Hoskins Mallory Sclater Collection
LU-357

Biographical Information

Hoskins Mallory Sclater, was born in Farmville, Virginia on June 13, 1918. His parents were Robertson Hoskins Sclater and Anne Lavinia Sclater. For many years the family lived with his mother’s father, George Richardson at 307 Buffalo Street, across the street from The Rotunda building at [then] State Normal School for Women. Additionally, Sclater’s maternal aunt, Lelia Richardson, was an instructor at the school in the 1920s.

Sclater received his B.A. and B.S. degrees from Hampden-Sydney College and his J.D. from the University of Virginia. Mr. Sclater practiced law in both Newport News and Roanoke. An avid historian, he published 42 historical articles and a history of the Roanoke’s Second Presbyterian Church. Hoskins Mallory Sclater passed away in 2006 in Roanoke, Virginia.

Provenance

The photograph in this collection belonged to Hoskins Mallory Sclater. It was donated to the Greenwood Library Archives, shortly after his death, by a family friend, India King England, in January 2007.

Scope and Content

This collection consists of a photograph, mounted on board, of the June 1904 Class at [then] State Female Normal School.

Size

This collection consists of .75 linear feet contained in (1) archival flat box.

Notes

This collection is housed in a multi-collection box designated for oversized photographs.

Same image, with subjects identified, is located in the Scotia Stark Haggerty Collection

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of Collection

Box 1 of 1:

357.001 – photograph, b&w, mounted on board, 5”x12”, June 1904 Graduates. (scan)

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives