Special Collections and Archives Buttons

 

Marguerite M. Wiatt Collection
LU-308

Biographical Information
Marguerite Mackey Wiatt of Gloucester County, Virginia was born in 1897. From 1915 to 1917 she attended [then] State Normal School for Women. While at the school she was a member of Pierian Literary Society, the Love Set Tennis Club, the Junior and Senior Basketball Teams, and served on the YWCA Membership Committee.

Provenance
The materials in this collection were donated to the Greenwood Library Archives by Louise M. Corbo in May 2017.

Scope and Content
This collection, which dates from 1916 to 1917, consists of a Senior Class songbooks, (3) photographs, and Marguerite Wiatt’s 1917 diploma.

Size
This collection consists of 1.45 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box and an archival photograph binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1: Diploma & Ephemera

Senior Class, Songs, State Normal School, Farmville, Virginia, 1917 

Marguerite Wiatt, diploma, State Normal School for Women, 1917 (scan)

   Photographs

308.001 - photograph, 10”x8”, b&w, undated, group photo of 10 women in front of unidentified building. Inscribed on reverse: “Marguerite – Bottom row – 1st on left.” (scan)

308.002 – photograph mounted on board, 6”x10”, b&w, 1916, women dressed in middie blouses, with baseball equipment. Inscribed on reverse: “Those winning points on Field Day 1916, S.N.S.” “Marguerite, in middle, seated on ground.” (scan)

308.003 – photograph mounted on board, 6.25”x10.25”, b&w, 1917, Junior Class Basketball Team. Inscribed on reverse, “Marguerite, 5th from left.” “M.Wiatt, Junior Team, 1916, S.N.S.” (scan)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives