Anna E. Bass Collection
LU-359

Biographical Information
Anna Elizabeth (Bass) Burton, the daughter of John Bass and Mary Alice (Jones), was born in 1859 in Appomattox County, Virginia. In 1875 she graduated from [then] Farmville College. She married Henry Williams Burton in 1885 and sadly died just one year later, on March 14, 1886, just 9 days after the birth of her daughter, Anna Bass Burton.

Provenance
‚Äč This collection of materials that relates to Anna Elizabeth (Bass) Burton was donated to the Greenwood Library Archives, June 1988, by Susanne E. Berkaw, the niece of Anna Bass (Burton) Ellett.

Scope and Content
The items in this collection date from 1874 to 1875 and include certificates and diplomas issued to Anna E. Bass while at Farmville College, as well as her valedictory essay and valedictory address. Additionally, the collection includes an undated medallion tintype photograph of Anna E. Bass.

Size
This collection consists of 2.9 linear feet contained in (3) archival flat boxes.

Notes
Overall the condition of these items is good, with the exception of insect damage to the diploma, the valedictory essay, and the valedictory address. However, this damage does not detrimentally affect the legibility of the items in questions.

There are no restrictions to access or use for research purposes.

Contents of the Collection

   Box 1 of 3: Photograph

359.001 – Anna E. Bass, undated tintype medallion photograph, round, 6” diameter, framed in brass. The name “Anna E. Bass” can be seen scratched into the back of the frame. The frame is stamped, “New York Medallion Portrait Co.” Accompanying biographical information card was previously taped to the back of the frame. (image)

   Box 2 of 3: Certificates, Essay, & Address

Distinction Card in Mental Philosophy, issued to Anna E. Bass, February 16, 1874 (scan)

Distinction Card in Astronomy, issued to Anna E. Bass, June 16, 1875 (scan)

Certificate of Proficiency in French, issued to Anna E. Bass, July 1, 1874 (scan)

Valedictory Essay by Anna E. Bass, undated

Valedictory Address by Anna E. Bass, undated

   Box 3 of 3: Diploma

Diploma, issued to Anna E. Bass, June 16, 1875 (scan)

Print/Download Finding Aid

Archives and Records Specialist

Jamie Krogh's picture
Jamie Krogh
Contact:
Library 104
434.395.2432
Subjects:Archives