Margaret McNamara Anderson Collection
LU-328

Biographical Information

Margaret McNamara was born in White Stone, Virginia in 1914. From 1931 to 1935 she attended then-State Teachers College. While a student Margaret McNamara was a member of El Circulo Espanol (Spanish Club) and served as the Senior class representative to the Student Standards Committee. In 1942, she married Linwood Anderson, to whom she was married for 58 years. Margaret McNamara Anderson passed away in 2008.

Provenance

This collection of materials was originally compiled by Margaret McNamara while a student at State Teachers College. The collection was donated to Longwood University by Robert and Cherie Kingery, longtime friends of Margaret McNamara Anderson, in August 2009.

Scope and Content

The scrapbook in this collection dates from 1931 to 1935 and includes newspaper clippings, ephemera, correspondence and photographs that document Margaret McNamara’s time as a student at State Teachers College. Also included in the collection are photocopied newspaper clippings, ephemera, and later photographs of Margaret McNamara Anderson.

Size

This collection consists of 1.25 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box and an archival photograph binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

A digitized version of the scrapbooks in this collection is available on the Longwood University Digital Commons:

https://digitalcommons.longwood.edu/scrapbooks/19/

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1:

Newspaper clippings

Program, Inauguration of Dr. Francis G. Lankford, 1955

Scrapbook, 1931-1935 (scan)
     

Photographs

Located in Binder 15:

     328.001 - photograph, 4”x6”, b&w, 1990. Class of 1935, 55th Reunion.

     328.002 - photograph, 4”x6”, color, 2007. Margaret McNamara Anderson.

     228.003 - photograph, 4”x6”, color, 2007. Cherie Kingery and Margaret McNamara Anderson.

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives