Computer Login Policy

As of May 2005, all users are required to log on before using the Library’s computers. This provides a more secure, safe and reliable computing environment. Once logged in, all users must abide by Longwood and Greenwood Library's Computer and Internet Use policies.

Unattended Computer Policy

Please do not leave library computers unattended, especially during high-demand computing periods.

If you leave a computer unattended for more than 15 minutes, we reserve the right to:

  • remove your materials and take them The Desk’s lost and found
  • shut down the computer. Any documents you were working on may be lost.

Leaving a computer unattended under your Longwood Login is a security risk. The Library is not responsible for your property/personal effects.

Approved November 2010

Internet Usage Policy

Introduction

As a global network, the scope of information found on the Internet is wide and diverse. The Greenwood Library supports free and open access to all forms of information and does not attempt to filter or censor the use of any of these resources. In support of our users’ First Amendment right to freely seek and examine a broad range of opinions and ideas, the Library adheres to the following American Library Association (ALA) statements on access to information:

In addition to complying with the policies outlined in this document, the Library user also assumes certain responsibilities when using one of the Library’s computers:

  1. The Library assumes no responsibility for the accuracy, authority, objectivity, currency, or content of any Internet resource. Library users must peruse the Internet at their own risk, realizing the potential for accessing offensive, inaccurate or illegal information. Users must apply their own set of evaluative criteria to information.
  2. It is the responsibility of the user to read and abide by this policy as well as the Acceptable Use of Information Technology Resources and Systems policy at Longwood University and the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, US Code).
  3. It is the Library’s policy that parents or legal guardians must assume responsibility for deciding what Library resources are appropriate for their children. Guardians are advised to read and share with children under 18 the document published by the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children entitled Child Safety on the Information Superhighway.

Policies Governing Use of Equipment

  1. The Library will not take reservations for individual computer use.
  2. Printing is allowed only for Longwood students, staff and faculty.
  3. All users, including community users, may download to USB storage devices, save to the workstation’s public folder and e-mail as an attachment or burn to a CD. Users must supply storage devices.
  4. Users may not download files to the hard drive.
  5. Personal communication (e-mail and chat rooms) is permitted.
  6. Priority is given to Longwood students, faculty and staff for research.
  7. The Library reserves the right to reclaim workstations being used for other purposes.
  8. The Library reserves the right to schedule workstations for instruction or for access to electronic resources available only on specific machines.
  9. Virus protection software is loaded on every computer in the Library. The Library will not be responsible for damage done to users’ non-Library computer equipment as a result of downloading.
  10. Library staff may limit the amount of time spent in assisting a user in order to provide adequate support for all other Library services. The type of assistance provided by a specific staff member may vary depending on their function in the Library. Individuals requiring more training than staff can give at the Learning Commons Desk are encouraged to schedule a training session during the semester.
  11. For certain types of technical assistance, ITS and/or Resident Technology Associates are available to provide quality support and technical expertise to Longwood University residence hall and commuter students.
  12. The Reference Department will provide the following types of assistance: instruction and research assistance; printing; resolving basic technical problems; describing available services and brief instructions on how to access them.
  13. Attempts to damage or alter University equipment or software are a violation of University policy. Violators of this policy are subject to disciplinary action as prescribed in the University honor code, the student handbook and employee handbooks, in addition to possible cancelation of information technology resources and systems access privileges.

Violations of This Policy

All users of University computing resources must comply with all federal, Virginia, and other applicable law; all generally applicable University rules and policies; and all applicable contracts and licenses. Examples of such laws, rules, policies, contracts, and licenses include the laws of libel, privacy, copyright, trademark, obscenity, and child pornography; the Electronic Communications Privacy Act and the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act, which prohibit “hacking,” “cracking,” and similar activities; the University’s policy for Acceptable Use of Information Technology Resources and Systems, the University’s judicial Code of Conduct standards; the University’s Sexual Harassment and racial discrimination policies; the University’s personnel policies; and all applicable software licenses. Users who engage in communications with persons in other states or countries or on other systems or networks should be aware that they may also be subject to the laws of those other states and countries and the rules and policies of other systems and networks. Users are responsible for ascertaining, understanding and complying with the laws, rules, policies, contracts and licenses applicable to their particular uses.

Violators of this policy are subject to disciplinary action as prescribed in the University honor code, the student handbook and employee handbooks, in addition to possible cancelation of information technology resources and systems access privileges. Violations will be handled through the University disciplinary procedures applicable to the relevant user. Policy violations by University employees, including faculty, will be handled in accordance with the Longwood University personnel policies and rules for classified employees, the Faculty Handbook and other applicable administrative policies and procedures. The University may also refer suspected violations of applicable law to appropriate law enforcement agencies. Users of information technology systems and resources at Longwood University are subject to all applicable university, local, state and federal statutes. It should be understood that this policy does not preclude prosecution of criminal and civil cases under the laws and regulations of the Town of Farmville, the Commonwealth of Virginia and the United States of America.

Approved August 2004
Updated July 2017

Virtual Reference Services Policy

The Greenwood Library provides virtual reference services via multiple technologies. To access our virtual reference services, see the Ask a Librarian page.

Eligibility

Priority is given to Longwood students, faculty and staff for research questions. If you are not affiliated with Longwood, you may want to consult your local public library.

Confidentiality

The Library does not keep a log of completed reference transactions in any format including instant messaging, e-mail, telephone or face-to-face. Portions of transactions may be retained and distributed within the Library for training purposes. In such cases we will take due care to remove any element of the transaction that might lead to the personal identification of the user.

Use of Licensed Resources

Only authorized users (Longwood students, faculty, and staff) may be given access to material from databases with restrictive licenses.

Scope of Service

The reference staff answers questions pertaining to research strategy and location of materials and services within the Library. The reference staff may not:

  • Answer medical, legal, or financial questions (though we will direct users to appropriate sources of information for such topics)
  • Answer homework questions for users (though we will recommend information resources to help the user complete the assignment successfully)
  • Cooperate with requests for illegal material

User Etiquette

In order to make the virtual reference transaction satisfying for all parties concerned, users should observe the following guidelines:

  • Please be patient. You may need to wait if the librarian is already helping another user at the Learning Commons Desk, over the phone, or via IM. If you don’t have time to wait to chat with a librarian via instant messaging, you are welcome to submit your question through our e-mail service.
  • Harassment or misconduct of any type will not be tolerated. Common courtesies are expected and appreciated.

The virtual reference staff reserves the right to refuse service to anyone who fails to observe these guidelines.

Approved January 2007
Updated August 2010