Athletics Scrapbooks, 1928-1935
LU-300

Information about the Collection

This collection of scrapbooks mainly relates to athletics at then-State Teachers College, including field hockey, basketball, volleyball, and tennis. Additionally, the scrapbooks document campus events such as commencement and May Day.

Provenance ‚Äč

The origins of these scrapbooks is unknown. In August 2010 they were removed from the Health, Athletics, Recreation, and Kinesiology Department by Dr. Carl Riden and Dr. Naomi Johnson-Tsigaridas, then Co-Directors of Women and Gender Studies. They were subsequently transferred to the Greenwood Library Archives.

Scope and Content

This collection, which dates from 1928 to 1935, consists of scrapbooks that contain photographs, ephemera, and newspaper clippings that relate to athletics (field hockey, basketball, volleyball, and tennis), the Athletic Association, and campus events.

Size
This collection consists of 3.25 linear feet contained in (3) archival flat boxes.

Notes

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

The scrapbooks in this collection are of indeterminate origin.

It is likely that all three scrapbooks in this collection were compiled by the same person.

The current order of the scrapbooks is not chronological and likely does not reflect their original order.

All three of the scrapbooks in this collection have been digitized. The scrapbook in Box 1 of this collection is available on the Longwood University Digital Commons, the remainder of the scrapbooks are available digitally upon request.

https://digitalcommons.longwood.edu/scrapbooks/22

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 3

Scrapbook (1 of 3), 1928-1935 (146 pages) (scan)

   Box 2 of 3

Scrapbook (2 of 3), 1928-1935 (140 pages)

   Box 3 of 3

Scrapbook (3 of 3), 1928-1935 (22 pages)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives