Chrisman Photograph Collection
LU-191

Biographical Information

Sisters Lucie C. and Hallie B. Chrisman were born in White Post, Virginia in 1884 and 1887 respectively. Both sisters attended [then] State Female Normal School; Lucie earning her diploma in 1904 and Hallie in 1909. Lucie, however, returned to [by then] State Teachers College in 1931 and earned her B.A. in 1935. The Chrisman sisters, after graduation, returned to White Post and taught in the Clarke County public school system for many years before both moving to Richmond where they continued to teach.

Provenance
It is unknown when or under what circumstances this item came into the possession of Longwood University or the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content

This collection of photographs from the early 1900s and includes several images of mostly unidentified women, likely taken at State Female Normal School.

Size
This collection consists of (6) black and white photographs housed in 3 archival photograph sleeves, housed in an archival photograph binder.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of Collection

Photograph Binder #14

191.001 – photographic postcard, black & white, 3.5”x5.5”, (5) unidentified women standing on stairs of unidentified Longwood             campus building. Inscribed on reverse: “Farmville.” Woman front, center is likely Lucie Chrisman.

191.002 – photograph, black & white, 4.25”x2.75”, (3) unidentified women standing on steps, next to ivy-covered wall.

191.003 – photograph, black & white, 3.5”x3.5”, (8) unidentified women holding books, standing outside.

191.004 – photograph, black & white, 6.25”x4.25”, Inscribed on reverse: “Lucie C. Chrisman, Farmville State Teachers, Class of 1906 or 5? or 4?

191.005 – photograph, black & white, 5.5”x3.5”, Inscribed on reverse: “Hallie B. Chrisman, Class of 1909.”

191.006 – photograph mounted on board, black & white, 6”x7.5”, students seated in classroom, teacher standing at board. Inscribed on reverse (mostly illegible), “Farmville, class, May 27, 1909(?).”

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives