Access to Databases Policy

Purpose

Electronic databases provided by the Virtual Library of Virginia (VIVA) or for which the Greenwood Library pays access fees to vendors are restricted to our primary users. The databases have various licensing constraints; most are explicitly restricted to our primary users. The following policy informs all users of Greenwood Library electronic resources of your responsibilities, procedures and protections in place to ensure adherence to university policies and contracts.

Scope

Primary users are all current Longwood University faculty, students and staff, and all walk-in users of the Library.

Other users are all other users of the Library including community users with Greenwood Library cards, those with a Virginia driver’s license or other official Virginia identification, faculty or students of other Virginia or out-of-state institutions of higher education, and Longwood University alumni.

Policy

Electronic databases provided through VIVA or for which the Greenwood Library pays a fee to vendors are restricted to our primary users. The databases have various licensing constraints; some are explicitly restricted to our primary users. Access by primary users is governed by Longwood University Administrative Policies and Procedures (see Policy 6104 Acceptable Use of Information Technology Resources and Systems and Policy 6105 Access to Information Technology Resources and Systems). See also the Library’s Internet Usage Policy.

All off-campus access to restricted databases requires authentication on Longwood’s proxy server with a valid Longwood University ID and password. For more information about accessing the Library databases from off campus, see Remote Access. Access is not permitted to other users accessing the Library electronically from off-campus.

Most database licensing contracts prohibit reproducing and/or distributing downloaded data for commercial gain or for anything that is not in accordance with the Copyright Law of the United States. Some also have specific restrictions regarding use of their electronic data in electronic reserves, in coursepacks or in course management software such as Blackboard.

Approved October 2006
Reviewed August 2010