English 165: Start Here

Start Here

Course Description

ENGL 165 - Writing and Rhetoric

This course prepares students for the writing and research they will do throughout their university experience. Students will learn to explore, to analyze, and to inform within academic contexts using the most effective rhetorical strategies, structures, reference, and language of multiple disciplines. Students will identify the strengths and weaknesses in their written communication. 3 credits. WI. 

2018-2019 Academic Course Catalog

Sources

BEAM: Choosing and Using Sources

View license

What does it mean to write with sources?

Selecting relevant sources is more than finding the type of source that is required and it is more than finding a source that contains your keywords. As the researcher you will want to select sources that enable you to engage a question or a problem.

Required Sources

A list of required sources will help you envision what a good bibliography will do: show your reader the depth and breadth of your research. Gathering all of the required sources for an assignment does not substitute for engaging with sources in your writing. A well researched paper will converse with the ideas and information presented in sources.

Framing Your Research

Scholarly writers engage with the work of others through the strategic selection of research and ideas pertinent to the question or problem under discussion. When trying to decide if a source is pertinent to your question, it can be helpful to ask yourself: What could a writer do with this source? Could this source provide background facts or information? Could I analyze or interpret this source for my reader? Could this source refine my question or extend my thesis? Could this source be a lens for interpreting competing findings?

A paper that cites a lot of background sources will be a boring report. A paper that cites a lot of argument sources without including an exhibit runs the risk of rehashing the ideas of others instead of applying the ideas of others to new questions or contexts.

Works Cited

Bizup, J. (2008). BEAM: A Rhetorical vocabulary for teaching research-based writingRhetoric Review, 27(1), p72-86. doi:10.1080/07350190701738858

Library of Congress System

Greenwood Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) classification system to organize the books, journals, and media materials acquired by the library.  The purpose of the classification system is to shelve items on the same topic together, thus allowing researchers to browse areas of the collection relevant to their topics.  This system is used by the Library of Congress and many academic and research libraries in the United States.

The LC system categorizes materials into 21 broad subject categories indicated by a letter of the alphabet and then further divides each subject category into more specific subject areas by adding additional letter(s) and number(s). Each item acquired by the library is given a unique Call Number based on the LC classification system.

The chart below lists the general subject areas and major subdivisions of the Library of Congress Classification System. To see a more detailed breakdown of subject classes, view the Library of Congress Classification Outline posted by the Cataloging and Acquisitions Office of the Library of Congress.

Two-page, printable version of Browsing Aid to Library of Congress Classification

(Information on this page amended and used under a creative commons license from the St. Louis University Libraries.)

Finding Print Materials

A     GENERAL WORKS
    AE Encyclopedias
    AY Almanacs
B     PHILOSOPHY.  PSYCHOLOGY.  RELIGION
    B-BD Philosophy
    BF Psychology
    BH-BJ Aesthetics & Ethics
    Bl-BX  Religion
C     AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
    CB History of Civilization
    CC Archaeology
    CT General Biography
D     HISTORY:  GENERAL AND OLD WORLD
    D World History
    DA-DR European History
    DJK-DK Eastern Europe, Russia & Poland
    DS  Asia 
    DT  Africa
    DU Australia, New Zealand
E-F   HISTORY:  AMERICA
    E 11-143 America 
    E 151-     United States History (includes African-American Studies at E 185)
    F 1-975  United States Local History (includes St. Louis at F 474 & Missouri at F 466)
    F 1001-  Other Countries (includes Canada, & countries of Central & South America)
G     GEOGRAPHY.  ANTHROPOLOGY.  RECREATION
    G-GB  Geography
    GE  Environmental Sciences
    GF  Human Ecology
    GN Anthropology
    GT Manners & Customs
    GV Recreation & Leisure
H     SOCIAL SCIENCES
    HA  Statistics
    HB-HD Economics
    HE Transportation & Communication (includes radio & television broadcasting)
    HF Commerce (includes business administration, accounting, advertising & marketing)
    HG Finance
    HJ Public Finance
    HM-HS Sociology
         HM      General Sociology (includes mass media communication, public opinion, & public  relations)
         HQ      Family, Marriage, & Women
    HT Communities, Classes, & Races
    HV Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare, & Criminology
    HX Socialism, Communism, & Anarchism
J     POLITICAL SCIENCE
    JF  Constitutional History & Government Administration
    JK  United States
    JS  Local Governments (municipal, etc.)
    JX International Law & International Relations
K     LAW
    KF United States Law
L     EDUCATION
    LA   History of Education 
    LB Theory and Practice of Education
    LC Education of Exceptional Individuals
M     MUSIC
N     FINE ARTS
P    LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
    P Philosophy & Linguistics (includes mass media communication, composition, & rhetoric)
    PA Classical Languages and Literature
    PB Celtic Languages and Literatures
    PC Romance Languages (Italian, French, Catalan, Spanish & Portuguese)
    PD Germanic Languages (Old Germanic, Norwegian, Icelandic, Danish & Swedish)
    PE English Language
    PF West Germanic Languages (Dutch, Flemish, Friesian & German)
    PG Slavic (includes Russian), Baltic & Albanian Languages and Literature
    PJ-PM Oriental Languages & Literatures (includes Egyptian, Coptic, Hebrew, Arabic, Japanese, Chinese, & American Indian)
    PN Literary History & Collections (includes prose, poetry, drama, speech, debate & journalism)
    PQ Romance Literatures
    PR English Literature
    PS American Literature
    PT Germanic Literatures (includes German, Dutch, Flemish, Afrikaans & Scandinavian)
    PZ Children's Literature
Q    SCIENCE
    Q General Science
    QA Mathematics (includes computer science)
    QB Astronomy
    QC  Physics (includes light, spectroscopy, meteorology & climatology)
    QD Chemistry
    QE Geology
    QH Natural History & General Biology
    QK Botany
    QL Zoology
    QM Human Anatomy
    QP Physiology
    QR Microbiology
R    MEDICINE
    R General Medicine (includes Biomedical Engineering at R856-857)
    RA Aspects of Medicine (includes public health & toxicology)
    RC Practice of Medicine (includes speech & language disorders, psychiatry & geriatrics)
    RF Ear (includes audiology), Nose & Throat
    RJ Pediatrics (includes autistic, hyperactive & learning and behaviorally disordered children)
S     AGRICULTURE
T     TECHNOLOGY
  T GeneralTechnology
    TA General Engineering
    TD Environmental Technology
    TJ Mechanical Engineering & Machinery
    TK  Electrical Engineering, Electronics, & Nuclear Engineering
    TL Motor Vehicles, Aeronautics & Astronautics
    TP Chemical Technology (includes biotechnology)
    TR Photography
    TS Manufacturers (includes production, industries & products)
U     MILITARY SCIENCE
V     NAVAL SCIENCE

Z     BIBLIOGRAPHY (All subjects).  LIBRARY SCIENCE

(Information on this page amended and used under a creative commons license from the St. Louis University Libraries.)

Request a Book from Another Library

 

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan system - if you are a student, faculty member, or staff member at Longwood University, create a free account and place requests here for materials you need from another library if we do not own them. Library staff will locate books that we do not own and request them from another library. You will be notified via email to come pick them up at The Desk at Greenwood Library.  This service is only available to current students, faculty and staff at Longwood University.