Lottie Belle West Collection
LU-231

Biographical Information
Lottie Belle West of Bacon’s Castle, Virginia was born in 1901. From 1918 to 1919 she attended [then] State Female Normal School and later taught school in Richmond, Virginia. She later returned to, by then, State Teachers College and earned her bachelor’s degree in 1936.

Provenance
It is unknown when, or by what means, this collection was acquired by Longwood University or the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content
The scrapbook in this collection, which dates from 1918 to 1919, contains handwritten notes, ephemera, photographs, and other memorabilia from Lottie West’s initial period of time at the school. Additionally, there are other pieces of ephemera that were likely previously affixed to pages in the scrapbook. Lastly, this collection includes correspondence that dates from 1918 to 1919 and 1937.

Size
This collection consists of .90 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

A digitized version of the scrapbook is available on the Longwood University Digital Commons: https://digitalcommons.longwood.edu/scrapbooks/14/

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1:

calling cards and ephemera

“Daisies Won’t Tell,” paper craft fortune telling game

Souvenir de France, silk handkerchief (originally affixed to scrapbook page 14)

programs:

       Choral Club presents Dr. J.L. Jarman

       Birth of a Race, movie program, Eldon Theatre, Dendron, Virginia

correspondence:

       Fannie Lee Bugg & Mary D. Williams to Lottie West, October 30, 1918

       E. Jr. to Lottie West, April 6, 1919

       Mary Clynch to Lottie West, April 7, 1919

       Lona _____ to Lottie West & “The Trio of Table 2,” undated

       J.L. Jarman to Lottie West Whitehurst, May 14, 1937

Lottie Belle West, scrapbook, 1918-1919 (scan)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives