What's on This Page?
- Reference Materials
- Books and Audiovisuals
- Selected Periodicals
- Suggested Databases
- Recent Articles
- Featured Book
- Featured Database
The Library also has guides to Farmville & Civil Rights, Civil Rights in Education, and Martin Luther King, Jr. created for the 2008 MLK Symposium.
Comments (0)
Featured Database
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience contains essays, key research, primary sources, timelines, video clips and images related to Black studies. It was developed in collaboration with the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and the New York Public Library.
Try it and add your comments below!
Featured Book
The library purchased the 16-volume set of The Collected Works of Langston Hughes in 2007.
Recent Articles
View recent articles from the Journal of African American History:
Loading...
Loading...
Selected Reference Materials
- The African-American Atlas : Black History and Culture
- Black Americans : A Statistical Sourcebook
- Civil Rights in the United States
- Contemporary Black Biography
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History (online)
- Encyclopedia of African American Politics
- Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
Books and Audiovisuals
Search the Greenwood Library for books and other materials about:
- African American authors
- African American history
- African American history (primary sources)
- African Americans in Virginia (primary sources)
- Antislavery movements
- Biographies of African Americans
- Civil rights (primary sources)
- Civil rights movement
- Race relations in the U.S. (primary sources)
- Slavery (primary sources)
| Create your own search for books, CDs, and DVDs on any topic: |
Selected Periodicals
- African American Review (current issues in Periodicals, older issues online)
- The Black Scholar (current issues in Periodicals, older issues in Mobile Storage)
- Journal of Black Studies (issues for 1970 to 2003 online)
- Journal of Negro History (1916-2001 online)
Suggested Databases
Click on the blue information button for search tips.
- America: History and Life Indexes journal articles and books on the history of the United States and Canada.
- CQ Historic Documents Contains full-text primary sources for each year covered, including presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- Historical Statistics of the U.S. Provides essays and statistical data from over 1,000 sources covering population, labor, economics, and government of the U.S. from colonial times to 2000. This is the full-text online version of the 5-volume 2006 print edition.
- Humanities E-Book ProjectProvides searchable full-text of over 1,500 current and out-of-print books on history, humanities, and area studies, with links to online reviews. Produced by the American Council of Learned Societies.
- Major Acts of CongressCovers congressional acts from the earliest days of the American republic up through about 2002.
- Sociological Abstracts Abstracts journal articles from over 1,700 serial publications, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience Essays, key research, primary sources, timelines, video clips and images related to Black studies.
Librarian |
Contact Info Janet D. Greenwood Library Longwood University Farmville, VA Tel. 434-395-2441 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: English & Modern Languages |



Loading...
