Featured Database
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience contains essays, key research, primary sources, timelines, video clips and images related to Black studies. It was developed in collaboration with the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and the New York Public Library.
Try it and add your comments below!
See also a special limited trial of Proquest's collection of black historical newspapers, including the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003) and more. The trial runs from Jan. 21 to Feb. 21, 2009.
Selected Web Sites

Loading RSS Feed...
Books about Civil Rights in America
Selected recent books about civil rights in America:
- Breach of Peace : Portraits of the 1961 Mississippi Freedom Riders (2008)
- Road to Freedom : Photographs from the Civil Rights Movement, 1956-1968 (2008)
- The Lost Promise of Civil Rights (2007)
- Freedom Riders : 1961 and the Struggle for Racial Justice (2006)
- Simple Justice : The History of Brown vs Board of Education and Black America's Struggle For Equality (2004)
- Silent Covenants : Brown v. Board of Education and the Unfulfilled Hopes for Racial Reform (2004)
- A Lawyer's Journey : The Morris Dees Story (2001)
- Weary Feet - Rested Souls : A Guided History Through the Civil Rights Movement (1998)


Click below to search the Greenwood Library catalog for selected materials about:
- African American civil rights in the 20th century
- Civil rights workers
- Race relations in the U.S.
- Segregation in education
For a collection of articles from 1950 to 1970 about Brown v Board and civil rights in education, including the Farmville school closings, ask for the Brown v Board notebooks, LA380.P74 B77, at the Circulation Desk.
DVDs and Videos
If you've seen any of these films, click on the stars to rate them. See also DVDs and Videos related to civil rights in Prince Edward County, Virginia.
- Approaching the Horizon: The Oliver Hill Story
Covers the life and work of Richmond civil rights attorney Oliver Hill, who was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1999. - Brown v. The Board of Education
Covers the history of education for black Americans through the Brown v. Board decision and its impact through 1991. - Eyes on the Prize: America's Civil Rights Movement
PBS production covers 1954 through 1985 in fourteen hours of video. - Eyes on the Prize II: America at the Racial Crossroads
PBS continues coverage of civil rights in the U.S. from the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to the mid-1980s. - The Intolerable Burden
Documentary about how a Mississippi family enrolled their children in public school in 1965. - Let Freedom Ring
Streaming video episode of the PBS series "Freedom: A History of US" recounting the social movements of the 1950s and early 1960s. - The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
Race relations in America from 1865 to 1954.
Katrina and Civil Rights


Spike Lee's 2006 Peabody Award-winning HBO documentary When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts offers distinct perspectives on the pivotal events that preceded and followed Katrina's passage through New Orleans, a catastrophe during which the divide between race and class lines has never been more pronounced.
Teaching the Levees : A Curriculum for Democratic Dialogue and Civic Engagement includes the documentary and a 100-page curriculum guide produced by Columbia University.
Kamp Katrina is a cinéma vérité documentary featuring a New Orleans couple who let a small group of people take refuge in their yard in the wake of Hurricane Katrina.
Come Hell or High Water (2006) by Michael Eric Dyson deals with natural, racial and economic disasters in the context of Hurricane Katrina.
Rate this page!
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait