Last Updated: Mar 20, 2013
URL: http://libguides.longwood.edu/whitecd
Print Guide
 Charles White |
| Search the library for books, CDs, and DVDs
|
- Business Source Complete
On
the top bar, click on the "More" tab for a drop down box. Click on
"Company Profiles." Type in your company name. Click on "Datamonitor
Report" which includes company history, SWOT analysis, top competitors,
and company views.
- Dow Jones Factiva
On
the top bar click on "Companies/Market" tab. Then click on "Company."
Type in your company name. You can choose a PDF company report, or
scroll down for financials, peer groups, Datamonitor reports, and links
to latest news including "New Products/Services" and "Management Moves."
Clicking on one of these links will take you to recent articles. On the
right column there is a "Discovery Panel." Clicking on any of the links
will provide additional information.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Click
on the "Companies" button on the left-hand side. Click on the "Company
Dossiers" button. Type in your company name or ticker symbol. On the
results page, on the left column, choose "Company Directories and
Profile." Choose Hoover's (company history) and scroll down to
"Competitors." If the snapshot of the company appears, scroll down to
the "Business Description" paragraph and click on the link for "Hoover's
Company Records." From Hoover's company record, scroll down to
"Competitors."
- Mergent Online
Type
in a company name or ticker symbol. Results will provide you with
company history, financials, competitors, industry market trends, annual
reports, equity reports, and more.
- Business Source Complete
Provides scholarly business
journals, case studies, country, industry and market research reports. To
expand your results, click on "Choose databases" on top and then
check off "Business/Economics."
- ABI/Inform
Excellent resource for business and management related full text articles. Covers national and international topics. Also look at "suggested topics" in your search results.
- Dow Jones Factiva
Provides full text current and retrospective news stories from newspapers, journals, and magazines. Includes the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Richmond Times Dispactch, Roanoke Times, and Virginian-Pilot. You can limit your search by source type.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text documents from news, business, and legal publications. You can limit your search by time period and after your search results appear, by document type by choosing a "source category type" on the left column.