Longwood University Logo
Greenwood Library, Celebrate Curiosity logo with link to homepage

Raymond Parsons Collection: Home

 

Lucie and Willie White Collection
LU-145

Biographical Information

This collection contains items related to Lucie and Willie White, sisters who attended Farmville Female Collection in 1864. The sister were born in 1834 and 1842, respectively, in Fluvanna County, Virginia.

Provenance

The materials in this collection were donated to [then] Longwood College in 1993, by Raymond L. Parsons of Loxahatchee, Florida.

Scope and Content

This collection ranges in date from 1844 to 1864 and consists of a land survey of property in Fluvanna County done in 1844, (2) pieces of correspondence between sisters Lucie and Willie White in 1864, and (1) piece of correspondence from Arnaud Preot, [then] President of Farmville Female College to James P. White.

Size

This collection consists of .85 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1:

Plat, land belonging to Robert Kent, Fluvanna County, February 19, 1844. (scan)

Correspondence, Arnaud Preot to James P. White, January 26, 1864. (scan) (transcript)

Correspondence, Willie White to “sister,” April 22, 1864. (scan) (transcript)

Correspondence, Willie White to Lucie, May 6, 1864. (scan) (transcript)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Profile Photo
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects: Archives