Kate Gannaway Trent Collection
LU-189

Biographical Information

Kate Gannaway Trent, of Dillwyn, Virginia was born in Baltimore, Maryland in 1900, shortly before her family returned to their ancestral home at Caryswood Plantation in Buckingham County, Virginia. She attended high school at [then] State Normal School for Women’s training school, from which she graduated in 1919. Trent then earned her teaching certificate from State Normal School in 1922. From 1922 to 1924 she taught at Grace Arents School in Richmond, Virginia. Trent returned to [by then] State Teachers College in 1924 and earned her Bachelor of Science degree in 1926. From 1926 to 1930 she was a teaching supervisor at the State Teachers College in Fredericksburg, Virginia. In 1931 she earned her master degree from Columbia University and then took a teaching position at Michigan State College in Ypsilanti, Michigan. Trent then returned to the State Teachers College in Fredericksburg in 1933, where she taught for three years before taking a position at Wilson Teachers College in Washington, D.C. in 1936. In 1947, she returned to State Teachers College in Farmville where she served first as a supervisor in the elementary school and then as a professor in the Education Department. She remained at the school until her retirement in 1971.

Provenance
This collection was donated to [then] Longwood College in 1984 by Kate Gannaway Trent. It is unknown when the collection was transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content

This collection dates from 1920 to 1926 and consists of a student’s record book belong to Kate Trent as well as 23 photographs, taken at the State Normal School for Women 1921 Field Day, which include images of faculty and students involved in field day events.

Size
This collection consists of .65 linear feet contained in an archival flat box and an archival photograph binder.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1

Kate Gannaway Trent, student’s record book, 1920-1926.

   Photographs

Located in Binder 14:

189.001 – photograph, 1921, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, Dr. Boyd Coyner announcing winners of Field Day events.(scan)

189.002 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, unidentified group of women standing in line.(scan)

189.003 – photograph, 1921, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, two unidentified women peeking through bushes.(scan)

189.004 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, two unidentified women playing “wheelbarrow.”(scan)

189.005 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, 12 unidentified women wearing middie blouses.(scan)

189.006 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, large gathering of spectators watching Field Day.(scan)

189.007 – photograph, 1921, 3”x4”, b&w, women on basketball court, spectators watching.(scan)

189.008 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, children running on campus field, Field Day spectators and campus building in background.(scan)

189.009 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, large gathering of spectators watching Field Day.(scan)

189.010 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, spectators watching Field Day from Chambers Street. White House Hall and South Tabb Hall in background.(scan)

189.011 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, spectators watching Field Day.(scan)

189.012 – photograph, 1921, 4”x2.75”, b&w, large gathering of spectators watching Field Day, laundry building (now Barlow Hall), in background.(scan)

189.013 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, large gathering of spectators watching Field Day, laundry building (now Barlow Hall), in background.(scan)

189.014 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, students participating in Field Day events, laundry building (now Barlow Hall), in background.(scan)

189.015 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, students participating in Field Day events, laundry building (now Barlow Hall), in background.(scan)

189.016 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, two unidentified women on tennis court, holding rackets.(scan)

189.017 – photograph, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, two unidentified women playing tennis.(scan)

189.018 – photograph, 1921, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, women standing around campfire, roasting hotdogs.(scan)

189.019 – photograph, 1921, 3”x4”, b&w, African-American child wearing “Aunt Jemima Pancake Flour” sign, holding unidentifiable object. Women in background gathering around basketball court.(scan)

189.020 – photograph, 1921, 2.5”x3.5”, b&w, African-American child (likely same as 189.019), standing on stair next to fence.(scan)

189.021 – photograph, 1921, 3”x4”, b&w, four unidentified women wearing dresses.(scan)

189.022 – photograph, 1921, 3”x4”, b&w, three unidentified women wearing dresses, standing on lawn next to White House Hall.(scan)

189.023 – photograph, 1921, 3”x4”, b&w, four unidentified women wearing dresses and hats.(scan)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives