Louise Doyle Collection
LU-225

Biographical Information
Louise Doyle was born in McKenney, Virginia in 1901. She attended [then] State Normal School for Women from 1920 to 1921. While at the school she served as President of the Dinwiddie Club and on both the Music and Membership Committees of the YWCA. Additionally she was a member of the Glee Club, the Athletic Association, the Cunningham Literary Society, D.I.R.K., and the Rural Club. After graduation she taught for several years in Elizabeth City, North Carolina. In 1927 she married Clarence W. Rigdon who unfortunately died just one year later. Louise Doyle Rigdon returned to [by then] State Teachers College to earn her bachelor’s degree and graduated in 1939. For many years, Louise Doyle Rigdon served as the President of the Hopewell Chapter of the Alumnae Association.

Provenance
‚ÄčThis collection was donated to the Longwood College Office of Alumni Relations by Mary Burton of Richmond, Virginia in 1993. It is unknown when the collection was transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content
This collection, which dates from 1920 to 1937, consists of Louise Doyle’s students records, ephemera, (1) portrait photograph, and a scrapbook which documents her initial time at Longwood from 1920 to 1921.

Size
This collection consists of 1.75 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box and an archival photograph binder.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

A digitized version of the scrapbook in this collection is available on the Longwood University Digital Commons: https://digitalcommons.longwood.edu/scrapbooks/16/

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1: Scrapbook & Ephemera

Louise Doyle, class schedule, September 1920

The Rotunda

         January 14, 1921

         February 4, 1921

Glee Club Opera, flyer for performance, “By the Zuyder Zee,” February 11 & 12, 1921

Lasell Seminary, Commencement Program, 1930

Songbook, “Singing on the Steps at Longwood,” 1937

State Female Normal School, color lithograph, undated (likely clipped from S.F.N.S. catalog)

State Teachers College, Alma Mater songbook, undated

school songs, undated

paper hatchet (likely originally part of scrapbook)

 

Louise Doyle scrapbook, 1920 to 1921 (scan)

   Photographs

Located in Binder 15:

 

225.001 – portrait photograph, 1.25”x1.0”, b&w, undated, Louise Doyle portrait photograph.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives