Scotia Stark Haggerty Collection
LU-358

Biographical Information

Scotia (Stark) Haggerty was born in 1886 in Natural Bridge, Virginia. She came to [then] State Female Normal School in 1901 and graduated in 1904. After graduation she became an attorney, was admitted to practice law before the U.S. Supreme Court in 1930 and, as of 1954, was one of four women working as an attorney in the U.S. Department of Justice. Haggerty was active in the Alumnae Association, and often hosted gatherings of alumnae at her home in Washington, D.C. Scotia (Stark) Haggerty passed away in 1964 and is buried in Buena Vista, Virginia.

Provenance

The photograph in this collection was donated to the Longwood College Alumnae Association in 1963 by Scotia (Stark) Haggerty. It is unknown when the collection was transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content

This collection consists of a black & white photograph, mounted on board, of the June 1904 graduating class of the State Female Normal School. On the bottom margin of the board, numbers are assigned each person, with a corresponding list of names on the reverse.

Size

This collection consists of .75 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes

This collection is housed in a multi-collection box designated for oversized photographs.

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1:

358.001 – photograph, b&w, mounted on board, 5”x12”, June 1904 Graduates. (scan)

      List of names on reverse correspond to numbers on the bottom margin of board: (scan)

            1) Jemima Hurt

            2) Hallie Miller

            3) Carrie Sanderlin (likely Carrie Sutherlin)

            4) Mary McChesney

            5) Nellie Smithey

            6) Mary Herbert

            7) Jessie Finke

            8) Ollie Beard

            9) Jessie Dey

           10) Amelia Harrison

           11) Scotia Stark

           12) Mary Powers

           13) Fannie Hodnett

           14) Bettie Murfee

           15) Nannie Burger

           16) Ethel Reynolds

           17) Claudia Perkins

           18) Minnie Thompson

           19) Jessie Whitmore – Mrs. Elliott Booker

           20) Gertrude Griffin

           21) Carrie Martin

           22) Ella Hahn

           23) Blanche Johnston

           24) Lucy Crisman (likely Lucie Chrisman)

           25) Mary Baldwin

           26) Ellen Painter

           27) Peachy Sanderlin

           28) Lottie Snead

           29) Elmer Elsworth Jones

           30) Cora Kay

           31) Louise Vaughon

           32) May Lou Campbell

           33) Etta Sampson 

           34) Bessie Carter

           35) Mary Clay Hiner

           36) Lillian Saunders

           37) Mary Rhodes

           38) Lucy Stearnes

           39) Ella Burger

           40) Inez Clary

           41) Alda Reynolds

           42) Sarah Goode

           43) Blanche Gilbert

           44) Byrd King

           45) Audrey Brittingham

           46) Sadie Leary

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives