LSEM 100 -- M. FinkLSEM 100-38 Mark Lenker
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Sustainability 

This guide is intended to help you find information on topics related to sustainability. If you have questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact me using the "comments" links within the guide or via the information on the right.
Last update: Sep 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.longwood.edu/sustainability  Print Guide  RSS Updates

LSEM 100 -- M. Fink             Print Page
  

Recommended Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Provides indexing and full-text of peer-reviewed journals in the physical and social sciences, the arts, diversity studies, psychology, homeland security, and other subjects.
  • GREENFile  
      
    Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles as well as government documents and reports related to the relationship between human beings and the environment.
  • MasterFile Premier  
      
    Provides access to general periodicals, biographies, full-text reference books, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
 

Finding Web Sites

Here's how to limit a Google search to a particular domain, e.g., .edu or .gov:

  1. Go to www.google.com.
  2. Click Advanced Search.
  3. Type your search terms in the top search box.
  4. At the bottom of the page is a box that says "Search within a site or domain."  Type the domain suffix you are looking for, e.g., .edu.
  5. Click Advanced Search

This should give you results all ending in .edu.

 
 

Search the Library

Search the library for books, CDs, and DVDs
 
 

Sample Search Strategy for MasterFILE Premier

Let's say you want to investigate the feasibility of building several wind turbines around campus to make Longwood's energy use more sustainable. A good way to learn more would be to track down examples of similar projects at other colleges and universities. MasterFILE Premier, an excellent source for articles in many disciplines, can help you find the information you need. This basic strategy should also work for Academic Search Complete and for GreenFILE:

  1. Click the link to the left for MasterFILE Premier.
  2. Make sure you are in the Advanced Search mode -- there should be three rows of search boxes.
  3. In the top box, type wind power.
  4. In the second box, type college or universit*.
  5. Click Search.
  6. Sort the list of results by relevance.
  7. Limit the date to recent articles using the date slider on the right side of the screen (2000 to 2008).
  8. If desired, click the check box for peer-reviewed articles. (In Academic Search Complete or GreenFILE, click Search Options to get to the screen that has the option for peer-reviewed journals.)

The resulting list of articles should be relevant, up-to-date, and authoritative. Contact the library staff if you need assistance.

 

I found what I need in a database. How do I get the actual article?

If the article database you're searching does not provide the full-text article, most of our article databases feature the button. By using the Find It! button, you can link to full text quickly if it is:

  1. available in another database
  2. available in print in the library
  3. available through interlibrary loan
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageMark Lenker


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Greenwood Library 129
(414)395-2257
Send Email

Subjects:
History, Philosophy, Political Science, Life Sciences, Geography and Earth Sciences, Gender Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait