Mary Louise Gayle Bland Collection
LU-047

Information about the Collection
Mary Louise “Loulie” (Gayle) Bland of Gloucester County, Virginia was a member of the Class of 1894. After graduation she taught in the public schools of Gloucester County for four years before marrying Harvey Samuel Bland in 1898. The couple moved to Buena Vista, Virginia where they opened a general merchandise store. Mrs. Bland returned often to Farmville for class reunions, including the 50th Anniversary of the school in March 1934.

Provenance

The materials in this collection, originally belonging to Mary Louise Gayle Bland, were donated to the Greenwood Library, in June 2007, by Anne Bland and other members of the Mary Louisa Gayle Bland family.

Scope and Content
This collection consists of notebooks, class papers, and correspondence dating from 1891-1894. Also included is a History of the Class of 1894 written in 1945 as well as information regarding various class reunions.

Size
This collections consists of 1.0 linear foot contained in 1 archival flat box.

Notes
A digitized copy of the History of the Class of 1894 is available.

There are no restriction to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1

Folder 1: tuition receipt, dated February 9, 1893

Folder 2: correspondence, “Loulie” Gayle to [unnamed] Aunt, November 20, 1892 (scan)

Folder 3: handwritten papers by Mary Louise (Gayle) Bland while a student at State Female Normal School

     1) Relation of Psychology to Primary Reading

     2) Lessons on the Productions of Greece

     3) The Climate of South America

     4) Shall Women Vote? (negative)

     5) The Three Casket Scene [The Merchant of Venice]

     6) A Normal School Zero

     7) Sand Modeling in Structural Geography

     8) Reinforcement

     9) untitled (re: grammar)

    10) untitled (re: literature) (heavily damaged along right-hand border of page)

Folder 4: notebook, notes from Astronomy class

Folder 5: notebook, notes from Biology and English classes

Folder 6: notebook, notes from Geometry, Trigonometry, and History classes (significant water & insect damage)

Folder 7: textbook, “Krüsi’s Drawing Manual for Teachers,” 1887

Folder 8: program, State Female Normal School Commencement Exercises, 1894

Folder 9: Class of 1894, rules re: correspondence, list of deceased members, & list of children, grandchildren, etc. (ca. 1959)

Folder 10: History of Class of 1894, State Female Normal School (written ca. 1945) (scan)

Folder 11: correspondence, Maud (Pollard) Turman to Mary Louise (Gayle) Bland, April 18, 1947, re: History of Class of 1894

Folder 12: small card inscribed with quote from John A. Cunningham

Folder 13: cabinet card enclosure, undated (inscribed: Prof. Cunningham, S.N.S. Farmville Va., Dear to the hearts of his pupils.) (corresponding            image, 047.001, moved into Binder #19.) (scan)

 

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives