Clair Woodruff Bugg Collection
LU-342

Biographical Information
Hessie St. Clair Woodruff Bugg, Class of 1905, was born in Anniston, Alabama in 1884. In 1901, she came to Farmville, Virginia to attend [then] State Female Normal School, where her sister Mary St. Clair Woodruff was a member of the faculty and the principal of the Training School. While a student, Bugg served as the Secretary of the Class of 1905 and was a member of the Archery Club, the Glee Club, the Skating Club, the German Club, the Cunningham Literary Society, and Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority (ZTA).

In 1906, she married James Luckin Bugg, a native of Farmville who was, at that point, a cashier at the First National Bank. He later became a manager, then President of the bank. The couple had two children, Mary St. Clair (Bugg) Holland and James Luckin Bugg, Jr. Mary St. Clair (Bugg) Holland graduated from State Teachers College in 1944. James Luckin Bugg, Jr. graduated from Hampden-Sidney College in 1941 and subsequently earned both his Master’s degree and Phd. from UVA. In 1963, Bugg, Jr. was named the 1st Chancellor of the University of Missouri-St. Louis and in 1969 became the 2nd President of Old Dominion University.

Provenance
The items in this collection were donated to [then] Longwood College by Hessie St. Clair Woodruff Bugg in February 1951. It is unknown when they were transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content

The Clair Woodruff Bugg collection consists of ephemera, printed materials, and photographs that range in date from 1886 to 1919.

Size
This collection consists of (6) acid-free folders contained in a legal-sized archival box and (6) photographs contained in Photograph Binder #19.

Notes
There are no restriction to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 1

            “The Drama of Hiawatha,” announcement and playbill, 1907

            “Columbia’s Floral Emblem,” Training School production, playbill, 1911

            “Normal Notes,” newspaper clipping, 1915

            YWCA Pictorial Review, September 27, 1919

            Reception for Faculty and Home Department, announcement, undated

            Virginia Normal League, brochure, undated

   Photographs

Located in Binder 19:

342.001 - carte de visite, Class of 1886, b&w, 4.5”x6.5”, C.H. Erambert’s Studio, Farmville, Virginia. Inscribed on reverse: “Claire Woodruff Bugg.” “Class of 1886 – second class to graduate.” (scan)

342.002 – photograph, mounted on board, b&w, 6.75”x8.75”. Inscribed on bottom margin: “January Class, 1904.” Inscribed on reverse: “January class of 1904.” “Loaned by Mrs. J.L. Bugg. Class of January 1904.”(scan)

342.003 – photograph, mounted on board, b&w, 7.25”x9.0”. Inscribed on bottom margin: June Class, 1904.” Inscribed on reverse: “Loaned by Mrs. J.L. Bugg, 707 High St., City.”(scan)

342.004 – photograph, mounted on board, b&w, 7.0”x9.0”. Inscribed on bottom margin: “Miss Andrews’ Classroom.” Inscribed on reverse: “Loaned by Mrs. J.L. Bugg, 707 High St.”(scan)

342.005 – photograph, Training School students on outdoor stage, likely May Day, undated, mounted on board, b&w, 6.0”x6.5”. Inscribed on reverse: “Mrs. J.L. Bugg.”(scan)

342.006 – photograph, May Day, May Pole, undated, b&w, 7.0”x9.0”. Inscribed on reverse: “Loaned by Clair Woodruff Bugg, 707 High St.” “Miss Woodruff.”(scan)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives