The Joan Circle Collection
LU-002

Information about the Collection

The Joan Circle Chapter of Alpha Delta Rho, a national honorary fraternity for leadership, was founded in 1926. Alpha Delta Rho eventually was incorporated into Alpha Kappa Gamma and in the 1960s became an honorary society named Geist.

Provenance‚Äč

The materials in this collection were donated to the Greenwood Library Archives at various times by alumni and the organization itself.  

Scope and Content

Series I of this collection contains records, correspondence, and articles from the Joan Circle Chapter of Alpha Delta Rho and its later incarnation Alpha Kappa Gamma. Series II of this collection contains scrapbooks from various years of this organization. These materials range in date from the 1920s through the 1950s.

Size

Series I of this collection consists of 3.27 linear feet contained in (3) archival legal-sized boxes and (4) archival flat boxes.

Series II of this collection consists of 7.2 linear feet contained in (7) archival flat boxes.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Series 1: Organizational History & Information

   Box 1 of 7: Circus & Organizational Information

Alpha Kappa Gamma Circus

Newspaper articles on Alpha Kappa Gamma Circus

Alumnae Lists 1954-1963

Drafts and Copies of Constitution

“Constitutions-Joan Circle”

Constitutions: Alpha Kappa Gamma, Alpha Delta Rho

Miscellaneous Newspaper Articles

Get Well Card

Foster Child Program

Exams and Rituals

Correspondence of Alumni

Initiation Service

Joan of Arc History: articles and publications

Handbooks: 1936, 1939, 1947, 1952, 1960

Letters of Alpha Kappa Gamma members

   Box 2 of 7: Reports & Meeting Minutes

The Joan Circle Report: 1935-1968

Alpha Kappa Gamma National Program Self-Evaluations

The Torchbearers: 1928-1955

The Torchbearers: 1957-1961

Magazine Articles on Joan of Arc

History of Joan of Arc Essay

National Officers of Alpha Kappa Gamma: 1959-1961

Alpha Kappa Gamma Members: 1954, 1965

National Conference Minutes: 1932-1961

National Officer Contacts: 1933-1934

Quiz Contest Questions (1954)

Rituals

   Box 3 of 7: Initiation & History

Initiation Packet

Stationery

Tapping Ceremony

Articles on Historically Significant Women

History of Alpha Kappa Gamma (5 folders)

National Chapters

   Box 4 of 7: Candidates & Alumnae

Candidate and Alumnae Information Cards

   Box 5 of 7: Artifacts

Torchbearer Stamp

Circus Pull Whistle

Key Stamp

Song of Alpha Kappa Gamma Stamp

The Theme of Alpha Kappa Gamma stamp (2 stamps)

Miss Florence H. Stubbs Portrait Stamp

Virginia House of Delegates handbook: 1934

Constance Applebee’s 1936 Field Hockey Rule Book

Alpha Kappa Gamma Pin and Note

Alpha Kappa Gamma gavel (currently on display in Ruffner Hall)

   Box 6 of 7: Ledgers

Ledger Book (2 books)

Receipt Book (2 books)

Bank Statements

   Box 7 of 7: Financial Information

Check Book (2 books)

Ledger Book (4 books)

   Series 2: Scrapbooks

   Box 1 of 7

Through the Years with the Joan Circle

   Box 2 of 7

The Joan Circle of Alpha Delta Rho – 1920s

   Box 3 of 7

Joan of Arc (1 of 3)

   Box 4 of 7

Joan of Arc (2 of 3)

   Box 5 of 7

Joan of Arc (3 of 3)

   Box 6 of 7

Alpha Kappa Gamma (1964-1965)

Alpha Kappa Gamma (1953-1954)

Alpha Kappa Gamma (1956-1957)

   Box 7 of 7

Alpha Kappa Gamma (1955-1956)

   Photographs

002.001 – Postcard, Joan of Arc: The Turmoil of Conflict

002.002 – Postcard, Joan of Arc: The Vision and Inspiration

002.003 – Postcard, Joan of Arc: On Horseback, The Maid in Armor

002.004 – Postcard, Joan of Arc: The Crowning at Rheims of the Dauphin

002.005 – Postcard, Joan of Arc: The Trial

002.006 – Postcard, Joan of Arc: Her Appeal to King Charles

002.007 – Postcard, Reims – Bust of the Statue of Joan of Arc

002.008 – Postcard, Reims – Jeanne d’Arc (on horseback)

002.009 – Postcard, Compiegne – La Statue de Jeanne d’Arc – Place des Pyramides

002.010 – Postcard, Jeanne d’Arc ecoutant les Voix

002.011 – Statue of Joan of Arc (not on Longwood campus)

002.012 – Statue of Joan of Arc (not on Longwood campus)

Download/Print Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives