Sarah Leech Collection
LU-224

Biographical Information
Sarah Margaret Leech was born in Richmond, Virginia in 1925. She attended [then] State Teachers College from 1943 to 1945. While at the school she was a member of Gamma Theta sorority and the YWCA.

Provenance
This collection was donated to Longwood University by Sarah Leech’s daughter, Daphne Elliott.

Scope and Content
This collection, which dates from 1943 to 1945, includes correspondence, ephemera, student records, photographs, and a scrapbook.

Size
This collection consists of .85 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box and an archival photograph binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1: Scrapbook, Correspondence & Ephemera

correspondence, 1944-1945

       Mary Crank to Sarah Leech, 01/08/1944

       Mar Kent, Nancy, Fan, Betty Lou, Beanie, & Heidi to Mrs. Leech, 05/23/1944

       Mary Jane Oyler to Sarah Leech, 05/23/1944

       Mrs. M. to Sarah Leech, (date illegible)

       Betty Lou to Sarah Leech, (undated)

       Ruth Wilson to Sarah Leech, (undated)

       unknown to Sarah Leech, (undated)

Western Union Telegrams from Johnny (John William Johnston), 1944-1945

Valentine Card from Johnny (John William Johnston), undated

State Teachers College – student’s record book, grade reports, class reports, & chapel reports, 1943 – 1945

correspondence from State Teachers College, 1944 – 1945

       J.L. Jarman to Charles Leech, 01/04/1944

       Virgilia Bugg to Sarah Leech, 06/12/1944

       Virginia Treakle to Sarah Leech, 08/11/1944

Gamma Theta, banquet menus, 1944 – 1945

Gamma Theta newsletters, March 28, 1945

newspaper clippings, unattributed, re: school, wedding announcements, and World War II

program, The Ionian Singers, October 13, 1944, State Teachers College Audiorium

program, State Teachers College production of Midsummer Nights Dream, March 10, 1945 includes inscriptions from cast & crew (Sarah Leech worked backstage)

program, V.E. Day Union Service, May 8, 1945, Farmville Baptist Church

church bulletins, undated, Farmville Methodist Church & St. John’s, Hampton, Va.

Gregg Shorthand Speed Certificates, 1944 – 1945

souvenir programs

       George Washington Birthplace National Monument

       The Philadelphia Orchestra

       Civic Music Association of Richmond presents Iturbi


Sarah Leech scrapbook, 1944-1945

   Photographs

Located in Binder 15:

 

224.001 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Eight women on balcony of Grainger Hall. Inscribed on reverse: “Betty Lambert, Robin Robins, Dotty Wright, Julia Baylor, Margaret White, & Betty Burnett.”*

224.002 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman sleeping in dorm room bed. Inscribed on reverse: “Lazy as ever.”*

224.003 – photograph, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman doing gymnastics on dorm room bed.*

224.004 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Two women reading in dorm room beds. Inscribed on reverse: “Our most natural position.” (2 copies)*

224.005 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Six women crowded on dorm room bed. Inscribed on reverse: “Sprye, Hilda, Me, Betty Lou, Barbara Lee Myers, Shuffle.”*

224.006 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Woman smoking; athletic field in background. Inscribed on reverse: “Beanie Dudley.”*

224.007 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Five women seated on brick steps. Inscribed on reverse: “Barbara Lee Myers, Cara Redd, Pat McLean, Betty Burnett.”*

224.008 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Group of women seated on brick steps. Two women in center foreground. Inscribed on reverse: “Betty Lou, Cara Redd.”*

224.009 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Christmas tree.

224.010 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Two women standing next to car on High Street. B.M. Cox Home in background.*

224.011 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Woman standing next to car on High Street. B.M. Cox Home in background.*

224.012 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Six women seated on roof of building. Inscribed on reverse: “Judy, Rich, Ann Dickenson, Fan, Me, Heidi, Nancy.”*

224.013 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Six women seated around pond in sunken garden.*

224.014 – photograph, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Six women standing and sitting near tree.*

224.015 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Four women in dorm room.*

224.016 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Six women on dorm room bed, reading book.*

224.017 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Five women on dorm room bed. Inscribed on reverse: “Fan, Heidi, Nancy, Ann Foster, Me.”*

224.018 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Five women on dorm room bed. Inscribed on reverse: “Betty Lou, Nancy, Blair, Fan, Me.” (2 copies)*

224.019 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Woman standing on lawn in front of Rotunda. High Street and Farmville United Methodist Church in background. Inscribed on reverse: “Betty Lou.”*

224.020 – photograph, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Woman standing on lawn in front of Rotunda. High Street and Farmville United Methodist Church in background. Inscribed on reverse: “Hilda Bennett.”*

224.021 – photograph, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Two women standing next to pillar on Colonnades. Inscribed on reverse: “Hilda Bennett, Ann Shufflebarger.”*

224.022 – photograph, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Woman standing against railing on Colonnades. Inscribed on reverse: “Ann Shufflebarger.”*

224.023 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Women standing behind sundial. Inscribed on reverse: “Betty Lou, Hilda, Shuffle[barger].”*

224.024 – photograph, 4.25”x3.25”, b&w, undated. Woman lying on dorm room bed, smoking pipe.*

224.025 – photograph, 4.25”x3.25”, b&w, undated. Woman sitting on dorm room bed.*

224.026 – photograph, 4.25”x3.25”, b&w, undated. Woman sitting on dorm room bed.*

224.027 – photograph, 4.25”x3.25”, b&w, undated. Woman standing on brick steps behind Colonnades.*

224.028 – photograph, 4.25”x3.25”, b&w, undated. Woman sitting on railing on Colonnades.*

224.029 – photograph, 4.25”x3.25”, b&w, undated. Woman sitting on hood of car.*

224.030 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Woman sitting on brick steps behind Colonnades.*

224.031 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Five women sitting on railing behind Colonnades.*

224.032 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Woman standing outside dorm room window.*

224.033 – photograph, 5”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Three women standing outside dorm room window. Inscribed on reverse: “Gwen Ackis, Ann Dickenson, Ann Foster.”*

224.034 – photograph, 7”x5”, b&w, undated. Woman sitting on steps behind Colonnades.*

224.035 – photograph, 4.5”x3.25”, b&w, undated. Portrait photo, unidentified woman.

224.036 – photograph, 4”x3”, b&w, undated. Portrait photo, Betty Lou. Inscribed on front, bottom, right hand corner: “Lots of love, Betty Lou.”

224.037 – photograph, 4”x3”, b&w, undated. Portrait photo, Heidi Lacy. Inscribed on front, bottom, right hand corner: “Dear Si, (over).” Inscribed on reverse: “You are one swell gal and roommate and I loves ya’ good – Be good – Lots of love, Heidi.”

224.038 – photograph, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Portrait photo, Betty Lambert.

224.039 – photograph, 4.75”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Portrait photo, man in suit and tie. Inscribed on reverse: “Deek.”

224.040 – photograph, 4.75”x3.75”, b&w, undated. Small child playing in yard. Inscribed on reverse: “isn’t good, but it shows her “bobb” hair is returning a jutty red. – M.”

224.041 – photograph in presentation folder, 4.75”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Portrait photo, unidentified woman.

224.042 – photographic negative, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman standing in front of tree behind Grainger Hall and Rotunda.*

224.043 – photographic negative, b&w, undated. Two unidentified women standing on lawn in front of Rotunda.*

224.044 – photographic negative, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman in bathing suit and fur coat, smoking cigarette.*

224.045 – photographic negative, b&w, undated. Two unidentified women seated on balcony railing.*

224.046 – photographic negative, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman standing in front of tree behind Grainger Hall and Rotunda.*

224.047 – photographic negative, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman wearing riding outfit, standing next to tree.*

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives