Pi Kappa Omega Society
LU-072

Information about the Collection
Pi Kappa Omega was a local honorary society, organized in 1918, as means of recognition for students, alumni, and faculty who exemplified scholarship, character, and leadership. Additionally, the members were charged with contributing to the intellectual and social life of the campus. Standards for membership in the society were sustained high academic performance as well as exemplification of leadership and morality. The society had three types of membership: student, associate (faculty), and honorary (alumni). Pi Kappa Omega continued on campus until 1968, when the decision was made to merge with the national honor society in Education, Kappa Delta Pi.

Provenance
It is unknown when this collection was transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content
This collection, which dates from 1918 to 1928, consists of a ledger book that contains the society constitution, by-laws, and membership roster.

Size
This collection consists of .95 linear foot contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collections

Box 1 of 1:

Ledger book, 1918-1928

     pages 3-11: Constitution, adopted February 1919

     page 11: charter member signatures

     page 12: amendments to the constitution, 1919

     pages 19-21: by-laws

     pages 27-29: new inductee signatures, 1919-1928

     page 51: honorary members

     page 101: society ritual

     page 145: associate members, 1918-1921

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives