Special Collections and Archives Buttons

 

Elizabeth Caldwell Collection
LU-250

Biographical Information
Elizabeth “Betsy” Caldwell was born in Sweet Briar, Virginia in 1924. She attended [then] State Teachers College from 1941 to 1945 and graduated with a B.S. in History. Caldwell was involved in many organizations and groups while a student including as a member of the field hockey team, the Cotillion Club, Gamma Theta, the YWCA, the Athletic Association, the Choral Club, and Orchesis (dance group). Additionally she was in the Mardi Gras Court and was crowned May Queen in 1945.

Provenance
‚ÄčThis collection was donated to the Greenwood Library Archives in May 2008 by Elizabeth Caldwell’s sister-in-law, Marjorie S. Stone.

Scope and Content
The materials in this collection date from 1941 to 1945 and consists of a scrapbook that documents Caldwell’s time at the school and a photograph album that contains photographs of Caldwell’s friends, classmates, and family.

Size
This collection consists of 2.5 linear feet contained in (2) archival flat boxes.

Notes
There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Some photographs and other elements are separated, due to wear and age, from their original places within the scrapbook and photograph album.

Alternate Name(s): Elizabeth Caldwell Selvage

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 2: Photograph Album

Elizabeth Caldwell, photograph album (undated).

   Box 2 of 2: Scrapbook

Elizabeth Caldwell, scrapbook, ca. 1941-1945.

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives