Greenwood Library Archives and Special Collections

The Greenwood Library Archives and Special Collections contain unique materials significant to the history of Longwood University, Farmville, Virginia, and Prince Edward County Virginia. While these collections are not browsable, they are made available, by request, to researchers, students, and the general public.

Requests for any materials from the archival collections can be made at any time by using the “Request Access to this Collection” button on any of the online finding aids on the Greenwood Library Archives website. Requests for materials from special collections can be made by utilizing the Paging Request Form.

Likewise, requests for access to any materials from the archives and special collections can be made by contacting Benedict Chatelain or in-person at The Desk.

Hours

  Mon - Fri

9am - 4pm

Digital Commons LogoThe Digital Commons is Longwood University’s Institutional Repository. Institutional Repositories (IRs) bring together all of a University’s research under one umbrella, with an aim to preserve and provide access to that research.

IRs are an excellent vehicle for working papers or copies of published articles and conference papers. Included in the scope are presentations, senior theses, and other works. If you have work you'd like to include, please contact either Sue Carroll or Tammy Hines.

Work included in the Digital Commons is accessible via Google and major search engines, and becomes findable through the Digital Commons Network.

Mission Statement

The purpose of Greenwood Library’s Archives is to collect, preserve, provide access to, and encourage the use of the materials, books, and other items in the archival collection. The Archives Manager is responsible for the development of collections in this department.

The University Archives serves as the corporate memory for the history of Longwood University. Its principal function is to provide a secure repository for the University’s historically significant records, including the records of the Board of Visitors; the office files of former presidents, deans and department chairpersons; and collections of personal papers donated by faculty, administrators, and others associated with the University.

Benedict Chatelain

Benedict Chatelain

Library Information & Archives Associate
Library 116A
434.395.2448