About Our Collections

The Greenwood Library collections offer information and ideas to support classroom instruction and provide recreational enjoyment for the Longwood community. The Library has 332,000 volumes, including approximately 250,000 books to check out, as well as 18,000 electronic books. There are over 19,000 audiovisual items, including 4,800 DVDs and 3,600 CDs. The Library subscribes to 1,600 journals and magazines and over 150 databases, with access to over 30,000 full-text electronic journals. 

Greenwood Library is open 93 hours each week during regular sessions (with extended hours during exam periods). Our collections include over 335,000 books; 32,000 audiovisual items, including DVDs, CDs, and streaming videos; 110,000 electronic books; about 800 current periodical subscriptions in print or online; and more than 58,000 electronic journals. We have a robust Special Collections and Archives as well as host student and faculty research in the Digital Commons institutional repository.

Students, faculty and staff have remote access to over 300 databases (more than half of which are provided by VIVA, the state supported consortium of higher education institutions in Virginia). Simply use your Lancer ID and password to access all our electronic resources from anyplace with an Internet connection. In addition, the Library can obtain resources not available in its collections from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.

The Library has a single-service point – The Desk – just to your right as you enter the front doors. This is your first stop for ANY question. You can also reach us by chat or email. And we offer a variety of personalized services, including individual reference and research assistance with one of our librarians.

In our 66,000 square foot building, we offer a variety of spaces for quiet individual study, group discussion, or simply places to meet and talk. Our Learning Commons on the first floor has 82 computer workstations, including 10 iMacs, and a “media:scape” for collaborative work. The Multimedia Lab includes 17 additional iMacs. A variety of equipment (e.g., cameras, projectors, PC and Mac laptops, and iPads) is available for check out at The Desk. On the second floor, you can find the Student Computer Center with 20 PCs.

Request materials

Select the type of material you'd like to request, and fill out the form that opens.

Book Journal CD / DVD / Video Equipment
Book Journal CD / DVD / Video Equipment

Contact Us