Gamma Theta (Kappa Delta) Collection
LU-054

Information about the Collection

Gamma Theta was a local sorority formed at [then] State Female Normal School in 1911. The sorority was formed primarily in preparation for the eminent dissolution of another sorority, Kappa Delta. Although Kappa Delta had been founded at the school in 1897, and the Alpha Chapter of the sorority was active, by the early 20th century the sorority was growing rapidly with chapters in several states across the nation. In order to foster continued growth of the organization, a decision was made to join the National Panhellenic Conference. The NPH, however, had established rules that member organizations could not have chapters at “sub-collegiate” schools. This rule, unfortunately, meant that the Alpha Chapter of Kappa Delta, at the State Female Normal School was ineligible. After much debate, the Alpha Chapter made the decision to relinquish its charter for the betterment of the larger organization.

Gamma Theta was active from 1911 until 1949 when, Longwood College, no longer classified by the National Panhellenic Conference as sub-collegiate, could once again join sororities from which they had previously been ineligible. On April 9, 1949, in a ceremony that included both Kappa Delta and Gamma Theta alumni, the Alpha Chapter of Kappa Delta was reactivated at Longwood College.

Provenance
It is unknown when this collection was transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content

This collection, which dates from 1915 to 1972, includes organizational records, newsletters, ephemera, photographs, and scrapbooks that document the history of the Gamma Theta sorority.

Size
The collection consists of 10.16 linear feet contained in (1) legal-sized Hollinger box and (8) archival flat boxes.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Digitized versions of six of the scrapbooks and a selection of the photographs associated with this collection are available on the Longwood University Digital Commons.

Gamma Theta Photographs

Gamma Theta Scrapbook, 1918-1926

Gamma Theta Scrapbook, 1926-1932

Gamma Theta Scrapbook, 1932-1935

Gamma Theta Scrapbook, 1935-1939

Gamma Theta Scrapbook, 1939-1944

Gamma Theta Scrapbook, 1943-1944

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 9: Ephemera & Items Separated from Scrapbooks

   Gamma Theta Ephemera

Alumni Address Lists, undated

The Angelos of Kappa Delta, Golden Anniversary Issue, November 1947

The Angelos of Kappa Delta, May 1949

The Angelos of Kappa Delta, January 1958

The Angelos of Kappa Delta, Diamond Anniversary Issue, Fall 1972

“A Silent Toast to Gamma Theta,” by Frances Willis, undated

Correspondence, Betty Lanier (Kappa Delta National President) to Jacqueline Watson, January 4, 1949 (regarding reinstating Alpha Chapter)

Correspondence to Florence Stubbs, 1943 & 1967-1969

Correspondence, Maud Morris (Delta Sigma Epsilon) to Gamma Theta President, February 10, 1917

Correspondence, Polly Timberlake to Florence Stubbs, undated (regarding Gamma Theta songs)

Correspondence, Florence Stubbs to Mildred Dickinson, undated (regarding Stubbs’ election as faculty advisor to Gamma Theta)

Ephemera

Examination on Panhellenic Constitution, undated

Founders Day Banquet, programs, 1923-1928

Gamma Theta, new member recommendation form

Gamma Theta newsletters (1934, 1935, 1937, 1940, 1943, 1945, 1949, & undated)

Gamma Theta, test for new members

Newspaper Clippings

Questionnaire on Extra-Curricular Activities, undated

   Items separated from Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1918-1926

Correspondence, 1920

Correspondence, 1922

Correspondence, 1925

Correspondence, undated

Gamma Theta newsletter, February 2, 1925

Party invitation, undated

Photo collage, Gamma Theta trip to Virginia Beach, 1924

Wedding invitations

   Items separated from Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1926-1932

Congratulations cards, undated (likely originally attached to page 29)

Playbill fragment, “A Dumb Waiter,” 1930 (originally attached to page 32)(other half of playbill remains attached to page 32)

Thank-you letter from Florence Stubbs, undated (originally attached to page 33)

Wedding invitation, Sarah Virginia Hall, June 1, 1929 (originally attached to page 33)

Wedding invitations, Frances Watkins, 1926 and Mildred Dickinson, undated (originally attached to page 42)

Wedding invitations, Elisabeth Sawyer, 1929 and Emily Reid, 1929 (originally attached to page 43)

Thank-you note from Mary White Cox and enclosed newspaper clipping, undated (originally attached to page 50)

Birth announcement, Henry Warren Thwing, March 16, 1930 (originally attached to page 51)

Wedding invitation, Anna Council Burgess, 1930 (originally attached to page 70)

Birth announcement, James Francis Greene, Jr., February 13, 1932 (originally attached to page 71)

Thank-you note from Florence Stubbs, undated (originally associated attached to page 71)

Wedding invitation, Mary Morton Riddle, April 16, 1932 (originally attached to page 71)

Congratulation cards, from Mu Omega and Pi Kappa Epsilon, undated (originally attached to page 73)

Correspondence, Pearl J. Willis to Clara Mackenzie, May 1, 1932 (originally attached to page 89)

Gamma Theta poem from “Uncle Scott,” undated (originally attached to page 91)

Commencement congratulations card from “Little Moore,” undated (originally attached to page 92)

Invitation to party at Norfolk Country Club, 1931 (originally attached to page 92)

Correspondence, L.G. Balfour to Margaret Shackleford, May 15, 1923 (originally attached to page 95)

Western Union Night Letter, M.A. Holt to Marye Noell, September 25, 1915 (originally attached to page 98)

   Items separated from Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1932-1935

Correspondence from Anne _____, undated

Gamma Theta songs, undated

Wedding gift thank-you list, undated

Wedding invitation, Margaret Josephine Leonard, 1932

   Items separated from Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1938-1944

Birth announcement, Sally Katheryn Hodgson, March 23, 1941

Congratulations cards, undated

Gamma Theta Creed, undated placard

Wedding invitations, 1940-1944

Western Union Telegrams, January 24, 1941

   Box 2 of 9: Scrapbook, 1918-1926

Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1918-1926

   Box 3 of 9: Scrapbook, 1926-1932

Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1926-1932

   Box 4 of 9: Scrapbook, 1932-1935

Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1932-1935

   Box 5 of 9: Scrapbook, 1935-1939

Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1935-1939

   Box 6 of 9: Scrapbook, 1938-1944

Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1938-1944

   Box 7 of 9: Scrapbook, 1943-1944

Gamma Theta scrapbook, 1943-1944

   Box 8 of 9: Scrapbook, 25th Anniversary

Gamma Theta scrapbook, 25th Anniversary

   Box 9 of 9: Ledgers

Book of Gamma Theta, 1911 (includes: Constitution, Bylaws, Amendments, Pledge Service, Initiation Service, Installation Service, & Songs)

Book of Gamma Theta, 1929 (includes: Preamble, Constitution, Bylaws, Oaths of Office, Amendments, Pledge Service, Order of Initiation, Member lists, Minutes, Roll, and Business Addresses)

Roll Call and Meeting Minutes, 1934-1949

   Photographs

Located in Binder 15:

054.001 – photograph, 4.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Mrs. T. Nash Broaddus (née H. Louise Eubank), class of 1911, Gamma Theta charter member.*

054.002 – photograph, 4.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman reading Rotunda newspaper.*

054.003 – photograph, 10”x8”, color, undated. Pauline Stallard, portrait photograph.*

054.004 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Jane McInnis, portrait photograph.

054.005 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Gussy Parkes, portrait photograph.

054.006 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Margie Rice, portrait photograph.

054.007 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Ann Williams, portrait photograph.

054.008 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Dot Lawrence, portrait photograph.

054.009 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Betty Peerman, portrait photograph.

054.010 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Nancy Dupuy, portrait photograph.

054.011 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Mary Katherine Dodson, portrait photograph.

054.012 – photograph, 3.75”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Spilly Purdum, portrait photograph.

054.013 – photograph, 3”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Mary Ambler Thomasson, portrait photograph.

054.014 – photograph, 3”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Nancy Duval, portrait photograph.

054.015 – photograph, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Two unidentified women.*

054.016 – photograph, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Three unidentified women.*

054.017 – photograph, 3.25”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Two unidentified women.*

054.018 – photograph, 3.5”x5”, b&w, undated. Six unidentified women.*

054.019 – photograph, 3.5”x5”, b&w, undated. Four unidentified women.*

054.020 – photograph, 7.5”x10”, b&w, undated. Gamma Theta group photo (appears in 1942 Virginian yearbook, pg. 146).*

054.021 – photograph, 6”x4”, b&w, undated. Four unidentified people sitting on log.

054.022 – photograph, 6”x4”, b&w, undated. Three unidentified people playing tennis.

054.023 – photograph, 2.5”x4.25”, b&w, undated. Six unidentified women sitting on steps of unidentified home.*

054.024 – photograph, 3.5”x3”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman standing on steps of unidentified building.*

054.025 – photograph, 4.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman sitting on steps of unidentified home.*

054.026 – photograph, 3.5”x5.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified child on tricycle.

054.027 – photograph, 3.5”x5.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified children.

054.028 – photograph, 5.75”x3.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman holding unidentified child. Inscribed on reverse: “For Aunt Florrie with love & kisses from Dan Jr.”

054.029 – photograph, 3.5”x5.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified baby.

054.030 – photograph, 5.75”x3.75”, b&w, undated. Child standing on sidewalk. Inscribed on reverse: “Lucille Stubbs. 17 months.”

054.031 – photograph, 5.75”x3.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman holding unidentified baby.

054.032 – photograph, 3.75”x5.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified child on tricycle and dog.

054.033 – photograph, 5.5”x3.25”, b&w, undated. Unidentified baby.

054.034 – photograph, 5.75”x3.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified children.

054.035 – photograph, 2.75”x4.25”, b&w, undated. Unidentified children.

054.036 – photograph, 7.5”x9.75”, b&w, undated. Gamma Theta group photograph.*

054.037 – photographic negative, 4.5”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman in cap and gown.

054.038 – photographic negative, 4.5”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Three unidentified women.

054.039 – photographic negative, 4.5”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Two unidentified women.

054.040 – photographic negative, 4.5”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman.

054.041 – photographic negative, 4.5”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman in cap and gown.

054.042 – photographic negative, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman standing behind sundial.

054.043 – photographic negative, 4.5”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman.

054.044 – photographic negative, 3.75”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified man and woman.

054.045 – photographic negative, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Three unidentified women. Farmville Motor Company building in background.

054.046 – photographic negative, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman.

054.047 – photographic negative, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman.

054.048 – photographic negative, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Unidentified woman.

054.049 – photographic negative, 4.5”x2.75”, b&w, undated. Indiscernible image. Possibly overexposed.

054.050 – photographic negative, 3.5”x2.5”, b&w, undated. Indiscernible image. Possibly overexposed.

*Denotes photograph has been digitized.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives