Sowards attended Longwood College from 1954-1958. During this time she earned an undergraduate degree in business education. She was involved in numerous organizations on campus, including membership in Future Teachers of America, Future Business Leaders of American, the Granddaughters Club, the Tri-County Club, and the Canterbury Club. Additionally, she served on both the House Council and the Rotunda staff. The collection also includes materials from Jane Sowards’ mother, Jane Clute Crute, who attended Longwood in the 1920s.

Provenance

This collection was donated to the Greenwood Library Archives, by Jane Crute Sowards, in July 2019.

Scope and Content

The materials in this collection date from 1922-1928 and 1954-1958 and include photographic images, textiles (scarf and collars), college textbooks, class papers, ceramics, and ephemera.

Size

This collection consists of 4.8 linear feet contained in (1) legal-sized Hollinger box and (5) archival flat boxes.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for archival purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 6

Jane Clute Crute – autograph book, ca. 1927 (includes reminiscences and addresses from classmates during summer term at State Teachers College).

Jane Clute Crute – scrapbook page (identifying key located with scrapbook page).

   Box 2 of 6

class paper, Report on the Advertisement of Gorham Silver in Magazines, 1955 by Jane Crute.

class paper, Teachers’ Certifications, Salaries, and Welfare in Virginia, 1956 by Jane Crute.

class paper, Philosophy 452, by Gwen White, Ellen Webb, and Jane Crute, 1958.

Quiz, Education 341, undated.

Quiz #2, Education 341, undated.

A Chronology of Business Education in the United States

Lesson plans re: the teaching of typing.

Longwood College Bulletin, vol. XLIV, no. 4, November 1958

Commencement Program, 1958

Virginia Journal of Education, March 1959

Correspondence, Merle Landrum to Jane Sowards, February 16, 1960

Founders Day, program and attendee nametag, 1963

Francis Butler Simkins, obituary, 1966

The Rotunda, vol. XLVI, no. 14, Mary 13, 1968

Founders Day, 1968 – attendee nametag, schedule, program, and playbill.

Longwood College Bulletin, Alumnae Issue, winter 1972-73.

Longwood College News, summer 1988, Special Class Notes Edition

Longwood College Alumni, refrigerator magnet

Longwood College gift bags (2)

A Brief Look at Longwood, informational booklet, 1998-1999

Longwood University, self-guided tour pamphlet

Postcards, unused, featuring Longwood University Rotunda

Class of 1958, notes on class history by Ann Wheeler Abernathy, 2006

Newspaper clippings re: 2016 Vice Presidential Debate, Washington Post, October 1, 2016, October 4, 2016, & October 5, 2016.

Longwood Magazine, Fall 2016

Newspaper clipping re: donation to school by Jane Richardson Taylor, Class of 1972, Loudon Now, February 1, 2017.

Longwood Magazine, Spring 2017.

Gregg Shorthand Dictionary, 1954.

textbook, Gregg Speed Building for Colleges, 1955.

textbook, Standard Handbook for Secretaries, 1956.

textbook, Your First Year of Teaching Typewriters, 1947.

   Box 3 of 6

Some Aids to Teaching Bookkeeping, undated

textbook, Accounting Principles, 1953

classroom-used ruler for accounting class (inscribed on reverse: Jane Crute, C.H. 57)

   Box 4 of 6

(1) scarf, silk (worn by Jane Crute during her time at Longwood)

(5) handmade collars (worn by Jane Crute during her time at Longwood)

   Box 5 of 6

(3) dolls, handmade by Jane Clute Crute, which accompanied Jane Crute Sowards to Longwood and used for dorm room Christmas decoration.

(2) “rag” dolls, in red & white outfits, handmade by Jane Clute Crute, which accompanied Jane Crute Sowards to Longwood.

   Box 6 of 6

Graduation cap tassel (worn by Jane Crute at Commencement, 1958).

Longwood College, Wedgewood China ashtray.

   Photographs

Located in Binder 19:

351.001 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, (L to R) Lucy Wooden, Margaret Dowdy.

351.002 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, (L to R) Jo Maxey White, Alice Sawyer Pate.

351.003 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, (L to R) Shirley Hauptman Gaunt, Carol Wolfe, (behind) Eleanor Weidle Bobbitt.

351.004 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, (center) Eleanor Weidle Bobbitt.

351.005 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, (L to R) Ann Wheeler, unknown, Mary Lee Dean.

351.006 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, (L to R) Nancy Drudge Fawcett, Margaret Dowdy.

351.007 – Joan of Arc statue in Longwood University Rotunda.

351.008 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, 2013

351.009 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, 2013 – (L to R) Alice Sawyer Pate, Pat Patton, Jane Crute Sowards.

351.010 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, 2013 – (L to R) Nancy Drudge Fawcett, Jane Crute Sowards, Alice Sawyer Pate, Gwen White Pruitt.

351.011 – Class of 1958 reunion photo, 2013 – (L to R) Alice Sawyer Pate, Margaret Dowdy, Jane Crute Sowards.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives