Research @ Longwood: Find Resources

Get help with any stage of your research project!

Find Resources

Resources are the articles, books, websites, etc you find to help support your thesis. The Library has access to a lot of wonderful resources; if you need help finding something for your topic, let us know!

What is a resource?

Resources are the documents you use to find information. They usually are books, journal articles, and websites, though your professor will give you information about what kinds of resources should be used. 

So how do you start finding information? 

Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed resources

While Google is a powerful search engine, it doesn't usually provide access to the articles in Library Databases. Using the Library databases, you can filter your results to only include scholarly or peer-reviewed resources. 

Scholarly journals are also called academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed journals. Strictly speaking, peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals refer only to those scholarly journals that submit articles to several other scholars, experts, or academics (peers) in the field for review and comment. These reviewers must agree that the article represents properly conducted original research or writing before it can be published.

Library databases will often tell you if an article is scholarly. But you can also look for:

  • Scholarly journal articles often have an abstract, a descriptive summary of the article contents, before the main text of the article.
  • Scholarly journals generally have a sober, serious look. They often contain many graphs and charts but few glossy pages or exciting pictures.
  • Scholarly journals always cite their sources in the form of footnotes or bibliographies. These bibliographies are generally lengthy and cite other scholarly writings.
  • Articles are written by a scholar in the field or by someone who has done research in the field. The affiliations of the authors are listed, usually at the bottom of the first page or at the end of the article--universities, research institutions, think tanks, and the like.
  • The language of scholarly journals is that of the discipline covered. It assumes some technical background on the part of the reader.
  • The main purpose of a scholarly journal is to report on original research or experimentation in order to make such information available to the rest of the scholarly world.
  • Many scholarly journals, though by no means all, are published by a specific professional organization.

For more information about how to determine if an article is scholarly, see the "Evaluate Information" tab

Search Library Resources

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Research Guides

Off-Campus Access

Longwood students, faculty and staff may access the Library’s restricted subscription database services from off campus using any commercial Internet service provider (ISP). Off-campus access to restricted resources is limited to current Longwood students, faculty, staff, and affiliates.

How to Access Library Databases from Off-campus

  1. When you attempt to access a Library database, you will be directed to a blue login page.
  2. Enter your LancerNet ID and Password and click the “Login Now” button.
  3. For some browsers, you may be prompted about proceeding with a secure connection. If so, please indicate that you do want to proceed.
  4. Once you are validated, you may move between restricted databases without interruption. Your session will remain active for one hour or until you next start your web browser.

Proxy Login

Please direct questions concerning connecting and IDs /passwords for this service, including receiving a “Bad Username or Password” status error, to the User Support Services Help Desk at 434.395.4357.

For questions regarding how to search a database, please ask a librarian.