Ruth Clendenning Gaver Photograph Collection
LU-192

Biographical Information

Ruth Clendenning Gaver was born in Loudon County, Virginia in 1881. From 1901 to 1903 she attended [then] State Female Normal School. After graduation, Ruth Clendenning Gaver worked for many years as a teacher and substitute teacher in Danville, Virginia public schools.

Provenance
This collection of photographs, which originally belonged to Ruth Clendenning Gaver, were donated to [then] Longwood College by her daughter, Mary Virginia Gaver of New Brunswick, New Jersey. It is unknown when the collection was transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content

The Ruth Clendenning Gaver collection dates from approximately from the late 1890s through 1903, and consists of (9) photographic images of women at [then] State Female Normal School in Farmville.

Size
This collection consists of 1.25 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box and an archival photograph binder.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of Collection

Photograph Binder #14:

192.001 – photograph, unknown date, 5”x7”, black & white, Board of Editors – 1902 Virginian (yearbook)(scan)

192.002 – photograph mounted on board, unknown date, 10”x5’5”, black & white, Annie J. Thraves – school nurse

                 (same photo used in 1907 Virginian)(scan)

192.003 – carte de visite, unknown date, 7.25”x5.25”, black & white, unidentified woman(scan)

192.004 – carte de visite, unknown date, 5.75”x6.75”, black & white, unidentified woman (likely Portia Lee Morrison)(scan)

192.005 – photograph mounted on board, unknown date, 5.25”x8.25”, black & white, unidentified group of 11 women.(scan)

192.006 – photograph mounted on board, 1902, 7”x9”, school children with teachers. Inscribed in front, right-hand corner of photo: “1902, Long                                 dresses, high shoes, aprons.”(scan)

192.007 – photograph mounted on board, 1902, 7”x9”, school children with teachers. Inscribed in front, right-hand corner of photo: “1902, Long                                 dresses, ruffles, high shoes.”(scan)

192.008 – photograph mounted on board, unknown date, 8”x10”, group of women with dog. List of names on reverse of photo. See full finding aid                             for list of names.(scan)

192.009 – photograph mounted on board, unknown date, 12”x14”, black & white, unidentified group of men and women, circa early 1900s.(scan)

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives